Team-BHP > The International Automotive Scene

Old 25th February 2010, 09:50   #1

Fiat Punto EVO Abarth

article here: Geneva Preview: New Abarth Punto EVO Packs 165HP 1.4-liter Turbo Engine - Carscoop
Fiat Punto EVO Abarth-abarthpuntoevo113.jpg  

Fiat Punto EVO Abarth-abarthpuntoevo114.jpg  

Fiat Punto EVO Abarth-abarthpuntoevo115.jpg  

Fiat Punto EVO Abarth-abarthpuntoevo116.jpg  

Fiat Punto EVO Abarth-abarthpuntoevo118.jpg  

Fiat Punto EVO Abarth-abarthpuntoevo120.jpg  

Fiat Punto EVO Abarth-abarthpuntoevo117.jpg  

sidindica is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th February 2010, 11:09   #2

Kudos to Abarth, they took a mediocre looking Punto Evo and made it look hot. I guess Fiat should start asking Abarth to do their face-lifts.
Old 25th February 2010, 11:14   #3

Great looking car.The alloy wheels look mesmerising.
Old 25th February 2010, 11:19   #4

*Slurp* is all I can say!
Old 25th February 2010, 11:21   #5

Originally Posted by deepakhon View Post
Kudos to Abarth, they took a mediocre looking Punto Evo and made it look hot. I guess Fiat should start asking Abarth to do their face-lifts.
Abarth is a co brand of Fiat.

Due to abarth I dislike the indian version of Punto. And speculation are there for a LPG Punto and this news is going to be the water-filter joke for italians.
Fiat kindly stop under-estimating us !
Old 25th February 2010, 11:26   #6

I wish I could own that someday .

Looks are great, certainly far better than the Evo.
Old 25th February 2010, 11:58   #7

way too many lines and details :| . but then again, blame the punto evo design for that.
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/intern...punto-evo.html
Old 25th February 2010, 12:45   #8

Originally Posted by Speed Pujari View Post

Due to abarth I dislike the indian version of Punto. And speculation are there for a LPG Punto and this news is going to be the water-filter joke for italians.
Unfortunately, cars like the Abarth Punto will not sell in India. Some of us on TBhp might buy it, and that would constitute 85% of its sales here - hardly a justification for such cars to be sold here.

And, I dont think Fiat is underestimating the Indian market - atleast now! They seem to have understood and started catering (somewhat) to our unique requirements of mileage above all else in cars not that are not many generations old.

Last edited by theMAG : 25th February 2010 at 17:12.
Old 25th February 2010, 14:09   #9

Not bad, but I don't understand why they styled the new Punto's front a bit like the Scirocco. The earlier Punto had it's own identity.
Old 25th February 2010, 14:45   #10

Yep. Abarth is a co-brand of Fiat. Abarth is to Fiat, the same way as AMG is to Merc.

Unfortunately for us, Fiat seems to have understood the Indian market now. That is why we get a 75 bhp Punto, and a 90 bhp Linea.
Old 25th February 2010, 15:10   #11

If wishes were horses

Sid, Enough drooling just enjoy the ride in puny punto.
Old 25th February 2010, 15:11   #12

Since you touched LPG Punto, would like to share something I heard from my Fiat SA. Punto CNG is getting launched soon.

1. Good news is boot space won't be compromised. The CNG tank would be under the boot.
2. But there has to be some compromise, the car wouldn't have a spare wheel, instead, while delivering the car they would provide Tubeless Tyre Puncture Repair training and a TL tyre puncture repair Kit to the customers.

Something new and out of the box. Sounds promising on the face of it.

Old 25th February 2010, 15:59   #13

Those wheels look wicked man!
Old 25th February 2010, 16:41   #14

Punto Abarth is not a practical option for India. Would you buy a hatchback priced upwards of 10lakhs? plus those low profile tires will mean torn tires and damaged rims, that lowered stiffened suspension would mean GC issues and wont offer plush ride as seen on the normal version of the Punto. All this is proved in a thread related to this topic (http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...hback-10l.html) where close to 60% bhpians have said no to a 10lakh rupee hatchback.

LPG powered Punto is definitely not a joke. It will offer petrol like performance and refinement with close to lesser running cost and lesser emissions.
Old 25th February 2010, 17:28   #15

waw. Such a hot hatch! The alloys look blazing hot. All these pics would be my wallpapers Thanks sid for info