Team-BHP > The International Automotive Scene

Old 26th April 2023, 10:09   #1

6th-gen Mercedes-Benz E-Class unveiled

Mercedes-Benz has taken the wraps off its new sixth-generation E-Class sedan. The new luxury sedan receives a substantial update over the outgoing model, including new features, tech, design and powertrain options.

6th-gen Mercedes-Benz E-Class unveiled-2024mercedeseclass-1.jpg

The 2024 Mercedes-Benz E-Class was unveiled in its standard wheelbase version, with the LWB scheduled to arrive sometime later. The standard wheelbase version of the E-Class is 20 mm longer than its predecessor, translating to better space in the interiors. The new E-Class also uses an updated version of the brand's MRA architecture.

6th-gen Mercedes-Benz E-Class unveiled-2024mercedeseclass-2.jpg

In terms of design, the 2024 E-Class sedan seems to borrow a lot of inspiration from its larger sibling, the S-Class. The sedan features a large upright front grille, large headlamps with integrated LED DRLs, the Mercedes-Benz motif on the bonnet, flush-fitting door handles and horizontal tail lights with new graphics. There is also plenty of chrome elements all around, adding to the luxury factor.

6th-gen Mercedes-Benz E-Class unveiled-2024mercedeseclass-3.jpg

Inside, the 2024 E-Class comes with a completely refreshed styling. The sedan gets a free-standing 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster and a 14.4-inch touchscreen infotainment display. Customers can also opt for the new superscreen, which adds a display for the front-seat passengers. The infotainment unit comes integrated with the brand's MBUX system and features a host of connected tech. The car also has a selfie camera and access to apps and games, while also being able to stream videos.

In terms of powertrain, the 2024 E-Class comes with a choice of 4-cylinder and 6-cylinder petrol and diesel engine options, with either a mild-hybrid or a plug-in hybrid system, depending on the trim. While the mild-hybrid option provides an additional 23 BHP, the plug-in hybrid versions offer an electric-only range of 115 km. Power figures range from 196 BHP to 375 BHP, and a 9-speed automatic transmission comes standard.

Link to Team-BHP news

Last edited by RahulNagaraj : 26th April 2023 at 10:11.
RahulNagaraj is offline   (28) Thanks
Old 26th April 2023, 11:09   #2

re: 6th-gen Mercedes-Benz E-Class unveiled

The sixth generation E-Class will most probably cost ₹90 lakh on-road Nashik when it is launched here in second half of 2024. This will be the base model with probably no hyper screen and other fancy gimmicks.
The latest C-Class is worth ₹72 lakh for C200 and ₹80 lakh for C300d. We once dreamt of owning S-Class somehwere in the future (2030 maybe) but by the time one accumulates funds for a certain car it is leaps and bounds beyond one's reach.
In 2012, an S-Class was worth ₹ 1 crore on-road and now it starts at ₹2.06 crore. What is happening? Is everyone getting rich so fast?
Excommunicado is offline   (53) Thanks
Old 26th April 2023, 11:45   #3

Incredible looks,The engineering team at Merc has outdone themselves on the exterior.

I would love to own one of these someday. Ideally an AMG version.
shastryBLR is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 26th April 2023, 12:54   #4

I feel the front of the car looks strange. It has the 3 series/BMW-like headlights and overall doesn't look all that different from the side or back. However, I like the fact that you still get the hood ornament as an option.
nimishlalwani is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 26th April 2023, 16:13   #5

Originally Posted by Excommunicado View Post
The sixth generation E-Class will most probably cost ₹90 lakh on-road Nashik when it is launched here in second half of 2024. This will be the base model with probably no hyper screen and other fancy gimmicks.
The latest C-Class is worth ₹72 lakh for C200 and ₹80 lakh for C300d. We once dreamt of owning S-Class somehwere in the future (2030 maybe) but by the time one accumulates funds for a certain car it is leaps and bounds beyond one's reach.
In 2012, an S-Class was worth ₹ 1 crore on-road and now it starts at ₹2.06 crore. What is happening? Is everyone getting rich so fast?
My dad had a 2017 GLC220d which he bought for around 60L new. We had sold it off last month for a very good deal after it completed 70k. Now, even its rival X3 costs around 90L on-road and we heard from the dealer that even new GLC can cost from an eyewatering 95-1 crore
Sandeep M is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 26th April 2023, 17:23   #6

First of all - WOW! That's an incredible update, both inside and outside. Would love to watch this beauty on our roads soon enough, while I did picture owning a C / E class back in 2018, it sadly never came to fruition.

I have to keep rethinking on my finances, apparently my earnings while increased exponentially, the inflation keeps things that I want from out of my reach again. Ha! Hopefully in another decade, would grab one as my mid-life affair. Swear, I need that three pointed star in my life and not merely watch on the brake light of the car ahead.

Here is Mat Watson's impressions -
Lord-Lannister is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th April 2023, 18:09   #7

Keeping with the theme of this generation’s cars, it is more of an evolution from its predecessor. Hopefully Mercedes-Benz will not try and pander too much to the crowd that wants a 5-series with a three pointer star and take away the soul of the E-Class, it’s sublime ride quality, relaxed power delivery and the general ability to just cocoon the passengers from the drab of everyday life. Peace

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 27th April 2023 at 14:25. Reason: Fixing youtube link.
Air_Kerala is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 27th April 2023, 11:19   #8

Re: 6th-gen Mercedes-Benz E-Class unveiled

We'll get the LWB in the 2nd half of 2024. @ Mercedes: please also offer the regular wheelbase car for driving enthusiasts.

Note from Mercedes:
India will have the LWB version of the New E-Class which will be introduced at a later stage, after the debut of the standard wheelbase. India is the only RHD market for the LWB E-Class, and the market debut is expected only around the second half of 2024.
GTO is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 27th April 2023, 11:26   #9

That is an awesome looking car. Is that entire dashboard is a touch screen with piano black surroundings?
Old 27th April 2023, 11:41   #10

Am I the only one who thinks that the new-E looks horrible on the outside?

The headlamps and taillights look especially bad. Don't understand why they had to put the 3-pointed star inside the taillight like that. Also the DRL signature is so weird.

The Germans have clearly lost the plot when it comes to design.
veedub89 is offline   (25) Thanks
Old 27th April 2023, 13:57   #11

Originally Posted by veedub89 View Post
Am I the only one who thinks that the new-E looks horrible on the outside?
The Germans have clearly lost the plot when it comes to design.
Completely agree!
Love the silhouette but the detailing is a touch too garish for me.
lamborghini is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 27th April 2023, 14:16   #12

I love what I'm seeing! Mercedes has really raised their desirability factor manifold. The silhouette is so so cool and I'm pretty sure the garish details will look good in flesh.

In comparison, BMW design has become so bad that any new posters I receive of them will be used as toilet paper.
Turbohead is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th April 2023, 15:13   #13

Not a fan of the new design. They have tried to blend EQ design which doesn't work in my opinion. Everything feels droopy. Not a fan of Interior design as well, Feels like it's just screens. The whole car feels like it is designed by the marketing department.

I predict that in the future, luxury is going to be having analog elements with human touch and great craftsmanship like Buggati and Bentley where great technology is used, but never in your face.

When you make the dashboard of your car just screens, even considering the OTA updates, the car will feel very dated in the long term because technology changes a lot. Not to mention, using a touchscreen while driving is a safety hazard. Not a fan of making every control touch sensitive (the steering wheel controls and seat adjustment controls on the door), It is just not intuitive to use.

The voice control hasn't matured enough to do all the tasks hands-free. The whole car feels kinda sterile and less human to me. Good technology works with you and fades into the background, not in your face. I don't mind screens. I love new technology. But this isn't the way.
Muthu25 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th April 2023, 18:38   #14

Originally Posted by RahulNagaraj View Post
Mercedes-Benz has taken the wraps off its new sixth-generation E-Class sedan. The new luxury sedan receives a substantial update over the outgoing model, including new features, tech, design and powertrain options.

Attachment 2444021

The 2024 Mercedes-Benz E-Class was unveiled in its standard wheelbase version, with the LWB scheduled to arrive sometime later. The standard wheelbase version of the E-Class is 20 mm longer than its predecessor, translating to better space in the interiors. The new E-Class also uses an updated version of the brand's MRA architecture.

Attachment 2444020

In terms of design, the 2024 E-Class sedan seems to borrow a lot of inspiration from its larger sibling, the S-Class. The sedan features a large upright front grille, large headlamps with integrated LED DRLs, the Mercedes-Benz motif on the bonnet, flush-fitting door handles and horizontal tail lights with new graphics. There is also plenty of chrome elements all around, adding to the luxury factor.

Attachment 2444019

Inside, the 2024 E-Class comes with a completely refreshed styling. The sedan gets a free-standing 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster and a 14.4-inch touchscreen infotainment display. Customers can also opt for the new superscreen, which adds a display for the front-seat passengers. The infotainment unit comes integrated with the brand's MBUX system and features a host of connected tech. The car also has a selfie camera and access to apps and games, while also being able to stream videos.

In terms of powertrain, the 2024 E-Class comes with a choice of 4-cylinder and 6-cylinder petrol and diesel engine options, with either a mild-hybrid or a plug-in hybrid system, depending on the trim. While the mild-hybrid option provides an additional 23 BHP, the plug-in hybrid versions offer an electric-only range of 115 km. Power figures range from 196 BHP to 375 BHP, and a 9-speed automatic transmission comes standard.

Link to Team-BHP news
Bringing back the grill + hood ornament combo is a welcome change. However, not really fond of the tech-festy interiors. I am also assuming that the fifty plus year olds who form the majority of the target audience for this isn’t interested it it either. Anyways, Mercedes had told that it’s becoming a software company. So, these makes sense but it’s probably diluting and killing the brand in the long term for sure.
Old 27th April 2023, 20:24   #15

Extremely good looking and well proportioned. Though I’m no where in the league of buying one, will admire this one when seen in person. Mercedes design language gets better with every generation and the latest one with those massive Alloys are to drool all day !