Old 23rd August 2024, 21:58   #15871

Re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread

2020 Honda City 5th generation
Model - zx cvt petrol (top model)
7000 kms run
Around 4 years old now.
How much would be the price range for this car.
Old 23rd August 2024, 22:35   #15872

Infractions: 0/1 (4)

Originally Posted by pd07 View Post
2020 Honda City 5th generation
Model - zx cvt petrol (top model)
7000 kms run
Around 4 years old now.
How much would be the price range for this car.
Considering it's a 4 year old Honda City, I feel ₹13.5-₹14L would be a decent price.
Old 23rd August 2024, 23:53   #15873

Originally Posted by sharmanova View Post
You can expect offers anywhere between ₹3.6-₹4 Lakhs.
No way he's getting anywhere close to your range. Realistic price would be close to half of your figures. For 3.6 to 4 you can get 2013-14 model years that too diesel.
Stolidus500 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th August 2024, 04:53   #15874

I own 1st Gen Creta 1.6 e+ Petrol manual transmission.
Mfg yr:2017
Reg mmyyyy:08/2017
Odo:51k
HR-26
Non-accidental

I’m the 1st owner but due to company lease policy, after completion of 4 years it had to be transferred and now it says 2nd owner on the RC. How much is the fair resale value?

Last edited by Turbanator : 24th August 2024 at 05:58. Reason: capitalisation
Old 24th August 2024, 12:05   #15875

Originally Posted by Stolidus500 View Post
No way he's getting anywhere close to your range. Realistic price would be close to half of your figures. For 3.6 to 4 you can get 2013-14 model years that too diesel.
I feel the same way. It may depend on the market, and in the South, it might be possible due to higher taxes (and possibly lower availability), but not in Delhi-NCR. I tried getting a quote on Spinny, and the value ranged from 1.9 to 2.3L, which seems fair. However, I can see many cars on OLX listed for over 3L in similar condition
Old 29th August 2024, 09:45   #15876

I am selling my Pearl White Dec 2023 Seltos Facelift DCT GTX Plus. 8,200 KM completed. Would need very less use of car for the next two years, and whatever need may arise, my father's Baleno would cover for it for next year and for 1.5 years I plan to use a used city hatchback/small car. Post that may get the real Seltos replacement. Doing all this so that I can offset the loan amount of recently purchased property.

How much price should I expect? The car has EW for 5 years, 0 dep comprehensive insurance and dual LED Laser foglamps worth 23K installed.
Old 29th August 2024, 13:36   #15877

Infractions: 0/1 (4)

Originally Posted by 07CR View Post
I am selling my Pearl White Dec 2023 Seltos Facelift DCT GTX Plus. 8,200 KM completed.
You can expect offers anywhere between ₹18-₹19 lacs.
sharmanova is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 1st September 2024, 11:32   #15878

A Bit long post

Backstory: My trusted Mahindra Scorpio LX has left my garage. So, the next car hunt has begun. As it is customary for a petrol head, I am scanning the pre-owned space for value deals. So here goes what I am looking at:
  1. Cars not older than 4 or 5 years. It should sustain minimum 7-8 years of hasslefree ownership
  2. Low run (Not more than 30k-40k on the ODO)
  3. Should be AT. I am ok with Petrol or Diesel. My average running would be around 10k a year
  4. Well maintained (goes without saying!) and preferably having an extended warranty in place
  5. A 7 seater preferred, but am ok with a spacious 5 seater with good enough boot space
  6. Budget of 15L-20L (am ok to stretch if I get hold of a good premium vehicle)
  7. I am considering cars in Bangalore. Based on the market, availability and offerings, I have made this analysis

Cars that I am not keen on
  1. New Tata Safari – I love its design language, but the new Safari comes with its own build / software related issues. Haven’t found anything of value from pricing point in the facelifted version
  2. ScoripoN – Would have been a natural progression. But, 15 years of body on frame ownership, I am looking for something else. In addition, the ScorpioN hasn’t grown on me like the 2nd gen Scorpio
  3. Toyota Innova Crysta – Pre-owned premium is insanely high in Bangalore and for my price point, you get 7 or 8-year-old cars that doesn’t make sense from a financial perspective.
  4. MG Hector – Not keen about it
  5. Hyundai Alcazar – Comes with the erstwhile Tucson Petrol engine. Makes a good proposition, but the design and shape doesn’t inspire me much
So, with a big list ruled out what are the cars that I am exploring currently

XUV 500 W11 AWD (2019 & above model).

Pros
  • Technically the 2018 facelift that had most of the issues ironed out. Finding out a low run car is nearly difficult.
  • Gives me the flexibility of the 7 seater and comfort of the 5 seater
  • Comes with all bells and whistles. AWD, connectivity, TPMS, reverse camera, sensors, et. All
  • Service network across India

Cons
  • Finding an AWD version is next to impossible in BLR. Also, there is significant premium of AWD. Price points touches almost 16L which I feel for an outgoing generation is high
  • Many cars are 2nd owner cars and if I assume my ownership period, the value of the diminishes significantly.
  • You get only white color (which I don’t prefer)

Honda CR-V 2.4 AWD

My initial intention of looking at this car was the value it would bring. Not everyone loves the design language, but I did check out a couple of cars

Pros
  • Solid construction by Honda. Drives like a car I liked its dynamics
  • Practical 5 seater with the flexibility of a 7 seater
  • Premium interiors & feature loaded

Cons
  1. Not much of 2018 & above model available in BLR
  2. Predominantly 2WD is what is available (I’m ok with 2WD)
  3. High mileage. Minimum one I saw as 65k on the ODO
  4. Still carries a premium. I saw a diesel one available in one of the portals quoted for 23L. Not worth at all
  5. Not sure about the spares availability and support. Spares are already high for this car

Jeep Compass Petrol
This came in my search. 2019 & above models were available in the 17L-23L bracket
Pros
  • Jeep character. Love this design and the aggressive stance
  • Competent Petrol engine.
Cons
  • Not a comfortable 5 seater. I found the middle occupant could struggle over a long drive
  • No 4x4. Though not a showstopper, I thought it would have been good on Jeep to provide a 4WD on the petrol
  • Diesel is priced above 25L for most cases where the car has low mileage
  • Service support is question mark still

Hyundai Tucson GLS AT Petrol
This came late in my radar. The 2019 or 2020 facelift had some good featured added in. This goes over my current budget, but if I find a good car, I may be willing to go shade above 20L.

Pros:
  • Solid construction. Drives like a car, but still has some SUV characteristics
  • 2.0L Petrol engine mated with 6 speed AT that delivers 155BHP. Pretty sedate, but still good enough for city and highway
  • Driving modes, ESP, Electronic parking brakes, apple car play, android auto, cruise control
  • Good comfort for 5 people with a generous boot

Cons:
  • No AWD on petrol. Diesels have run more than 60k on the odo
  • Outgoing model, though it shares some parts with the Alcazar, I presume spares wouldn’t be an issue. But should consider it
  • Is it worth to plonk 20L plus on a car that is past its prime?

Apart from the above, I love the Kodiaq and Tiguan, but the used car price in BLR touches 30L. I can consider a new XUV700 or Innova Hycross at that cost.

Are there any other car suggestions you can think about. I know I can look for competent sedans too – Corolla Altis, Camry, Octavia or Superb? I am not sure how the transition could be for me as a driver as I have driven a SUV for the last 15 years. I continue to explore this space.

Do put in your suggestions and also let me know what would be the ideal pricing for the cars I have shortlisted

Thanks for taking time to read through my post
diwakarmuthu is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st September 2024, 17:08   #15879

What would be the ideal buying price for a 2007 Honda Civic V-AT done about 70k kms and in good condition?

Car is BLR registered, but has been moved to Kerala, first owner and fitness just renewed with valid papers.

Also, is it worth it? I’ve heard these were very reliable cars and the relatively low mileage is tempting but I’m not sure of the upkeep.
Old 1st September 2024, 19:08   #15880

Re: Nissan X-Trail vs Skoda Kodiaq vs Jeep Meridian vs Volkswagen Tiguan vs Others

A question slightly off topic. What would be the ideal price for a pre-owned 2021 Hyundai Tucson GLS Petrol. Well maintained and low run car?
Old 2nd September 2024, 21:04   #15881

Hi Bhpians,
Planning to buy a second hand Swift dezire from known resources who has maintained the car well. Below are the details:
Car make and model: Swift Dezire zxi plus AMT
Year and Month of manufacturing: 2017 Dec
Year and Month of Registration: 2018 January
Odo reading: ~84000 kms

Suspension has issues for which Maruti said it will cost 30k.

What can be the best price that this can can be brought at. Please provide your valuable input at the earliest. Thank you.
govs is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2024, 18:11   #15882

Originally Posted by ashkamath View Post
OTR price in 2022 is 42L
Apply 10% depreciation for 2023 - Rs. 42L - Rs 4.2L = Rs. 37.8L
Apply 10% depreciation for 2024 - Rs 37.8L - Rs 3.78 = Rs. 34.02 L or say 34L.
I'd like to modify this algorithm a little bit.

The car loses 10% value the moment it leaves the showroom, registered to someone. That would be 4.2L.
It will lose another 8-10% by the end of 1st year. That would be another 3.7L. I would value this car at 34L at the end of 1 year. Would reduce another 10% for the 2nd year - 3.4L, giving a final figure of ~30-31L.
Geo_Ipe is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2024, 19:14   #15883

A 45,000 km run (genuine numbers, as per a known source at MASS) 2012 model Ertiga Vdi, originally from Delhi but currently re-registered in Karnataka is being offered at ₹5,35,000/-.

As it was initially on lease and subsequently changed hands twice, the buyer will be owner number 4 in the records. I feel anything more than ₹4,00,000 isn't worth paying for this.

Thoughts please.
dailydriver is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2024, 19:38   #15884

Originally Posted by dailydriver View Post
A 45,000 km run (genuine numbers, as per a known source at MASS) 2012 model Ertiga Vdi, originally from Delhi but currently re-registered in Karnataka is being offered at ₹5,35,000/-.

As it was initially on lease and subsequently changed hands twice, the buyer will be owner number 4 in the records. I feel anything more than ₹4,00,000 isn't worth paying for this.

Thoughts please.
Not an answer to your question but I suspect there will be takers for the car at the quoted price. A low run diesel Ertiga would be a favourite for yellow plate drivers and they will lap it up.
ashis89 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th September 2024, 19:43   #15885

What would be the ideal price for Landrover Freelander 2 2009, 112K kms driven, 1st owner. Also, is it worth to buy this car or shall I look for 2014-15 cars.