Old 4th April 2010, 18:28   #166

Originally Posted by avishar View Post
If they decide to plonk the 1.2 tsi engine in the fabia,give it a few more bells and whistles,and price it at around jazz territory or higher will it get buyers?
Well yes, not large volumes, but still VW would have covered both bases with the comparatively cheaper Polo and a powerful, premium Fabia.

Makes sense to me
Old 5th April 2010, 21:29   #167

Facelifted VW Passat unveiling in Paris this year?

According to Dutch publication Auto International, Volkswagen will launch a new Passat mid-size sedan at the upcoming Paris Motor Show in September. Further, VW could have both the sedan and station wagon variants ready for deliveries by the end of this year in Europe.

The new Passat will have no extreme modifications. Components like the roof structure and body work will remain the same. Addition will come in the form of new lighting system, active cruise control and reverse camera.

Engines displacing 1.2 to 2.0 liters will form the power arsenal. Like the rest of the industry, the higher displacement V6 engine is shown the door and replacement is in the form of hybrid and electric models, but only on the next generation Jetta that arrives in 2015.

Source – Auto International

The refreshed Passat will be a minor model change. The replacement comes in 2015.
VW to bring in its TSi & CRDI engines EDIT: Now launched-passat10a2.jpg  

Old 6th April 2010, 03:50   #168

Touareg

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
Somebody I know intends to buy a car in this price range pretty shortly.

So here is his question.

Consider that the Honda Accord now costs 23 lacs (this is a corporate registration) and has everything in it, including AT. And a VERY comfortable rear seat.

Now consider that this person can buy a VW Passat for 23L too. On road corporate reg.
BUT the VW has no AT, only MT.

What would you buy and why?
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

P.S. The Superb is not an option.
I'd tell that 'someone' to buy a Touareg .. the V10 TDi
Old 6th April 2010, 09:36   #169

Is there something wrong with the website. It doesnt show updated engine for Jetta( old PD engine is shown).

Jetta

High-pressure diesel

The 1.9 litre TDI with ‘Pumpe Düse’ direct injection technology eliminates any compromise – you can have performance as well as exceptional economy. It develops impressive torque of 250 Nm at 1900 rpm and accelerates from 0 to 100 kph in just 11.8 seconds.
Old 6th April 2010, 10:18   #170

Is VW selling CRDi in select cities and TDI in others?
Old 6th April 2010, 19:04   #171

Pics of passat TSI
equipment levels are the same, only difference is a 1.8 petrol with a 6 speed manual gearbox and a 5 lakh rupee price cut as compared to 2.0 TDI CR diesel with DSG, which is now discontinued.
VW to bring in its TSi & CRDI engines EDIT: Now launched-dsc02698.jpg  

VW to bring in its TSi & CRDI engines EDIT: Now launched-dsc02699.jpg  

VW to bring in its TSi & CRDI engines EDIT: Now launched-dsc02700.jpg  

VW to bring in its TSi & CRDI engines EDIT: Now launched-dsc02701.jpg  

VW to bring in its TSi & CRDI engines EDIT: Now launched-dsc02702.jpg  

VW to bring in its TSi & CRDI engines EDIT: Now launched-dsc02703.jpg  

Old 6th April 2010, 19:14   #172
oss

Originally Posted by shatrughna View Post
Is there something wrong with the website. It doesnt show updated engine for Jetta( old PD engine is shown).

Jetta

High-pressure diesel

The 1.9 litre TDI with ‘Pumpe Düse’ direct injection technology eliminates any compromise – you can have performance as well as exceptional economy. It develops impressive torque of 250 Nm at 1900 rpm and accelerates from 0 to 100 kph in just 11.8 seconds.

VW is still sleeping - may be resting after the launch of Polo. Skoda has already updated their website with the details of Laura & Superb TDI-CR engines. And guess what, the Laura L&K gets the 140 BHP version of the CR engine

May be VW management is thinking of keeping Skoda as the premium brand in India, and the VW as volume badge.

If only Skoda improves their service.....
Old 8th April 2010, 14:35   #173

Originally Posted by oss View Post
May be VW management is thinking of keeping Skoda as the premium brand in India, and the VW as volume badge.
Or is it this way? That Skoda will be the super performing brand, with suspect reliability? And VW will be bread and butter brand? Technology tested with Skoda will be migrated to VW?
Old 8th April 2010, 18:58   #174

Originally Posted by oss View Post
VW is still sleeping - may be resting after the launch of Polo. Skoda has already updated their website with the details of Laura & Superb TDI-CR engines. And guess what, the Laura L&K gets the 140 BHP version of the CR engine

If only Skoda improves their service.....
This is the problem with VW group. It is appalling to see they don’t even bother to get the websites updated on time. Maybe they think that Indian customers will just value the German tag and create volume sales for them. And with the attention grabbed by poorly spec-ed models (starting from the Polo) they’ve every reason to feel right about their thoughts.

The Skoda website even more painful. They’ve the some pages updated, while rest of the website refers to the old models.

Just on a comparison note, it is quite refreshing to see how Ford is now treating the Indian market. The micro-site for Figo was ready much before the actual product launch.
Old 8th April 2010, 19:21   #175

Originally Posted by vb-san View Post
The Skoda website even more painful. They’ve the some pages updated, while rest of the website refers to the old models.

Laura and Superb microsites have been updated fully IMHO. The main site listing the prices (which actually uses carbuy.com to fetch the prices) are still referring to old models/prices.
Old 13th April 2010, 17:22   #176

So in effect are we saying that prices have not been released?
I wanted know the Jetta pricing.

I tried look at all the pages of this thread, but could not find this info.
Sorry if I missed.
Old 13th April 2010, 17:48   #177

Originally Posted by ampere View Post
So in effect are we saying that prices have not been released?
I wanted know the Jetta pricing.

I tried look at all the pages of this thread, but could not find this info.
Sorry if I missed.
Prices have been released. You can call up local VW dealer. In Pune the Comfortline MT is at 17L. 70K cheaper than older PD comfortline DSG.

From the Laura revised prices, there is marginal - 4-5K price hike in MT versions. In AT version its 25-30K if I remember correctly because the DSG is also being upgraded (not to a 7 speed as the CR engine is high torque which only gets the 6 speed but there is some kind of upgrade).
Old 16th April 2010, 00:26   #178

Originally Posted by alto99 View Post
Prices have been released. You can call up local VW dealer. In Pune the Comfortline MT is at 17L. 70K cheaper than older PD comfortline DSG.

From the Laura revised prices, there is marginal - 4-5K price hike in MT versions. In AT version its 25-30K if I remember correctly because the DSG is also being upgraded (not to a 7 speed as the CR engine is high torque which only gets the 6 speed but there is some kind of upgrade).
It will be interesting to know what kind of upgrade is done in DSG- if its still 6 speed- what and how much difference it makes to justify a 20-30k hike.
FE comparison between a PD and a CRDi engine will be eagerly awaited. If the fine tuning is done in DSG to adjust for the difference in the power-torque -rpm pattern in the two engines, that can be understood- beyond that - what else could be the reason?
Old 18th April 2010, 13:07   #179

New VW Jetta CRDI/MT(comfortline) (My next Car)

Hi guys,
Have been thinking of buying a new car was all up for a SUv my all time dream a Fortuner ,was ready and finally dropped the idea as waiting period too high ,black was my colour which didnt appeal to my family members and white is impossible to get for another year .,\

Initially i didnt even bother to drop in at VW as i thought jetta had a very understated styling but as now my SUV dream is still in waiting i just thought of visiting. not at all intending to like the jetta and you won't beleive me i fell in love like they say "German Engineering dus auto"

The new car Trendline model with CRDI engine was there i never had a idea they were launching the crdi as was not keeping track of automobiles recently and it had been there for just 3 days and the salesman said if you book it now youll be the first one in India and i laughed for myself "good saleman " nows how to get his vehicles sold , cutting down the crap
my first impressions(trendline)
1.interior did'nt appeal all grey and dark
2.seats comfy i am 6'2'' imagine
3.plastics did'nt appeal to me as i am used to my verna beige
4.features are superb ( in comfortline they are ultimate)
5.coul'nt get a test drive as that was the only car that arrived.
6.boot space enormous ( 2 people can sleep beleive me)
7.2 way climatizer (individual settings for driver and co passenger with rear vents)
8.over all i was interested in the comfortline which was not there.
9. delivery time is just 15 days beautiful ,i am loving VW already.
10.waiting for a test drive to feel the new crdi engine.
11.no dsg option available for 6 months(as told by salesperson)

Asked for the price list in bangalore am interested to buy the comfortline which is 2 lakhs more than the trendline was 19.6 lakh on road
It is really worth for
The extra features you get over the trendline.

VW to bring in its TSi & CRDI engines EDIT: Now launched-untitled2.jpgVW to bring in its TSi & CRDI engines EDIT: Now launched-untitled.jpg

I think when you are buying a car in this range there is no compromising in features like this

Now i am really happy that the black colur in fortuner did not appeal to my people

The safety features are wonderful i even tried the skoda but for my height the front seat comfort is not great so i decided jetta will be my car

Coming to the colour options 2 new colours have come in shade of blue
i have cornered onto silver and campenella white
lets see i havnet seen the other colour i wish to see all the colours before i finalize

coming to mileage the sales person says 16 highways
in the crdi power has increased a bit 5 bhp and 20 nm torque than the origianl pd tdi
that is 110 bhp and 270 nm torque
i even could'nt get a broucher suprising as they have not yet arrived.

and importantly no DSG option for atleat 6 months he says as they have out sold and the gearbox is high on demand.

I have asked him for a test drive this wednesday he said he'll call back.
Will get back to the review once i get a test drive.
Old 18th April 2010, 17:07   #180

Jetta 2.0 L Crdi Specs In A Nutshell

Jetta 2.0 L Diesel specs

Jetta TDI 2.0 Trendline & Comfortline M/T
4-Cylinder Common Rail Diesel Engine
Max. Power output 81KW (110PS) @ 4200rpm
Max. Torque 250 Nm @1500-2500 rpm
Transmission 5-speed manual gearbox
Standard Features
Exterior
•16-inch “Toronto” alloy wheels with 205/55 R 16 tyres •Colour-keyed door mirror housings and door handles •Door mirrors with integral turn signals •Halogen main headlings and turn signals under one clear glass cover •Galvanised body •Radiator grille and frame in chrome •Tail lights with LED technology •Colour-keyed bumpers and rubbing strips •Green-tinted, heat-insulating windows •Chrome trim on side windows.
Interior
• “Vienna” leather seat upholstery •AC vents at rear •Storage compartents with lid on headlining •“Anthracite” Metallic inserts for instruments panel, centre console and door panel trim •Driver’s seat height adjustments •Lockable, illuminated glove compartment with cooling facility •Asymmetrically split-folding backrest Front center armrest with storage compartment • •Deluxe sports seats at front •Electrically adjustable lumbar support for front seats. •Rear center armrest.
Safety
• 8 Airbags • Safety- optimized front head restraints • Anti-lock Braking System (ABS) • Electronic stabilization programmed (ESP) •Electronic immobilizer •Fog lights • “Plus” anti-theft warning system. •Traction control system (ASR)
Comfort
• “Climatronic” air conditioner with 2-zone temperature control •Multi-function display • Electric windows at front and rear •Central locking with radio remote control •Electro-mechanical power assisted steering •2 reading lights at front •Electrically adjustable, retractable and heated door mirrors •Luggage compartments lid with automatic opening mechanism •Steering column with height and rake adjustments. •Cruise control • RCD510 touch screen audio system with MP3 player, 6 CD changer, 10 Loudspeakers & built-in SD card •Leather-covered multi-function steering wheel with operating facility for display and audio system •Light and sight package: automatic driving light control with “coming home” and “leaving home” function, automatically dimming rear view mirror, 2 light in front footwell, • Rain sensor • “Plus” multi-function display.
Colours Available
•Candy White •Blue Graphite Pearl •Reflex Sliver Metallic •Heaven Blue Metallic •Deep Black Pearl •Shadow Blue Metallic
Fuel efficiency
19.53 Km/litre (As per VW claims)

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com