Team-BHP > Introduce yourself
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 4th February 2012, 19:42   #1
BHPian

The silence of 5 years ends now

Hello Team-Bhpians !!!

The Moderators approved my membership in December 2011, but I made time to type this introduction only now.
I have been a guest reader of the threads on Team-Bhp since 2007. Being a professional writer, that is indeed too much reading and no writing. So, let me change that!

Location: I hail from Trivandrum in Kerala, and am currently working in Bangalore.

Profession: Though I hold a Masters in Computer Apps, I took to Technical Writing and am currently with the Robotics division of a Swedish electrical engineering conglomerate.

Age: I got my DL a month after I turned 18, which was 11 years and 3 months ago.

And of course, cars and Me: My fascination with cars is as old as the oldest memories in my mind. Automobiles of all kinds and times interest me.
I was born into a joint-family in Kerala which owned a HM Ambassador Mark II (initially a petrol, later given a Matador diesel engine) and a Willys Jeep Station Wagon (4x4 with Perkins 4-192 Diesel engine). By the time I turned 12 the aging Willys was replaced with an MM540 4x4 (with the Peugeot diesel engine) - that's the vehicle I learnt driving in, and drove till I turned 22. The Amby was replaced with a humble Maruti 800 AC - this car is still there with us. Once my family sold off our agricultural land, we stopped having jeeps. Its place in the garage was taken up by a Indigo CS DiCOR in 2008. The M800 is used for city runs and the CS for the highways. Meanwhile, being in a joint family living in the same compound, through the years I have used my uncles cars too - Padmini 137D, Zen MH410, Alto, and a Ford Icon Duratorq.