Team-BHP > Introduce yourself
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 19th October 2024, 14:28   #1

Hello BHPians | My long intro

Hello fellow BHP-ians,

I’ve been a fan for many years and have been a silent but avid reader of various suggestions, reviews, shared user experiences, modifications on the cars. After taking much help over the years, felt compelled to join the community to learn as well as to share. I’m 44+ yrs, in the mist of mid-life reflections (don’t read this as crisis) . I accidentally landed in the Renewable Energy field in 2004, and have stayed in the industry thereon. Have good exposure to Solar, Wind power, Floating Solar and exposure to other aspects like Battery Energy Storage Systems (BESS), EV charging, off-shore wind. Quite happy that now people know what I do for a living, since Renewable Energy/ Climate change is a big thing today.

I 've followed Team-BHP from when I owned a Royal Enfield, 1988 edition classic 350cc from 2009 to 2015, when a biking friend introduced me to the forum. I’d been a member briefly, but my ID probably got scrubbed due to inactivity. I also owned a Hero-Honda Splendour from 2002 to 2005. I’ve been a car fan from when we could own cars due to the ability to do long family trips.

I’ve owned 3 cars so far:

1. Hyundai Santro (Petrol) - 1998 to 2015 (initial knock down versions that were imported). Drove it for about 135,000 kms before giving it for scrapping.

2. Fiat Linea (Diesel) – 2009 to 2019 (a car a bit ahead of it’s time and beaten by poor dealership support). Drove it for ~215,000 kms before selling it when I moved from Delhi to Mumbai. Interesting to mention that I drove it 194,000 kms in the first 5 years of ownership (it was not a taxi, in case you’re shocked), after which I used it more for errands near the house and a backup for my Skoda when it was in service etc.

3. Skoda Rapid (Diesel) – 2015 till now. Have driven it 175,000+ kms and still going.