Team-BHP > The International Automotive Scene

Old 14th October 2009, 21:37   #3211

mirroring the image to convert LHD to RHD is not such a clever idea.
Sorry about that...

Now this one:

ID682

Official Guess the car Thread (Please see rules on first page!)-id682.jpg
Old 14th October 2009, 21:45   #3212

Sorry Gogi ji not a Alpine A 106......

@Clevermax Since ID 680 is still open, it wouldn't be a clever thing to put another entry....

Last edited by agspins : 14th October 2009 at 21:49.
Old 14th October 2009, 21:48   #3213

Originally Posted by agspins View Post
HUH?? Im stonked then

ID:682 Mercury? sorry cant see too clearly on my cellphone screen but die hard hai na!! Will guess until i reach home and check on the PC.

Last edited by V-16 : 14th October 2009 at 21:53.
Old 14th October 2009, 21:58   #3214

Originally Posted by agspins View Post
@Clevermax Since ID 680 is still open, it wouldn't be a clever thing to put another entry....
Just bear with me for this time, I won't come back with another one for months I promise!

@V-16: Wrong guess
Old 14th October 2009, 22:06   #3215

Just bear with me for this time, I won't come back with another one for months I promise!
Buddy..Never Mind,my point was normally when one entry is open, you cant put up another.You are most welcome to post the entries...
Old 14th October 2009, 22:06   #3216

ID:680

Looks similar to a Abarth Porsche 356 Carrera to me ... the wheels and the extended nose with added headlamps are the clues.

Can't find any evidence of the same, but my guess is this is a Abarth Porsche 911.

FourWheelDrift

Last edited by FourWheelDrift : 14th October 2009 at 22:07.
Old 14th October 2009, 22:10   #3217
Ram

ID:682 is definitely a Mopar (Chrysler) product. I would say 1957.
Having said that ahead, let me take the time to identify the exact product.

OK. It is a 1957 Chrysler New Yorker.

The Chrysler Saratoga would have single headlamps, not twin.
Also it would be missing the two lower fangs in the bumper and some alternate cosmetics -- like the side spear.

Official Guess the car Thread (Please see rules on first page!)-1957chryslersaratoga.jpg

Last edited by Ram : 14th October 2009 at 22:26. Reason: Refining the finding
Old 14th October 2009, 22:16   #3218

Originally Posted by clevermax View Post

@V-16: Wrong guess
Well then a Buick perhaps... cant really detail the pic and enlarge it in a small screen
Old 14th October 2009, 22:36   #3219

Seen the rules, now this is a production car, but which one?

ID 683:
Official Guess the car Thread (Please see rules on first page!)-img-126.jpg  

Old 14th October 2009, 22:38   #3220
Ram

Originally Posted by sidindica View Post
Seen the rules, now this is a production car, but which one?

ID 683:
ID:683 is a 1959 Peugeot 403

Official Guess the car Thread (Please see rules on first page!)-1959-peugeot-403.jpg

The picture was taken at the Autoworld museum,
located at
Jubelpark 11, 1000 Brussels, Belgium.
The yellow ochre car next to it is a 1957 Borgward Isabella.

Last edited by Ram : 14th October 2009 at 22:57.
Old 14th October 2009, 22:41   #3221

Before we post another, ID:680 is waiting for a correct answer ...
Old 14th October 2009, 23:45   #3222
Ram

ID:680; 1966 APAL 1200 coupé

Originally Posted by FourWheelDrift View Post
Before we post another, ID:680 is waiting for a correct answer ...
OK. Here goes...

ID:680 is a 1966 APAL 1200 coupé

The APAL 1200 coupé was based on a VW Beetle floorplan with a 1,192 cc VW aircooled 40 bhp engine.

Roughly 150 APAL coupés were made.

APAL, stands for Application Polyester Armé de Liège
meaning Application:Reinforced Polyester of Liège--a provincial town in Belgium.

They were a Belgian company who made sports cars from 1961 to 1965.

Today they are named, Apal GmbH and are based in Ostercappeln, a municipality in the district of Osnabrück, in Niedersachsen (Lower Saxony), Germany.

From 2006 onwards, they have stopped making complete cars and only sell kits and spares.

Ram
Old 15th October 2009, 00:02   #3223

Nice one again Ram!But doesn't it look strikingly similar to the 1960 Porsche 356B Carrera GTL Abarth, as pointed out by FourWheelDrift?
Official Guess the car Thread (Please see rules on first page!)-abarth.jpg
Old 15th October 2009, 00:46   #3224

Id 684

ID 684 Make and Model please.

Old 15th October 2009, 01:06   #3225
Ram

Originally Posted by AyAn! View Post
Nice one again Ram!
But doesn't it look strikingly similar to the 1960 Porsche 356B Carrera GTL Abarth, as pointed out by FourWheelDrift?
Attachment 210361
The first thing that I saw were the rounded corners and external hinges on the front lid, telling me it was fibreglass and not the superleggera aluminum that the Porsche Abarth would be.
So it had to be the product of some obscure little workshop.

Another thing was the clumsy headlamp rings on the Apal, as opposed to the elegant faired in headlamps on the Abarth Carrera.

Looks gave the polyester APAL away.

And of course, while the 1.6 litre DOHC racing Abarth Carrera produces 115 to 140 bhp depending on tuning, the Apal putters along with a Premier Padmini sized 40 bhp engine.

As the saying goes: कहाँ राजा भोज, कहाँ गंगू तैली ?