Team-BHP > The International Automotive Scene
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 8th July 2014, 09:09   #3886
BHPian

Re: Buying, Owning, Driving and Maintaining a car in North America

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeroen View Post
I've owned several Jaguars and when we lived in Kansas City I bough my 2002 Jaguar XJR of Ebay. I bought it at around 90-100k and it is currently somewhere around 140-150K as well. It never let me down, apart from a few smaller problems.

You want reliabillity go for a Japanese, you want a car that stands out from the crowd and is really pleasing to look at and to drive, the Jaguar might be the thing.

Jeroen
Thanks for your inputs Jeroen, I just want a car to drive in city and it doesnt need to stand out from the crowd, in fact, I would prefer to stay with the crowd

While I have no experience with Jaguar, this being my first car here, I think I would preferably go with a Honda / Toyota hoping that it will be trouble free in the first few years of ownership.

Thanks again for your inputs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToroRosso View Post
Balaji - How long is your stay going to be ? If it is more than 2 years, it makes sense to increase your budget to 10K and you should be able to get a very reliable car in that range.

If your stay is <2 years, then leasing is not a bad option.
Hi ToroRosso, my stay is longer and as I mentioned above, this being the first car, I dont want to invest too much in to it, I am fine to change the car after say 2 years to a better one (may be a beemer ). However, I just came across this ad for a 2001 Toyota Rav4, fully loaded with 216,000 clicks on sale for 6250$, the pictures seems to show the car in full glory. Is that worth?

Again, thank you all for your inputs / guidance and I am hoping to nail down the right car within my budget (may be with a bit of stretch)
Old 8th July 2014, 19:09   #3887
Team-BHP Support

Quote:
Originally Posted by balajird View Post