Team-BHP > The International Automotive Scene

Old 19th May 2021, 11:49   #16

Re: Ford files patent to draw advertisement content from billboards and show it on MID

Originally Posted by Singh101 View Post
I use YouTube Vanced and AdAway on my rooted phone just so that I don't have ads of any kind
Just adding on some more information here. One can use YouTube Vanced & YouTube music Vanced without root as well. I am using it like that on my phone. You may want to remove the Youtube system app using ADB commands from your user profile if you don't want that app to show up when you click on Youtube links. This is also possible without root.

Instead of Adaway, one can also set dns.adguard.com as their DoH in the phone, this is pretty much equivalent to a rooted phone using Adaway.

I am an Android enthusiast who has been using only rooted phones ever since 2011. I haven't rooted my current phone though. With the above possibilities, I don't miss root access that badly.

As far as ads on a car's MID is concerned, I am going to hate it. I will definitely be on the lookout for any hacks or mods if ads on a car's display become a reality. Willing to pay for the mods that will remove ads from a car.

Last edited by clevermax : 19th May 2021 at 11:57.
clevermax is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th May 2021, 12:52   #17

Re: Ford files patent to draw advertisement content from billboards and show it on MID

As much as we all hate this ad display patent on MID, this is going to be a reality in the near future. With self-driving cars' technology evolving, one has to wonder what will a person do behind the wheel just looking at road? Might as well see some ads. Though it is going to take say at-least 10 years but time flies.
Also, the world is fast moving towards consumerism. How does Facebook, Instagram, Youtube earn? From Advertisements. Why do sports player's jersey have so many ads? Or even the stadium? I remember this below Youtube video which I saw 2-3 years back.

See from 50 secs to 1 min 10 sec.
Dhillon is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 19th May 2021, 13:17   #18

Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
One can use YouTube Vanced & YouTube music Vanced without root as well.

I am an Android enthusiast who has been using only rooted phones ever since 2011.
Agreed! Infact, I'm using the non root version of Vanced on my rooted phone just because I don't want Play Store to "auto-update" it to the latest official version. And yes, I know I can go and uncheck it individually but..this way is much simpler. My ROM doesn't have a full suite of Google apps installed anyway so there's no interference to begin with!

My obsession with modding and rooting began when OnePlus announced that the OP2 won't get updates past where it was at (Marshmallow, I think). Feeling indignant, I "taught" myself how to install a custom ROM and installed a Nougat PureNexus of the time on it, and haven't looked back since.

Current phone, K20 Pro is running EvoX, Android 11 with Magisk.

Thanks for the ads tip! Does that interfere with the Amazon app or YouTube Watch History, though? I had issues but they were easily solvable on AdAway with a little bit of Reddit hunting.

Old 19th May 2021, 14:50   #19

I have already stopped listening to the radio in my car since many radio stations have gone overboard with the amount of advertising they play. It's almost 3 to 4 advertisements for 1 or 2 songs .

If ads are shown in one's private property, it's totally unbearable.
What would be offered next? A subscription for ad removal?

On commercial point of view, I think Ford could use this technology in self rental cars.
Old 19th May 2021, 14:53   #20

Originally Posted by libranof1987 View Post
If you thought advertisements during YouTube videos or pop-ups on websites were pesky, Ford plans to take it to another level of annoying.
Not bothered. I stopped listening to car radio ever since irritating Kejriwal ads started popping up on radio stations. Now I don't feel the need to have any music playing in the car while driving.
Old 19th May 2021, 15:00   #21

No chance this will happen. Showing ads on YouTube or TV channels is one thing, but the car is your own property that you have paid lakhs of rupees for. No car owner is going to tolerate being shown ads in his car.

Only exceptions I can think of are cabs, rental cars, buses etc. But ads showing in a 35-lakh rupee Endeavour? Fat chance. Any car manufacturer that tries it is being penny wise, pound foolish. Like cheap BMW which tried to charge for Apple CarPlay.

I know that car manufacturers are all gung ho on the 'subscription' business and want a piece of the action, but they need to understand it's not as easy with cars as it is with software or music.
GTO, you have a point but what if car makers make it as simple as the variant mix? Pay extra for a non ad car. You also get additional airbags, rear seat head rests and other features when you opt for a no ad car. Looks simply stupid but we never know where it can go. I always wonder how can anyone remove headrests and sell the car as a lower variant. Well, they can come up all kinds of outrageous ideas. I won't be surprised if Ford says, the ads will be streaming on your rear windshields (huge distraction to vehicles though).

Last edited by Raghu M : 19th May 2021 at 15:04. Reason: Grammar
Raghu M is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th May 2021, 16:05   #22

No chance this will happen. Showing ads on YouTube or TV channels is one thing, but the car is your own property that you have paid lakhs of rupees for. No car owner is going to tolerate being shown ads in his car.

I know that car manufacturers are all gung ho on the 'subscription' business and want a piece of the action, but they need to understand it's not as easy with cars as it is with software or music.
I doubt that is the case. People pay lot of money (not as much as cars though) for phones as well, and now they start seeing ads. Xiaomi in the budget space and Samsung even on flagship lakh rupee phones. Some LED TVs have started showing ads in the TV (not on the channel but on the TV itself). So when manufacturers think of squeezing out extra pennies, they eventually find a way. At times a big/renowned name comes up with something, others follow suit.

We already have seen even chargers being removed from lakh rupee smartphone boxes, to having separate USB dongles for 2 lakh rupee computers.

With more and more complex infotainment systems like MBUX, etc. the day isn't too far away

It perhaps might follow into:

- Ads during Rear seat passenger entertainment
- Freemium for some additional features (unlock 4 zone climate control, unlock higher levels of heated/cooled seats, etc.)
- Ads between media play (for every 3-5 songs played from USB, play an ad)
- Driver habits tracking based on car map activities+smartphone map activities and alert if a similar thing is nearby. Lets say I'm a frequent visitor of McDonalds, and while I am traveling to a new city, I get an audible or visual alert when a Burger King approaches nearby in a totally new city.

We are already seeing cars with power output based on the money you pay despite having the same engine. (Audi RS7 in the west)

PS: Someone looking for auto-ad-tech startup ideas over here, I just gave you inspiration above, don't forget my royalties.
PrasunBannerjee is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th May 2021, 18:50   #23

I am ok with ads but I need discounts or may be just pay the road taxes and insurance, something like a subscription. Again a discount of few thousands on 40Lac car is not enticing but if they give me say atleast say 10-15L discount, I might think . But if I have to full amount and then pay again to remove Ad's, I will bid good bye no matter how good the car is.
Old 19th May 2021, 19:03   #24

I don't think Ford intents to invest in a in-car advertisement system. It might be more like the following.

* Scan the data on bill board when car is moving
* Filter out excess text
* Display only relevant text (Phone numbers, names, etc). Preferably on ICE instead of MID.

Think of how Google Maps displays related ads and places. It can be something similar, but with car's inbuilt navigation system, and without the need of internet.

The benefit I see here is that user need not be distracted with bill board signs, and can retrieve these data later on from ICE.

---
The micro-transaction and ad based revenue works out well for apps and games where user starts from free and pays as per usage. I don't see how it will help out in case of cars, not to mention the legal complexities (ads on cars = more money for govt as tax). If I had to make the decision, I'd dismiss it because it costs too much work & reputation for very little profit.
Old 19th May 2021, 19:40   #25

How far away are we from ad blockers for cars?
With insanely large screens and annoyances that come with it even in budget cars, I think we need a whole category of car modifiers and tinkerers who work only on in-car software and hack it, like they do with ECU remaps and flashes.

A custom firmware which kills speed warnings and assigns ICE volume control from touch screen to horn buttons? sign me up!
Old 19th May 2021, 20:31   #26

Does this patent also has the master switch to turn off that feature?

Also, did Ford checked with Kerala MVD. Kerala MVD, doesn’t allow advertising in cars. We have a thread for it.

Last edited by saisree : 19th May 2021 at 20:38.
saisree is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th May 2021, 21:49   #27

Originally Posted by TrackDay View Post
guess the gender of the majority who got into accidents.
OFF-Topic. An image of a hilarious event involvings ads is attached. Such an incident happening in a car screen can cause more damage than accidents
Ford files patent to draw advertisement content from billboards and show it on MID-8157da54e4ff41e9860df1af092d6e93.jpg  

maheshm619 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 19th May 2021, 21:59   #28

They can not show ads when car is in drive. I think they will show ads when car is still, at cross roads etc.
Old 20th May 2021, 00:38   #29

I find ads on the waze app (in the US) extremely annoying. In car ads for the drivers will be extremely distracting and can cause accidents. Driving is inherently a risky activity- viewing ads while driving should not be compared to Radio, YouTube, Spotify, or instagram.

Showing ads to passengers might be okay - but imagine your 5 year old crying out that he/she wants McD or Starbucks every time he/she sees the ad on the screen. As a kid, I was stubborn enough without been shown ads in our Maruti 800/Toyota Qualis. Kid me would probably be a nightmare to parents if shown ads in the car.

Like it or not, ads will definitely be a part of self-driving cars unless you pay a premium to switch it off.
Old 20th May 2021, 01:00   #30

Very rarely I disagree with @GTO but yes here I think ads in cars will certainly happen.

And this location based advertising technology might be the way forward rather than showing random ads. Because in advertising - context & personalisation are key.

Definitely not in traditional MIDs though and certainly not in human driven cars. But perhaps when we will have self drive cars with a huge screen and the passengers have nothing to do.

We'll probably see it in the Google / Alphabet Waymo or Apple car first. They know all about you already with their phones and watches, so why not get in your car too.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com