Team-BHP - The "USED" Car Price Check Thread

-   -   The "USED" Car Price Check Thread (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian-car-scene/93778-used-car-price-check-thread-410.html)

Originally Posted by rbarney (Post 2805062)
How much should a 2003 model Indigo LS (9 years old) cost? Mileage is nearly 78k, Tyres changed nearly 7K KMs back (Bridgestone Tubeless), and battery - nearly 2 months back. The car is in fair condition, still used as my daily commute and still gives ~16 KMPL. All service records available and I am the first owner. Car is Bangalore registered and will be selling in Bangalore.

This went for 1,50,000/- . This will hopefully help others price the car right / buy at the right price despite carwale evaluations being far lower as were fellow members guesses in this forum. The thing with carwale valuation is, they are "indicative". A lot depends on the condition of the individual car, maintenance, seller / buyer profile, how well you can negotiate, desperation for selling etc so they should remain indicative and not taken as gospel.

Originally Posted by rbarney (Post 2976791)
This went for 1,50,000/- . This will hopefully help others price the car right / buy at the right price despite carwale evaluations being far lower as were fellow members guesses in this forum. The thing with carwale valuation is, they are "indicative". A lot depends on the condition of the individual car, maintenance, seller / buyer profile, how well you can negotiate, desperation for selling etc so they should remain indicative and not taken as gospel.

I must say you have got a good deal. I agree with you @ carwale evaluation. For your car I got the below prices, so the best being 1.37 lacs for car in excellent condition (individual buyer). Since you have put new tyres, bettery etc, & the car was in excellent condition 1.5 lacs is the perfect price. BTW what did you upgrade to?

The "USED" Car Price Check Thread-used-indigo-03-price.jpg

Originally Posted by AutoIndian (Post 2976957)
I must say you have got a good deal. I agree with you @ carwale evaluation. For your car I got the below prices, so the best being 1.37 lacs for car in excellent condition (individual buyer). Since you have put new tyres, bettery etc, & the car was in excellent condition 1.5 lacs is the perfect price. BTW what did you upgrade to?

I would be getting delivery of Ertiga ZDi by about mid week next week. Details / ownership review would follow. Had booked it ~1 week back and delivery was promised in 3-4 weeks.

Kindly help me with right price for following in Mumbai

E240 petrol January 2004 83000 kms
Well maintained , few scratches
2nd owner on paper (transferred from parent to son)

Originally Posted by vikramvicky1984 (Post 2977082)
E240 petrol January 2004 83000 kms
Well maintained , few scratches
2nd owner on paper (transferred from parent to son)

Hello Vicky,
To be frank, I'm no guru of 2nd hand MB prices. Since it's a 2 owner car(in paper) and which has seen quite a no. of miles, my guess for a fair price would be around the 9L mark.
Kindly note that my guess work could be way off the mark.

Varun

Originally Posted by Jignesh (Post 2973985)
Hello Narayan,

Congrats for the new Car & also thank you for updating the forum on purchase price.

Good to know that you have negotiated the Price as suggested by us.

Nothing much to worry about & you will definitely have a nice time driving this Diesel machine. Wish you happy journey & your new Car & lot of savings as this is a Diesel driven vehicle.

Do post pictures & your initial ownership report.

Thanks Jignesh. Just picked up the car and the documents. Surpirisingly noted that the car was purchased at just about 4.9lakhs back in 2009. So the owner has got a pretty good deal ( despite TATA resale value issues ). At the price of 3.65 that i bought it at, it translates to just 25% depreciation in the first 3 years which is very good. Now I am wondering what the owner was smoking when he quoted 4.5 lakhs originally :Shockked:

hey guys, another used car valuation required.
Hyundai i10
Sportz AT
June 2011
~11000Kms done
Will be buying from a dealer
in Mumbai, non-Mumbai registration, will need to spend another 11K on the octroi and registration as suggested by the dealer.
Dealer offering 2 free services.

Originally Posted by kmadhok (Post 2978126)
hey guys, another used car valuation required.
Hyundai i10
Sportz AT
June 2011
~11000Kms done
Will be buying from a dealer
in Mumbai, non-Mumbai registration, will need to spend another 11K on the octroi and registration as suggested by the dealer.
Dealer offering 2 free services.

Hello madhok,
Thr price of i10 AT Sportz in 2011 would have been around 5.7L. The first owner must have got a discount of 30~40k‘s. So the final OTR price would be around 5.4L. Since the car is one and half year old, the fair price would be around 4.25~4.5L.

Dont get carried away by the “2 free services“ offer. It‘s just an eyewash. In most cases, they just do a car wash. Oils and filtres are charged. Labour charges are waived, which is not much in the first place. Belive in the service, only if you are buying the car from Hyundai Advantage.

BTW, how much is the seller qouting?

Hope this helps,
Varun

Getting a September 2009 i10 sportz for 2.70 in Mumbai. The car is in very good condition and less mileage(25000). But it is not registered in mumbai and no insurance is there as the owner will take benefit of NCB(35%).

Is this a good price considering I will have to pay for Octroi in mumbai and insurance?

Swapnil

Originally Posted by swapnil.rahate (Post 2978734)

Getting a September 2009 i10 sportz for 2.70 in Mumbai. The car is in very good condition and less mileage(25000). But it is not registered in mumbai and no insurance is there as the owner will take benefit of NCB(35%).

Is this a good price considering I will have to pay for Octroi in mumbai and insurance?

Swapnil

yes. It is a good and fair price. The new Sportz will all discounts (approx 50k) etc is 4.90ish on road Mumbai.

Your cost = car cost + 4.5 % octroi + insurance + transfer
Your price= 2.7 + 12k + 10k + 2k = 294000/-

This is a fair price for both parties.

Originally Posted by powertrain (Post 2978577)
Hello madhok,
Thr price of i10 AT Sportz in 2011 would have been around 5.7L. The first owner must have got a discount of 30~40k‘s. So the final OTR price would be around 5.4L. Since the car is one and half year old, the fair price would be around 4.25~4.5L.

Dont get carried away by the “2 free services“ offer. It‘s just an eyewash. In most cases, they just do a car wash. Oils and filtres are charged. Labour charges are waived, which is not much in the first place. Belive in the service, only if you are buying the car from Hyundai Advantage.

BTW, how much is the seller qouting?

Hope this helps,
Varun

Thanks again Varun. I wrote the post before actually visiting the dealer. At that time his quote on carwale was 4.15. By the time I reached him, about 90 mins later, he had increased it to 4.85. The car was not in good condition, the interiors were soiled, the exterior had marks. I wouldn't even pay 4.15 for it. This is from carnation Mira Road.

Originally Posted by narayan (Post 2977298)
At the price of 3.65 that i bought it at, it translates to just 25% depreciation in the first 3 years which is very good. Now I am wondering what the owner was smoking when he quoted 4.5 lakhs originally :Shockked:

Hello Narayan,

That is purely because of huge demand of used Diesel Small Cars currently. Just to give you a example, 2010 Tata Manza Petrol cars are going for Rs. 3 lacs while 2010 Manza Diesel are cars going for Rs. 5 lacs & more. Same is for Vista & other small cars.

I don't know how long this will continue, but as long as there is huge difference in Price & Diesel prices, small Diesel used cars are going to command high price.

Originally Posted by kmadhok (Post 2978864)
This is from carnation Mira Road.

Hello Kmadhok,

Just be little careful while dealing with Carnation. There are couple of bad experiences people have posted in past. I was also about to fall in their trap in 2010 (Carnation Chembur), but somehow escaped.

Guys, how much can i expect for a December 2008 registered Alto Lxi, Pearl Silver Color done 40000 Kms. Vehicle is in good condition with some minor scratches here n there.
I checked with Maruti True Value and they are quoting between 1.5 L to 1.75 L. Is it a good price ?

Originally Posted by abhi3284 (Post 2979383)
Guys, how much can i expect for a December 2008 registered Alto Lxi, Pearl Silver Color done 40000 Kms. Vehicle is in good condition with some minor scratches here n there.
I checked with Maruti True Value and they are quoting between 1.5 L to 1.75 L. Is it a good price ?

Hello abhi3284,
The price quoted by M.T.V seems to be on a lower side. For a car done 40000 kms, a fair price would be around 2-2.1L. Try selling to an individual & you will get a better price.
Hope this helps,
Varun

Originally Posted by abhi3284 (Post 2979383)
Guys, how much can i expect for a December 2008 registered Alto Lxi, Pearl Silver Color done 40000 Kms.

Hello Abhi,

It will be difficult to get more than Rs. 2 lacs for your December 2008 Alto Lxi with 40,000 on ODO. Try to find a direct buyer to get a better price.

The price quoted by Maruti True Value is little on lower side, but anyways, Used Car Dealers will not offer you more than Rs. 1.85 for your Car.