Team-BHP > Introduce yourself

Old 22nd August 2010, 19:49   #1

Driving in from Ikpoxa

Hi friends, it's great to be here. Finally, I decided to buy a car!
After years of deliberation, the decision to shift gears from 2 wheeler to 4 wheeler was made - this was not easy, considering that my earlier mode of transport was a 72 wheeler (er... I mean Mumbai local train!). But the boss in the new job said 'Dude, you are a director, you can't be driving around in a kaali peeli/commuting by train'. Though local trains are more practical, the decision was finally made to buy a car. And where else to look for: team-bhp!

Hey, wait a minute, let me tell a little bit about myself. Have been a late starter so far as it concerns vehicles: rode my first bicycle at 16, first two wheeler at 20 and yet to start driving a car! However, in the last more than a decade, have covered over 100,000 kms on several two wheelers: TVS 50 to Bullet, with only the holy grail of Ladakh unexplored! Let me share a few amusing anecdotes here for you...

Dad bought me my first two wheeler when I started work at 20. And that was a LML Vespa 150 NV! I badly wanted a motorcycle (though I didn't know how to ride either!). Dad's simple logic: a scooter can't be driven too rashly, a bike can be! He was soon proved wrong! I knew a bit of the theory and practice of changing gears on a scooter (I had practiced sitting on the bamboo chair in the living room). So out I went, twisted the key in, went to the right side of the scooter and kicked the start lever. Whoosh... the scooter shot off without me and landed on its side after 100 ft! It was later explained to me that one has to ensure the gear is in neutral before starting. With that important lesson, I was initiated into the world of bike riding.

I also have a bad habit of forgetting where I have parked by bike. Once, I tried in vain to unlock my scooter and the key just kept getting jammed. A kindly looking uncle offered to help and lent me his key (he also happened to have a LML Vespa 150 NV) and said "try with my key, it sometimes works." Not convinced, I anyway inserted his key and it turned in like butter! I looked at him incredulously "but how???" With a broad smile he replied "because it's my scooter"! Ouch! But some sense of humour the guy must have had!

Another incident happened a few years later. By now, I was an expert at riding scooters (having overtaken a van hands off and scraping several cars), but had not really ridden a bike. I was out of town, in Hyderabad, and a friend was also there on work. I had promised to take her out. Not having any means of transport, I borrowed a colleague's TVS Fiero F2. Picked up the lady from the Taj Krishna and headed to Eat Street next to Hussain Sagar for dinner. Had a nice dinner and a quiet stroll by the lake. It was past midnight and time to head back. To my absolute embarassment, the bike refused to start! After much kicking the lever, pushing and pulling the bike, I had to give up. The lady in question was in splits at my haalat! Apologetically, I dropped her off in a rickshaw. Ladki ke saamne ijjat ka falooda ho gaya! Quite understandably, I took off on my colleague, who had lent the faulty Fiero. We went back to Hussain Sagar, where the bike was 'abandoned', to investigate. One look and he started laughing! Apparently, the ignition 'on-off' button was inadvertently turned off and I didn't know such a thing existed! Imagine my embarassment when the lady in question also learnt of this! Anyway, this must have convinced her of my seedha-saadha'pan, for she subsequently married me!! My guardian angel must have had one tough time convincing her!

I now really love bikes and own a Bullet. Dream bikes are Yezdi Roadking, Yamaha RD 250, Yamaha RX 100. Dream 4 wheelers are a Willis Jeep, Ambassador, Maruti Gypsy, Range Rover (see a pattern here?).

Back to the present: we finally decided to buy a car. Being our first car, with neither me nor the wife knowing how to drive, we decided to go in for a small car. Wait a minute! That calls for a new post - the car selection procedure in itself is an adventure. To make sure I test drive the selected brands, I have already practiced the theory of gear shifts in... you guessed right, sitting on the bamboo chair!

Will be back soon, on the process of shortlisting 'Berry'!

Ram

PS: Lesson from experience - bamboo chairs are not really great places to learn driving!
Old 23rd August 2010, 19:06   #2

Originally Posted by ramraman View Post
And where else to look for: team-bhp!
You better be prepared to end up even more confused!!

I now really love bikes and own a Bullet. Dream bikes are Yezdi Roadking, Yamaha RD 250, Yamaha RX 100. Dream 4 wheelers are a Willis Jeep, Ambassador, Maruti Gypsy, Range Rover (see a pattern here?).
Something tells me you will fit right in.

Being our first car, with neither me nor the wife knowing how to drive, we decided to go in for a small car.
If you haven't made the downpayment yet, may I suggest an automatic small car? The i10 & A-Star both have 4 speed gearboxes.

Please take a pitstop by our rules section prior to proceeding on the board. We'd greatly appreciate that. Welcome!
Old 23rd August 2010, 19:58   #3

Something tells me you will fit right in.
Thanks GTO! I think so too! Though currently am more of a bike person than a car person, but with help from BHPians, will fit in here too!

If you haven't made the downpayment yet, may I suggest an automatic small car? The i10 & A-Star both have 4 speed gearboxes.
Seriously considered that; but decided on MT - thought it better to straightaway take the plunge! Guess once I master MT, AT should be a breeze. After reading through team-BHP, have finalised the i20 Asta MT. Will post the details soon.

Please take a pitstop by our rules section prior to proceeding on the board. We'd greatly appreciate that. Welcome![/quote]
Will do sir!
Old 23rd August 2010, 21:44   #4

Am tempted to put a few word in here for the fact that I am a hardcore biker for the last 15 years or so and done over 1.3 lakh kilometers initially on my father's 3 geared 1972 model Rajdoot, a 1980 model Yezdi Road King and later on a Karizma for the last 5 years.

Somehow, nothing beats the wind and the zap thru between traffic or open highways in a bike.

Like you, I also am taking my driving lessons and if all goes right, I would be receiving my Permanent 4 wheeler license, 20 days after I drive my new car out of the showroom! RTO took a month to endorse it on my bike license. ( Luckily, wife would have hers earlier, so the clause of Insurance may be covered for the time period)

Had to get myself a car for the fact that it felt seriously insecure to have my 3 yr son sitting between us on the bike as I moved thru back2back traffic. And also because I had to add two more wheels to my status at workplace. (funny isnt it?)

I sat on the "bamboo chair" while choosing my car. Didnt test drive it, liked the looks, read the reviews and booked it. Perhaps I shall realize later that
"bamboo chairs are not really great places to sit and decide the car to buy!"

And yes, as GTO said, the choices are many if you are looking for a price range of 3.5 to 5 lakhs, and confusing with every bit of research you do more. But then, from what I realized, if you like Maruti (read as Wagon R), dont mind Santro is a car everybody has, or love the bulgy the contours of the i10 front, then you can pick from a host of feature filled powerful cars.

But then, its just a noob's point of view into the world of 4wheelers. There are many members around here, who provide wise advice to us the newbies
Old 24th August 2010, 18:23   #5

Dhumketu, glad to see more 'late latifs' like me! I can understand what you say: the feeling of the wind blowing through your hair is unbeatable; probably a open top Willis will match it, but am yet to find out. Seriously, consider getting yourself a bullet - you will not regret it. I have chosen my car, and booked it, but that's another post... will do that soon.
Congrats on your Figo. I also see you are from Kolkata - else we could have met up. We have too many things in common... including the multiple '...'!!!
Old 24th August 2010, 19:14   #6

Hi ramraman. Welcome aboard. As GTO said, we're going to confuse you even more on buying a new car. Just waiting for you to start the thread
Old 24th August 2010, 20:33   #7

Thanks safedrive. Am just going to do that!
Old 25th August 2010, 09:10   #8

Ram,
Welcome to TBHP! From my own experience "Welcome to the home of rich information and confusion"
I had exactly similar experience with my Dad's Bajaj Super scooter, when I was 15! Didn't know how the gear system works! and Yezdi Roadking, just one word..WOW! Amazing bike except for the scrapes I got on my leg, just above the heel portion while changing gears and also the reverse hits i used to get while kick starting it! OUCH.

Once again welcome to TBHP and enjoy your stay here!

P.S - Congrats on I20! Happy Driving!

-Z
Old 25th August 2010, 14:54   #9

Originally Posted by ramraman View Post
Hi friends, it's great to be here. Finally, I decided to buy a car!
Great, interesting intro! Welcome aboard!

BTW, what is Ikpoxa?
Old 26th August 2010, 19:52   #10

Zombie69: can sympathise on the back kick - Yezdi has a much more severe back kick than the Bullet - one reason why I don't let my nephew handle the Bullet!

sanjaykk: thanks!
Ikpoxa is the name of the imaginary city where the events in writings take place. It's a random computer generated 8 letter word. That gives me an idea...

Mod: can you change my username to Ikpoxan?
Old 27th August 2010, 17:14   #11

Welcome!

Hi RamRaman,

Welcome!!

Yezdi Roadking is THE BIKE!!
there are other good ones too!!

Ajay