Team-BHP - The "USED" Car Price Check Thread

-   -   The "USED" Car Price Check Thread (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian-car-scene/93778-used-car-price-check-thread-729.html)

Originally Posted by Doge (Post 3856736)
I'd say the price is a little high for a petrol skoda but where is the car?
I'd advice you to look for a Vento instead. Vw's future seems to be better than Skoda.

Hello, Doge.

My used car dealer had called me up on 26th noon, to notify me of this European listing. The brown colored Skoda is in his shed. I rode her in city yesterday noon, and came back impressed with her driving characteristics. The price, untimely availability and unreliability of spare parts, along with non availability of a Skoda service center / well versed FNG in our city are the big deterrents in going ahead with this buy.

With a budget of 5 lac, the other used cars I've short listed are -
- Toyota Corolla (P)
- Honda Civic
- Ford Classic / Fiesta (2011-2014) (P).

Hello Everyone
Just wanted to know, What should be the ideal price(in Mumbai) for a 2013 Honda CRV (2.4L Model) which has clocked 43,000kms. I have been quoted a price of about 18L which i find to be too high.
Do let me know

Originally Posted by nimit3105 (Post 3857738)
Hello Everyone
Just wanted to know, What should be the ideal price(in Mumbai) for a 2013 Honda CRV (2.4L Model) which has clocked 43,000kms. I have been quoted a price of about 18L which i find to be too high.
Do let me know

Typically 50% of current on road price = Rs. 15L, add a slight premium if the car is really clean.

Hey guys,

Checked quite few pages but couldn't find any results. Do we have any facelifted Civic VAT for sale by any bhpians in Delhi. I have been searching with dealers and not sure if I can proceed with those cars.

nIk

Originally Posted by Swapnil4585 (Post 3857706)
Hello, Doge.

My used car dealer had called me up on 26th noon, to notify me of this European listing. The brown colored Skoda is in his shed. I rode her in city yesterday noon, and came back impressed with her driving characteristics. The price, untimely availability and unreliability of spare parts, along with non availability of a Skoda service center / well versed FNG in our city are the big deterrents in going ahead with this buy.

With a budget of 5 lac, the other used cars I've short listed are -
- Toyota Corolla (P)
- Honda Civic
- Ford Classic / Fiesta (2011-2014) (P).

I would suggest you to stay away from a used Skoda as they are out of warranty. Vento/rapid don't have any major reliability concerns especially the 1.6mpi but still, I don't think its wise to buy a used Skoda that will be out of warranty soon.
What are your priorities? Other cars you listed are also pretty good but each has its own USP!

Hello dear bhpians,

I'm stuck on a bit of a dilemma and wanted advice on this issue.

Thanks to a very chance visit and an convincing forum review i got a black Civic in 2008 1.8v manual.

I have had the pleasure of driving and maintaining it since that time.

No issues till the recent "regular" engine mount replacement and shock absorbers to be changed next week.

The recent 60k spending on the recent "regular civic maintenance" got me thinking of getting replaced with another car.

From local dealerships i have got quotations upto 3.5L. Listings here on classifieds reached 5.5 if i recall correctly.

My question is should i replace this or keep it till atleast 1,50,000 KMs?

Originally Posted by Ashutosh (Post 3858046)
Hello dear bhpians,

I'm stuck on a bit of a dilemma and wanted advice on this issue.

My question is should i replace this or keep it till atleast 1,50,000 KMs?

You can keep the Civic for time eternal, it is an awesome piece of equipment, but the million dollar question is do you want to keep it?

Now is the time to sell, from now on resale will be pretty stagnant or might even head south-wards

Hello Guys

I am planning to sell my Swift ZDI (Manfactured DEC 2011) next month.The car has run 67000 kms backed up by full service record.What Price should I ask for my car in Chandigarh region? :)

Originally Posted by manson (Post 3857798)
Typically 50% of current on road price = Rs. 15L, add a slight premium if the car is really clean.

I did check out the 2013 car. The car was maintained with all service records. But since it has run 44,000 kms, the tyres need a replacement. Considering that the car will be 3 years old in a month, I have quoted around 14 but the dealer didn't agree.

Originally Posted by Doge (Post 3858023)
What are your priorities? Other cars you listed are also pretty good but each has its own USP!

I am in agreement with your concerns on the Skoda reliability. So, have put those cars out of the list.

I've owned a diesel car for over 8 years and 1.3L kilometers. So now want to buy a big engine (1500-1800cc) petrol car. My requirements are a combination of some simple and some unique -

- Most important criteria : Should have better low end torque. Better enough to let the car crawl in 1st gear without accelerator input (Skoda Rapid like).
- Should seat 5 comfortably and must have a spacious boot.
- Safety features must be present.
- The car should not bottom out when 4 or 5 people along with luggage, are on board. If it has / it has a provision for installing engine and petrol tank guard, it'd be better.
- High ground clearance.
- Fuel economy is not a priority. Anything up to 14 would suffice.
- Price notwithstanding, spare parts should be easily available.

I think the Corolla fits these requirements easily. However it's very difficult to screen well maintained examples in the used car market here.

Originally Posted by Swapnil4585 (Post 3859352)
I am in agreement with your concerns on the Skoda reliability. So, have put those cars out of the list.

I've owned a diesel car for over 8 years and 1.3L kilometers. So now want to buy a big engine (1500-1800cc) petrol car. My requirements are a combination of some simple and some unique -

- Most important criteria : Should have better low end torque. Better enough to let the car crawl in 1st gear without accelerator input (Skoda Rapid like).
- Should seat 5 comfortably and must have a spacious boot.
- Safety features must be present.
- The car should not bottom out when 4 or 5 people along with luggage, are on board. If it has / it has a provision for installing engine and petrol tank guard, it'd be better.
- High ground clearance.
- Fuel economy is not a priority. Anything up to 14 would suffice.
- Price notwithstanding, spare parts should be easily available.

I think the Corolla fits these requirements easily. However it's very difficult to screen well maintained examples in the used car market here.

Hey,
First of all, I'd say stay away from the civic. Pretty poor low end and low clearance are some of the things you'd be knowing. Fiesta is a good buy but 5 may be a squeeze,not the most spacious car around. Altis would've been perfect but you mentioned that its hard to come by so I'll leave that there. Try these- SX4 Vvt and Linea tjet. They aren't the most fuel efficient though.

Originally Posted by Divyendu Sharma (Post 3858530)
Hello Guys

I am planning to sell my Swift ZDI (Manfactured DEC 2011) next month.The car has run 67000 kms backed up by full service record.What Price should I ask for my car in Chandigarh region? :)

Hey Divyendu, Swift has some really excellent re-sale atleast here in Chandigarh. I was astonished when I came to know when early this year one of my cousin sold his 2010 Swift VDI with 80k on odometer for 3.75Lakhs. You should easily get anything around 4.3 - 4.5Lakhs considering yours is a ZDI and post face-lifted one. Maybe even more if you are able to strike a nice deal. Cheers.

Have bought a 2006 Swift VXI with the following specifications

>odo- 53.5k (70% driven in highways)
> single owner
>post purchase additions includes:
Service DONE AT RNS motors

What should have been a good price to pay for this??

Originally Posted by 2000rpm (Post 3860235)

Why ask? Just enjoy what you bought.
Do not spoil the fun by asking this. You will get quotes on both sides of the spectrum.

Originally Posted by 2000rpm (Post 3860235)

>odo- 53.5k (70% driven in highways)

> single owner

>post purchase additions includes:
  • K&N cool air intake system
  • K&N air filter
  • Performance Headers
  • Spoiler
  • Speed modification alloys - 205/65
  • yokohoma r1 drive tyres changes at 35k kms
  • sony double din player (No USB, CD + Aux + Cassette :D)
  • 13" pioneer woofer (which will cover 70% of teh space at the rear)
  • JBL amplifier
  • JBL speakers
  • very good quality faux leather seat covers
  • New battery Amaron 35AH, 5 years warrenty bought 20 days ago

Service DONE AT RNS motors

Good buy!
Seems like an enthusiast's machine.

Congratulations !! And as rightly said dont worry about the price and enjoy the ride.