Old 22nd May 2013, 19:53   #331

Re: The Millennium Falcon - Toyota Fortuner - The Raptor that is built to last

Yes, surely does. Still thinking...
Hi dkaile,

Please let me know your way forward. If you are taking the plunge, then please click enough pictures and provide details so that I can take the same route in December.
Old 26th May 2013, 12:47   #332

So on hearing so many co-owners going in for BRAKE UPGRADES for their Fortuners - http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/long-t...ml#post3131455 , I decided it was time to check under the hood as to the exact status of my brake master cylinder which was supposedly also upgraded on these Fortuners.

This was what I found -

My brake booster cylinder assembly was already of the upgraded type (printed 131010-18990 on the actual part) and not the old TVS type as seen on Herr' Guderian's thread (part no. printed on the actual part is 32067820 47200-0K151).

The Millennium Falcon - Toyota Fortuner - The Raptor that is built to last-toyota-fortuner-brakes_1.jpg

The detailed assembly with the brake fluid reservoir
The Millennium Falcon - Toyota Fortuner - The Raptor that is built to last-toyota-fortuner-brakes_2.jpg

And now the complete assembly with the ABS part thrown in
The Millennium Falcon - Toyota Fortuner - The Raptor that is built to last-toyota-fortuner-brakes_3.jpg

And a view from the other side of the plumbing
The Millennium Falcon - Toyota Fortuner - The Raptor that is built to last-toyota-fortuner-brakes_4.jpg

All in all very satisfied that it saves me the hassle on relying on the ASC's (ill) trained mechanics to undergo a critical part upgrade such as the brake booster because it is always assuring to know that such a upgrade was factory fitted in your vehicle and besides it also saves me the moolah (7K bucks).

That is why I always wondered when people commented about the braking of the Fortuner as I had no issues with it at all from day 1. I guess it was not luck that I had presumed but an actual upgrade done to my/future Fortuners from Toyota's side.

Cheers...

Last edited by dkaile : 26th May 2013 at 12:50.
dkaile is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 28th May 2013, 11:53   #333

Hi Manuuj,

This question is for other fortuner owners in the forum as well, Please share your inputs, Thanks in Advance.

I own a Feb 2013 4 X 2 Automatic Fortuner, It comes with a auto door lock feature that locks the doors once the vehicle crosses 25 km/h Although it is a good safety feature but I do not like it, The owners manual lists some steps to disable it, But i have tried numerous number of times but could not disable it, I visited the Toyota dealership and they tried doing it by linking the Toyota module to it but they also could not find the option to change this, Any other users have any info on how to disable the auto lock feature, I may be missing something but I have tried it over and over and also read the steps in the manual with no luck.

Thanks All,
Filmaka
Old 28th May 2013, 14:35   #334

Originally Posted by filmaka View Post
Hi Manuuj,

This question is for other fortuner owners in the forum as well, Please share your inputs, Thanks in Advance.

I own a Feb 2013 4 X 2 Automatic Fortuner, It comes with a auto door lock feature that locks the doors once the vehicle crosses 25 km/h Although it is a good safety feature but I do not like it, The owners manual lists some steps to disable it, But i have tried numerous number of times but could not disable it, I visited the Toyota dealership and they tried doing it by linking the Toyota module to it but they also could not find the option to change this, Any other users have any info on how to disable the auto lock feature, I may be missing something but I have tried it over and over and also read the steps in the manual with no luck.

Thanks All,
Filmaka
Hello Filmaka,

Welcome to the Falcon's thread. First of all this is not my dear friend Manuuj's thread but dkaile's. Technicalities apart, the procedure for the same is listed below which I have tried personally and works flawlessly. It is slightly technical, so kindly pay attention that you do not miss a single step. So for turning off the automatic locking and unlocking function, this is the procedure -

1. Remove the key from the engine switch and check that the theft deterrent system is disarmed.

2. Within 5 seconds, insert and remove key twice in quick succession.

3. Wait for 5 seconds (use a watch) and within the next 5 seconds, push and hold the lock and unlock switches simultaneously for 3 seconds or more. The turn signal lights will flash once indicating operation successful to this point. You are now in programming mode.

4. Within 5 seconds, push the lock switch on the wireless remote control key twice within 2 seconds. Within the next 2 seconds, push the unlock switch once. The turn signal light will now flash twice.

5. Within 10 seconds, for turning Automatic locking/unlocking function to OFF do this - Push lock switch twice, Push unlock switch once within 2 seconds, Turn signal will flash twice indicating that the this programming is successful.

For turning locking/unlocking function back ON -

Steps 1 to 4 as above remain the same

5. Within 10 seconds, for turning Automatic locking/unlocking function to ON do this - Push lock switch once, Push unlock switch once within 2 seconds, Turn signal will flash once indicating that the this programming is successful.

This procedure is clearly laid out in the Owner's Manual of my 4x4 MT Fortuner 2011 Model (Build 07/11) and should work on your model too as they have NOT changed the Wireless Remote Control in any way as far as my knowledge goes.

Cheers....

---------------------

Herr Generale' Guderian,

Attaching two more photos of the right side of the plumbing of the master cylinder. Hope you get to see the bush that you so desired -

The Millennium Falcon - Toyota Fortuner - The Raptor that is built to last-toyota-fortuner-brakes_5.jpg

The Millennium Falcon - Toyota Fortuner - The Raptor that is built to last-toyota-fortuner-brakes_6.jpg

Hope you find what you were looking for.

PS- As far as I can make out no such bush is attached/needed here as seen in your thread, maybe due to the pipes being custom fit for the new master cylinder.

Last edited by dkaile : 28th May 2013 at 14:58.
dkaile is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 28th May 2013, 18:17   #335

Originally Posted by dkaile View Post
As far as I can make out no such bush is attached/needed here as seen in your thread, maybe due to the pipes being custom fit for the new master cylinder.
Thank you. The bush is to adapt the old 3 way tube junction to the new booster. And the plumbing/routing is slighly different too...
The bush in effect is an adapter helping the old plumbing to be used on the new booster with minimal surgery and just two new short tubes.
Guderian is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th June 2013, 11:43   #336

Original Toyota link to the Service Manual of the Fortuner - http://fortuner.host-ed.me/toyota.es...er/index2.html

Thanks to mroptimist
Old 4th June 2013, 13:03   #337

Original Toyota link to the Service Manual of the Fortuner - http://fortuner.host-ed.me/toyota.es...er/index2.html

Thanks to mroptimist
Looks like you've hit the jackpot!
This is very useful for hands-on data when it comes to locating critical parts.

Thanks for sharing!

p.s. - I this what Herr Generale' been searching for ?

Last edited by Monaro CV8 : 4th June 2013 at 13:05.
Monaro CV8 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th June 2013, 13:27   #338

So for turning off the automatic locking and unlocking function, this is the procedure - ....
Ohh man! Now that is one complicated way of doing things . No wonder people have issues in getting it right! With all the technology at their hands, am sure a simpler way can be designed!

And thanks for sharing the manual!! will be invaluable help for all of us, am sure.
venkat_iyer is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th August 2013, 12:14   #339

Dancing in the rain...

The Millennium Falcon - Toyota Fortuner - The Raptor that is built to last-fortuner-09082013.jpg
dkaile is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 30th November 2013, 15:07   #340

30-11-2013 18775km

With nearly 2 years and 4 months into ownership, its now at 18775km on the odo. I know, I drive quite less, but that's the disadvantage of having multiple dream vehicles in your garage... ZERO issues till date.

The Millennium Falcon - Toyota Fortuner - The Raptor that is built to last-fortuner_30112013_1.jpg

Still looking as good as new
The Millennium Falcon - Toyota Fortuner - The Raptor that is built to last-fortuner_30112013_2.jpg

Even the interiors age quite well. Fuel efficiency is always in the 10~11 range.
The Millennium Falcon - Toyota Fortuner - The Raptor that is built to last-fortuner_30112013_3.jpg

The Millennium Falcon - Toyota Fortuner - The Raptor that is built to last-fortuner_30112013_4.jpg

Cheers...

Last edited by dkaile : 30th November 2013 at 15:13.
dkaile is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 3rd January 2014, 18:22   #341

03-01-2014 - 2nd Paid Service (20000km) Report

2 year 4 months into ownership the Falcon was nearing the 20K mark (19424km on the odo) and it was time for the 2nd paid service (5th overall)

The Millennium Falcon - Toyota Fortuner - The Raptor that is built to last-fortuner-20000km-service-03012014_1.jpg

The Fortuner getting a thorough underbody as well as top wash
The Millennium Falcon - Toyota Fortuner - The Raptor that is built to last-fortuner-20000km-service-03012014_2.jpg

The Millennium Falcon - Toyota Fortuner - The Raptor that is built to last-fortuner-20000km-service-03012014_3.jpg

Final cleaning
The Millennium Falcon - Toyota Fortuner - The Raptor that is built to last-fortuner-20000km-service-03012014_4.jpg

Touching up of the scratches gathered
The Millennium Falcon - Toyota Fortuner - The Raptor that is built to last-fortuner-20000km-service-03012014_5.jpg

The present service cost sheet for the Fortuner. The actual cost was Rs. 4142/-, very near to the 4090/- printed on this sheet.
The Millennium Falcon - Toyota Fortuner - The Raptor that is built to last-fortuner-20000km-service-03012014_6.jpg

Jobs done -
- Oil and Oil Filter Change
- 5 Tyre rotation
- Front and Rear Brakes cleaning
- Air and AC Filter Cleaned
- Fluids topped up
- A slight creak in the driver's door was removed by tightening of the bolts

I had already done the propeller shaft greasing on the last service and my vehicle had not submerged anywhere in the meantime, so did not go for it this time around. Overall a pleasant service experience.

The present price list for the Fortuner, and this is before the proposed 70k hike for the 2014 models. The present 4x4MT is nearly 27 Lacs which is nearly 6 lacs more than what I bought 2 years back. Astonishing...
The Millennium Falcon - Toyota Fortuner - The Raptor that is built to last-fortuner-20000km-service-03012014_7.jpg

A farewell derriere shot from last night, its best angle some say for this model...
The Millennium Falcon - Toyota Fortuner - The Raptor that is built to last-fortuner-20000km-service-03012014_8.jpg

Cheers...

Last edited by dkaile : 3rd January 2014 at 18:23.
Old 4th January 2014, 15:00   #342

Price in Meerut seems to be roughly 2L cheaper than the price in Bangalore.
Old 4th January 2014, 16:28   #343

Some shots post service with Formula-1 polish applied...

The Millennium Falcon - Toyota Fortuner - The Raptor that is built to last-toyotafortuner-20k-service_1.jpg

The Millennium Falcon - Toyota Fortuner - The Raptor that is built to last-toyotafortuner-20k-service_2.jpg

The Millennium Falcon - Toyota Fortuner - The Raptor that is built to last-toyotafortuner-20k-service_3.jpg

The Millennium Falcon - Toyota Fortuner - The Raptor that is built to last-toyotafortuner-20k-service_4.jpg

The engine
The Millennium Falcon - Toyota Fortuner - The Raptor that is built to last-toyotafortuner-20k-service_5.jpg

Oil used at dealership for service was Idemitsu with Toyota branding from 200L barrels of 5W30 grade

This logo stands for impeccable build and endurance...
The Millennium Falcon - Toyota Fortuner - The Raptor that is built to last-toyotafortuner-20k-service_6.jpg

The brute still looks and drives like new.

Last edited by dkaile : 4th January 2014 at 16:33.
dkaile is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd February 2014, 09:07   #344

Yes, surely does. Still thinking...
Hi Dkaile,

Did you took the plunge ? I am too inclined towards getting the same, just wanted to have your word regarding feedback and overall feel of the product.

Ashish
Old 23rd February 2014, 10:55   #345

Originally Posted by ashthedivx View Post
Did you took the plunge ? I am too inclined towards getting the same, just wanted to have your word regarding feedback and overall feel of the product.
Not yet. The Falcon stays in my hands for less these days as my brother mostly takes off with it. But you can go ahead without issues.
dkaile is online now   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com