Team-BHP > Introduce yourself
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 13th September 2022, 03:13   #1

Introduction | A middle-aged bike lover

Hello all,

I am a mechanical engineer by profession and a creative artist by passion. I am in my 45th year now.

My very first experience with a two-wheeler was my dad's Suvega. Nice little moped. And then Luna, Kinetic Honda, and Activa. All were my dad owned. Among them, I still love the rides on Suvega, Luna, and Kinetic.

When I passed my engineering with good grades, my dad gave me Rs.19000 to buy a bike. And by that time I had already decided which bike I would be buying. None other than 86 make RX100. I purchased my (can say my dad's) first bike in 2004. It was a bit modified when I bought it. After a few months of working and saving some money, I gave it to a reliable mechanic in Mysore to bring it back to the stock version. Luckily the bike was previously owned by a doctor and was in good condition. Did not have much work to do though, it cost me around Rs.6000 then. Those times were difficult even for shelling out Rs.1000 extra.

In 2004, I moved to Bangalore from Mysore for work and along with me came my RX100. That was my first long ride. Loaded the truck with bare essentials to live in Bangalore and rode my bike to Bangalore. And that was when I came to know about TeamBHP from a colleague when I asked him about a reliable mechanic in Bangalore for my bike. From then I am visiting TeamBHP to learn various topics.

I took my RX on road trips (not so long) to Waynad, Ooty, and Coorg and of course every weekend trip to Mysore to see my parents.

I got married and became father to a boy in 2007. By that time my RX100 had reached its 4th bore. And I wanted to have an alternate bike and bought a new Apache 160. In 2008 I had to move to England. Sold both bikes. The depreciation of Apache was encashed in the RX100 sale!