Old 17th October 2011, 07:17   #1036

re: Tata Merlin - Safari replacement? *UPDATE* Uncovered Pics on Pg 90

The Dash looks very dull to me. May be it looks good when it’s fully completed. This might be the base version since I could not find any steering mounted controls. Even for a base model with a price tag of 10L with this dash, it will not be good VFM.If this dash is given in Sumo Grande then it would be good. But for new Safari it’s not the right dash.
Sudan_NFS is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th October 2011, 08:18   #1037

Originally Posted by Sudan_NFS View Post
The Dash looks very dull to me. May be it looks good when it’s fully completed. This might be the base version since I could not find any steering mounted controls. Even for a base model with a price tag of 10L with this dash, it will not be good VFM.If this dash is given in Sumo Grande then it would be good. But for new Safari it’s not the right dash.
This most likely be an incomplete dash. There are black patches in the steering wheel where the audio controls should be in place. Similarly, the headunit should also be deliberately left while testing.
Having Airbag spot/area in passenger side, I assume the airbag should also be in the driver side [no SRS mark though].
Old 17th October 2011, 08:25   #1038

The dash looks very dull and boring to me too. It doesnt look like belonging to a 10 lakh car even considering it to be the base version. Looks like a decade old design. Hope, this s not the final outcome
Old 17th October 2011, 09:17   #1039

Originally Posted by heatednemz View Post
not a regular poster on team-bhp, but I do frequent this site very often.
since I have taken so much from this website. Its only fair I give something back in return. Here is one more picture of the interior (this time with the TATA logo). I got them through a friend . I do not know the location or time of when this was clicked.
Thank you!. The Dash board design is very plain jane. Nothing inspiring about it. Quality seems to be improved. The speedo and tachometer look to be straight lift from existing model. Cutout for the music system looks to be little more than a single DIN size. So possibly a integrated music system should be used. And when Tata offers blue 5 on its lower models like Indica and Manza why not such features on the Safari/Merlin.
Old 17th October 2011, 09:41   #1040

Originally Posted by Sudan_NFS View Post
Right. It would look OK in utilitarian Grande. I don't understand the obsession of Tata/Mahindra with false wood trims. Who like these now a days? These belong to buses, not cars.
Old 17th October 2011, 11:20   #1041

Originally Posted by mayuresh View Post

1. Space. Particularly can you carry stuff like kids' bicycle along with other baggage on a trip? I think you can do that in a Safari.

2. Driver's seating height. Not sure about XUV vs Safari on this. (I'm not referring to vehicle's height. Rather the seating position of driver - more from point of view of getting a good road view.)

3. Did not get the ground clearance figure of XUV to the extent I searched. How does that compare? (I'm sure a few mms don't matter in the whole equation. Just curious.)
I am a safari owner and did a TD of XUV yesterday, so might be able to clear some of your doubts.

1. If you fold the 3rd row seats, XUV offers almost same luggage space as safari. I feel the height would be an issue if you try to put a cycle there as it already has the seat folded.

2. Driver's seating height is rather sedan type, it wont give you a safari like posture and view even at the max height settings. I would say its like a taller sedan with a better road view.

3. The person at the dealership told its 220mm, which I am not so sure about.
LionX is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th October 2011, 13:42   #1042

I think after looking at the Mahindra XUV500 all our expectations have gone high!! Nothing equal or higher than XUV500 will our minds accept now. Mahindra has suddenly raised the levels in this SUV price range. Tata motors now have lots to match with XUV500.
Old 17th October 2011, 13:44   #1043

No wonder why TATA did not launch Merlin :-)). This is no where close to XUV dash (even with those ugly air vents!!).
Old 17th October 2011, 13:51   #1044

Originally Posted by puneetghai1978 View Post
I think after looking at the Mahindra XUV500 all our expectations have gone high!! Nothing equal or higher than XUV500 will our minds accept now. Mahindra has suddenly raised the levels in this SUV price range. Tata motors now have lots to match with XUV500.
Rightly said pneet. These are exciting times for us customers and hats off to mahindra for creating such a situation where even a customer initially going for a 10 lakh expensive fortunner will stop, look and try the XUV and may even end up buying it
Old 17th October 2011, 14:19   #1045

If this is Merlin's final dash better TATA price it below 9L it looks truely cheap
Old 17th October 2011, 14:59   #1046

Originally Posted by manasmadaan View Post
Rightly said pneet. These are exciting times for us customers and hats off to mahindra for creating such a situation where even a customer initially going for a 10 lakh expensive fortunner will stop, look and try the XUV and may even end up buying it
Its up to Tata (easier) and Toyota (come out of the we are Toyota image) to match the expectations now.

May be Tata should shelve the current Merlin and do a re-design
Old 17th October 2011, 15:31   #1047

Originally Posted by m_upreti View Post
Its up to Tata (easier) and Toyota (come out of the we are Toyota image) to match the expectations now.

May be Tata should shelve the current Merlin and do a re-design
No, they should relaunch the Safari as Merlin or whatever appropriate brand name and shock the market with a starting ex showroom price of 6.8 lacs, that includes ABS and drivers airbag atleast.

Shouldn't be impossible. I bought my Safari in 2008 Dec. The credit crisis had just stung economies all over, car sales were depressed plus it was December. And I got a great deal on Safari LX. Purchased it for under Rs 7.7 lacs on road.

Last edited by rrsteer : 17th October 2011 at 15:32.
Old 17th October 2011, 15:42   #1048

Originally Posted by rrsteer View Post
No, they should relaunch the Safari as Merlin or whatever appropriate brand name and shock the market with a starting ex showroom price of 6.8 lacs, that includes ABS and drivers airbag atleast.

Shouldn't be impossible. I bought my Safari in 2008 Dec. The credit crisis had just stung economies all over, car sales were depressed plus it was December. And I got a great deal on Safari LX. Purchased it for under Rs 7.7 lacs on road.
Given the fact that TATA has been pricing high all their recent refresh launches and on UVs TATA has recently priced its refresh Sumo Gold GX at 6.86L without ABS, it will be wishful thinking for Merlin to be launched with ABS and below 7L price tag. TATA is cornered and must act sensibly now.

2008 December price was low due to reduced Excise duty hence it was possible for LX at 7.7L OTR. we may get there again by this december 2011 once again as per prevailing world economic situation
Old 17th October 2011, 17:03   #1049

after seeing all the spy shots, I still prefer the current Safari.
7.7L OTR is good price for LX model. only then Tata can take some market share of XUV.
its better if they dont come out with the Merlin, and bring a all new Safari(what ever branding its going to be) later next year.

Last edited by arvindmanju : 17th October 2011 at 17:05.
Old 17th October 2011, 17:21   #1050

Originally Posted by rrsteer View Post

Lets hope so they wake up to the reality