Team-BHP - The "USED" Car Price Check Thread

-   -   The "USED" Car Price Check Thread (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian-car-scene/93778-used-car-price-check-thread-742.html)

Originally Posted by swift_guy (Post 3898119)
It would be quite a big change, from a low slung --.... Get these hardcore offroaders only if you have some other car at home (no way your parents would like a Jeep or Gypsy) and obviously cash to spare.

---
For me it is more of Wife and Kid :) and a 9 to 6 Job.

What a car!
I wish this had succeeded in India!
Seems a good price too, on Carwale.
I really love these Skoda Octavia Combi Wagons!

Originally Posted by shankar.balan (Post 3898478)
What a car!
I wish this had succeeded in India!
Seems a good price too, on Carwale.
I really love these Skoda Octavia Combi Wagons!

Its a Combi RS, the turbo petrol woth 150 odd horses. A 2008 made 92k KMs run, 2nd owner vehicle with ABS, 2 Airbags and TC, still available at carwale.

Indeed what a car!!
I've always fancied this station wagon.. Oh this and BMW estate wagon.. Something about the way the car looks and sits on its sporty rims always gives me a good feeling.

I've seen one in Bangalore a few times, looks swell. Also seen an old Baleno estate wagon (Altura?) a couple times. Both cars looked great and maintained in pristine condition. I envy the owners.:)

Negotiation is the key for used car purchases. My neighbour (and a close friend also) picked up an i10 yesterday for a mouthwatering price.

The car was advertised for 3.35 Lac by a dealer. Tyres were worn out and there was no music system, rest everything was fine. Neighbour negotiated hard with the dealer (for over 2 weeks) and got the below deal :

Hyundai i10 Magna
2012 October, 34000 kms
Asking price : 3.35 Lac

And as a result of negotiations, the following things were added to the deal.

*3 month warranty (on engine and AC)
*1 service free by dealer
*Prestige alloys and newer tyres (50% tread - exchanged with another i10 with the same dealer)
*Alignment and balancing by dealer
*Bumper repainted by dealer

And the price paid, hold your breath, 2.82 Lac including brokerage and 1k paid to mechanic for inspection!

I repeat, negotiation is the key. Never settle even if the deal looks fine, bargain as much as possible. Dealers get cars at much lesser prices and have to sell them to keep the flow going, so they will reduce the price if you look like a serious buyer. Car is a depreciating asset and dealers can not keep a car in their stock for too long. Do not get trapped in sentiments or personal liking or sugar-coated promises, do pure business. :)

Looking to buy a Brio for wifey.

Have seen one at 25K kms in Bangalore. 2012 model SMT version, single owner, good condition.

Any idea what to pay ? And anything to be specifically checked in Brio ?

Hey all. My brother is looking to buy a Skoda rapi elegance diesel automatic.
It is a 2014 Nov model.
Is 9.5l a fair price for it?

I'm in the market for a used i10 Asta manual (ABS, Airbags et al). Came across a couple of examples on online classifieds. Done between 45K and 60K KM, and the model year's between 2009 and 2010. Sellers quote between 2.8 and 3L. My feeling is that they shouldn't cost more than 2.25L, as they've done half a lakh, if not more, KM and they are of 7 years' vintage. Your thoughts gentlemen?

I have been offered Rs. 55000/- for my 1995 Esteem by Maruti True Value.
Color: White
Owner: 2nd Owner, bought from a Doctor at 7000 Kms in 2000
Kms done: 75000 Kms, Genuine.
Engine Condition: Very good (Petrol)
No Accidents except for a couple of minor nicks

In addition, I'm getting Rs. 25000/- as Exchange bonus for Ciaz Zdi SHVS.
Is this a fair deal?

Originally Posted by Arun.K (Post 3909230)
I have been offered Rs. 55000/- for my 1995 Esteem by Maruti True Value.
Color: White
Owner: 2nd Owner, bought from a Doctor at 7000 Kms in 2000
Kms done: 75000 Kms, Genuine.
Engine Condition: Very good (Petrol)
No Accidents except for a couple of minor nicks

In addition, I'm getting Rs. 25000/- as Exchange bonus for Ciaz Zdi SHVS.
Is this a fair deal?

Sounds like an OK deal. But from what I know the esteem is a great car. N if its engine is still in good condition then I feel a fair deal would be between 1 and 2 lakhs.

Originally Posted by subarufan (Post 3909289)
..if its engine is still in good condition then I feel a fair deal would be between 1 and 2 lakhs.

I was expecting at-least 1 lakh. But till now I'm getting offers below Rs. 65000/- from dealers and direct buyers.

Hello Everyone,
I am planning to sell my June 2010 Maruti Suzuki Ritz Vxi variant(Single owner). It has clocked around 18,997 kms and I have all the service records since the day I bought this car. The car is very well maintained and the insurance is valid till June of this year. What kind of price should I expect?

Originally Posted by Arun.K (Post 3909436)
I was expecting at-least 1 lakh. But till now I'm getting offers below Rs. 65000/- from dealers and direct buyers.

Just for reference, I sold my 2002 Esteem Mpfi Lxi done 95000 in 2015 for 70k.
This was in Delhi.

Originally Posted by Arun.K (Post 3909436)

Arun I can only wish you best of luck in selling your car. Having said that you may be able to get better quotes if certain factors are ensured. Firstly you mentioned nicks and dents.. These are from a buyers point of view excuses to bring the selling price down. Keeping the car looking spic n span both inside and out is the kind of impression you want to root for. Secondly place of sale. Selling your car in Kerala for example can usually get you better price than selling in surrounding states.. Lastly yours is a pretty old car. Chances are it'll be bought by an enthusiast or a racer. Try advertising through avenues that cater to your target buyers. Best of luck