Team-BHP > The International Automotive Scene

Old 10th January 2017, 00:00   #1

The next-gen Lexus LS500

Lexus has revealed the fifth generation of it's LS flagship, the 2018 LS500.

With the biggest change from the tried and tested formula, a new twin turbo charged V6 engine, with no old school v8 for now. Though I reckon it will make an appearance along with the hybrid power train later.

The all new 3.5l V6 puts out 415 horsepower and 61 kgm of torque, and it supposedly sends the car from zero to 60 mph in just 4.5 seconds. A 10-speed auto is the only transmission option.

One thing I like is that after the Lexus trademark "steering wheel going out of the knee's way" when entering the car, the new LS500 when unlocked via the key fob, it will both raise the body and also open the seat bolsters.
The body raising is an old trick, but in today's world of heavy side bolstered seats in cars, this is a good start. Hope, it trickles down fast.

http://www.autocarindia.com/auto-gal...x#imageGallery

http://jalopnik.com/the-new-2018-lex...ive-1790972200

http://www.caradvice.com.au/512061/2...twin-turbo-v6/
The next-gen Lexus LS500-jgip1eulclv669aolabg.jpg  

The next-gen Lexus LS500-bydv65kt0ukuwuqqi5j5.jpg  

The next-gen Lexus LS500-dpkryt2um0aeeq3lf3on.jpg  

The next-gen Lexus LS500-tlqfuy4qdrwmnv51tg0e.jpg  

The next-gen Lexus LS500-qvrttkdivewyqbbszy2h.jpg  

The next-gen Lexus LS500-ts8bvend8xaqalk2buyt.jpg  

The next-gen Lexus LS500-zr1l89mxkr4rp7qiee34.jpg  

DicKy is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 10th January 2017, 00:17   #2

re: The next-gen Lexus LS500

My God this car is HOT, it is aggressive, luxurious & has a much sportier stance than the previous gen

I'd definitely buy this once im bored owning the regular S / 7 / A8.

Last edited by Akshay1234 : 10th January 2017 at 10:24. Reason: typo
karan561 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 10th January 2017, 10:42   #3

The only thing I do not like about this car is the ugly predator grill. Other than that, it looks absolutely fab inside out. The stance of the car is just amazing. The quality of the interior appointments also appears to have taken a leap over the previous gen.
reignofchaos is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 10th January 2017, 10:48   #4

Guess all big size luxury cars are now in sync ! They have really succeeded in making it sleek and sporty. Even I think the front grill is a little out of character with the rest of the car.
srishiva is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th January 2017, 11:16   #5

• Radical new design with coupe-like silhouette, yet spaciousness of prestige sedan
  • New platform for greatest-ever LS agility and comfort
  • All-new twin-turbo V6 with 415 horsepower
  • 10-speed automatic transmission
  • All-new available Lexus Advanced Safety Package
  • New level of flagship luxury in every aspect
  • Interior inspired by traditional Japanese aesthetics
  • On sale in U.S. near the end of 2017
  • Inspired by Shimamoku wood patterns, the new forms that combine the artistic combination of natural woodwork and application of Japan’s sophisticated sliced wood and laser cutting manufacturing technologies
  • Designed to enhance the centre of gravity, height and weight distribution, the 2018 LS has a wide and low body
  • 200 pounds lighther than the current LS. Critical to its driving performance, the new platform lowers the car’s center of gravity by placing most of the mass, including the engine and the occupants, in a position more centralized and lower in the chassis
  • New seating designs, including available 28-way power front seats that feature heating, cooling and massage
  • Designed to be the brand’s latest global citizen, available in about 90 countries

Advanced Safety Features:
The LS will feature the brand’s Lexus Safety System + and offer the Advanced Safety Package, which features the world’s first system with
Intuitive Pedestrian Detection with Active Steering within the lane. With this system, if a pedestrian is detected in the lane ahead and a collision is imminent, the LS is designed to automatically brake and potentially steer around the person while staying in the lane. The available color HUD is utilized in alerting the driver.

The next-gen Lexus LS500-lexus-2.jpg

Source:

http://www.lexus.com/documents/conce...ebut_FINAL.pdf
cbatrody is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th January 2017, 11:25   #6

Re: The next-gen Lexus LS500

Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
The only thing I do not like about this car is the ugly predator grill
Seriously man, that front grill is YUCK! It looks like a cheap modification job done from a roadside shop in Mumbai.

Toyota should never try too hard to be stylish - instead of Hrithik Roshan, they end up looking like Govinda. What Toyota does best is clean designs. Take a look at the 3rd & 4th LS' which were great looking sedans for their time.

Also don't like them ditching the V8. In this class of car, a V8 is a must.

I don't think this'll make any difference to the mega success of the W222 S-Class.
GTO is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 10th January 2017, 11:38   #7

The car is a stunner. Agree with the front grill looking cheap. Could have been give a more upmarket look than the current one. Interiors look very inviting and would pamper the occupant.
Also don't like them ditching the V8. In this class of car, a V8 is a must.
I think this will be not much of a concern for the buyers of this segment since mostly they will be chauffeur driven with handful of exceptions. They are not really going to be bothered about the driving pleasure the driver is going to get
Old 10th January 2017, 11:43   #8

I'd definitely buy this once im bored owning the regular S / 7 / A8.
save your hunger, the way Toyota prices its products here, in the unlikely event of launch in India expect Maybach to be cheaper
Turbanator is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 10th January 2017, 13:33   #9

save your hunger, the way Toyota prices its products here, in the unlikely event of launch in India expect Maybach to be cheaper

I agree, but this ain't coming to India before 2018 as we know only the ES300H, RX450H & LX are coming in 2017.

Even if it comes as you rightly said it may cross the INR 1.5 crore mark
Old 11th January 2017, 09:46   #10

Originally Posted by centaur View Post
I think this will be not much of a concern for the buyers of this segment since mostly they will be chauffeur driven with handful of exceptions.
In North America - which is Lexus' primary market - this car will be self-driven only.

GTO is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 27th August 2017, 21:40   #11

I learn, very reliably, that Lexus will bring the LS500h to India in January 2018. The price is likely to be in the Rs 200 lakh range. Sadly completely out of my pay grade. But one can always go for multiple test drives.
V.Narayan is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 27th August 2017, 21:58   #12

Damn. It's looks are giving the Jaguar XJ some serious competition. Looks sporty yet majestic like how a car of that segment should look like. Though I'm sure it'll be little boring to drive.

Cars like S-Class look and feel too boat like. This is something you could step out from on the red carpet.

Just don't forget to paint the grill in matte black.
The Brutailer is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th August 2017, 01:35   #13

I absolutely adore what Lexus has done with this thing. For once I am admiring a Lexus that isn't the LFA or LC500 coupe. It is infact a big full sized luxury sedan. I am amazed. Absolutely floored by the stance of this thing. It hides it's mass well and appears to be in a slightly crouched and ready to pounce position almost like a coupe. Jaguar did try that with their XJ's sloping roofline, but Lexus has really pulled it off; the waistline, sloping roof and shape of the windows in general just make it look unlike any other full size luxury sedan I've ever seen. Its hard to find such a massive luxury sedan that doesn't just look like a massive slab/blob of metal on wheels from most angles. I am stunned.

I for one actually love the grille design on the Lexus. I see that reviewers in the UK and US markets seem to be a lot more accommodating of radical new designs and many times are appreciative of the zany stuff Lexus is putting out these days, but here in India we are always a little apprehensive when it comes to agreeing with fresh designs. Anyway the looks of the grille being personal opinion, even if one doesn't like it at all, it definitely does not look cheap. It is so clearly ostentatious with no cheap materials and clearly impressive mesh-work. It all looks so intricate with the slats in the vents on either corner of the bumper and those drls, it looks intricate yet ostentatious. Infact for me, I like the application of this gaping grille on the LS500 more than any previous attempt on other models. Maybe I'm just mad

Last edited by IshaanIan : 28th August 2017 at 01:42.
Old 28th August 2017, 11:11   #14

Literally a new twist to the luxury slab.

For the guesstimated price, they should be bringing the top of the line hybrid with RWS.

Even though the chin is a little controversial, it's interesting to note how Audi has also tried it a bit with the new R8 front chin. So, for those who don't like it, beware, it might catch on.

Old 28th August 2017, 14:26   #15

Originally Posted by V.Narayan View Post
I learn, very reliably, that Lexus will bring the LS500h to India in January 2018. The price is likely to be in the Rs 200 lakh range. Sadly completely out of my pay grade. But one can always go for multiple test drives.
At that price, it is going to be damn difficult for them to sell even one piece. The Maybach S500 is significantly cheaper!

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com