Team-BHP > Introduce yourself
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 1st January 2008, 13:26   #1

Happy New Year! Pleased to be a member of this forum

Hi all,

I have been a passive member on this forum for quite a while, could not post a decent introduction for the lack of time. Whatever time I did have, was spent on feasting on the extremely informative posts on this forum.

The vital stats: I am 24, lived in Bombay (apologies, but I prefer this to Mumbai) almost all my life. I am a financial analyst and drive a SX4 Zxi (grey) daily, Santro Xing (silver) occasionally and Pulsar 180 DTSi (red) once in a blue moon. I love F1- Ferrari rules! Am a life long fan of Michael Schumacher.

What follows is a longish and possibly sleep inducing write-up on how I fell in love with driving and discovered this forum.

I was what many would characterize as a late bloomer in my love for automobiles (cars and bikes). Whilst my dad has had a number of iterations of Padminis and Ambys, my access to them was restricted till I went to college. Hence, my first car was a brand new Santro Xing (2003) at the ripe old age of 20. This was the car in which I learnt driving again at the same ripe old age from my soon to be better half (ironically enough, she had been driving for half a dozen years then). Whilst driving the Santro dint exactly make me fall in love with cars, I did fall in love with my instructor. My clandestine love affair with biking started with my first bike (a red Pulsar 180 DTSi 2004) in my first job in Bangalore. Whilst at first I liked driving on empty stretches of the inner and outer ring road at good speeds (highest was 110Km) and on the way to Nandi Hills (where I did have a crazy experience, may write about it some day), the inane network of one-ways and auto infested roads got me hooked to my other passion while driving- weaving through traffic.