ID:290 What's this blue convertible?

Ram
Old 19th August 2007, 23:34   #1187

Id: 290

ID: 290- Edwards America 1955?
Old 19th August 2007, 23:49   #1188

Spot on, ID 290 is indeed the Edwards America. Shes quite stunning, isnt she? The last of the Delahayes and Talbot Lagos curiously sported very similar lines.
Old 19th August 2007, 23:50   #1189

Originally Posted by ram View Post
Toyota's AA was their first production model.
It was built in 1936 and the first one was sold in 1938.
So which is the model year?

By Indian standards, if an Esteem was built in 2005 and sold from a showroom in 2007, it would show up on the RTO records as a 2007 model, right?

OT: When I was a primary schoolboy (ca. 1963), at Dadar TT circle was a three-gala toystore run by a Parsi gentleman. It was called "New Colony Stores" and they had aluminium die-cast 1/43 scale models of Toyopet Crown and Datsun Bluebird cars.

ID:286 is a 1958 Toyopet Crown RS-L
Ram
Originally Posted by ram View Post
Gogi, this was already identified on
16th August 2007, 15:26
in post #1194
Sorry Ram did'nt see that you had mentioned it was a Toyota/Toyopet Crown.

Originally Posted by karlosdeville View Post
ID 288 is a 1937-53 Renault Juvaquatre. The only reason I guessed it is coz theres one in Pune peacefully rusting away. Its for sale too. And no, I dont know how much.

Good one Karl. ID-288- is indeed the 1939 Renault Juvaquatre Sedan. Im surprised that there is one in Poona. Wow?
Looks restorable

@-G.S.- Right on the dot mate. ID:290 is the Edwards America

Last edited by V-16 : 19th August 2007 at 23:55. Reason: add
Old 19th August 2007, 23:54   #1190

Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
Good one Karl. ID-288- is indeed the 1939 Renault Juvaquatre Sedan. Im surprised that there is one in Poona. Wow?
Looks restorable
Its very restorable, and incredibly original and complete. Come to Poona ill take you to see it. Its for sale, but theres one problem. Its BUTT UGLY!
Old 19th August 2007, 23:59   #1191

Originally Posted by karlosdeville View Post
Its very restorable, and incredibly original and complete. Come to Poona ill take you to see it. Its for sale, but theres one problem. Its BUTT UGLY!
Will do Will do!! Im gonna be there sooner than you think. Wow what a find
Old 20th August 2007, 00:55   #1192

bus kya paaji, renault ka i am shouting and you are takeing. no problem all in the family. the car deserves a good home.
Old 20th August 2007, 01:02   #1193

Originally Posted by speedy View Post
bus kya paaji, renault ka i am shouting and you are takeing. no problem all in the family. the car deserves a good home.
Boss i was going to see the car for you only buddy \Seriously, this may not be a good looking car but is indeed a rare find in India
Old 20th August 2007, 02:25   #1194

Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
Boss i was going to see the car for you only buddy \Seriously, this may not be a good looking car but is indeed a rare find in India
mere bhai ne liya ya maine liya is the same thing. if you want it i am serious please go ahead. i know it is rare to come across. would not want my kid (first i need to get married) to be deprived of seeing such cars.
Old 20th August 2007, 09:09   #1195
Ram

Id:291

ID:291 Guess this handsome green sedan with the toothy chrome grille?

Ram
Old 20th August 2007, 09:50   #1196

Id:291

The green sedan with toothy chrome grill is the Holden 48-215 FX

Old 20th August 2007, 13:41   #1197
Ram

Ah right you are, -GS-!

ID:291 is a 1953 Holden 48-215.
Spare-parts shops started to call it the FX after the new model FG came out.

This was Australia's first car, made in Australia for Australia. The car was launched in 1948 and continued till 1955.

Originally intended to be a Chevrolet for the US market, it was found too small and underpowered to catch American fancy.
It was a stripper -- A car with no chrome, no heater, no passenger side sunvisor, no wind-up windows, no turn indicators and only a single tail light above the number plate.

Options available were a radio, rear venetian blind, passenger side sun-visor, locking petrol cap and a heavy duty oil bath aircleaner. It came in only four colors: Greenish Grey, Blue, Cream and Black.

It had a monocoque body branded as Aerobilt. The engine was a 2,161 cc straight six OHV mill with aluminium pistons. It put out 60 bhp and drove a 3-speed manual gearbox.

Ram
Old 20th August 2007, 15:46   #1198
Ram

Id:292

ID:292 Guess this cute indigo-grey rear-engined car.

Ram
Old 20th August 2007, 15:50   #1199

ID 292

NSU Prinz

design rights were taken to Russia and produced as the Zaphorozet..or something like that.

aircooled , rear engine, well made.

Company went under when they came out with the brilliant but flawed Ro80 and were taken over by audi and later dissolved
Old 20th August 2007, 15:52   #1200

Correction - the Russians copied the car, never bought the rights to it