Old 21st December 2011, 16:56   #106

re: New Mitsubishi Pajero Sport! *UPDATE* Price reduced to 22.56 Lakh!

Here you go, an official announcement by HM-Mitsubishi for the launch of Pajero.

HM Mitsubishi to launch new Pajero in Q1 2012

Source: autotechreview.com

Last edited by gaurav_chopra04 : 21st December 2011 at 16:58.
gaurav_chopra04 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st December 2011, 17:09   #107

Yep, confirmed. Excerpts of official communication received from HM:

- The new Pajero will be launched in the first quarter of 2012.

- Mr. Manoj Jha, Managing Director of Hindustan Motors Limited, stated “We had decided to launch Pajero as well as new variants from the HM stable at the Auto Expo 2012 in New Delhi. However, some dislocation of operations at Mitsubishi Motors’ Thailand facility due to natural calamity and unexpected events compelled us to alter our plans for participation in the auto show.”
GTO is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 21st December 2011, 18:39   #108

I guess not much is expected of the new Pajero sport either, based on the current options in the market and previous record of out pricing themselves from substatial numbers.
Old 9th February 2012, 19:05   #109

Ok so I spoke to the dealer in mumbai. Aquest auto. No idea about launch date but has been told that the engine will be the 2.5d with manual tranny only. For now. So thats basically the same engine on my gen 1 pajero converted to common rail and modernised to meet current emission norms.
Old 11th February 2012, 20:01   #110

I have no interest in the Pajero Sport (for the same reason that I have no interest in the Fortuner or the Endeavour, which is that I don't want a load carrying pick up truck with a wagon body on it), but I am hoping that the introduction of the Pajero Sport will see the old pajero reduced to about 16 lacs.

Thats what I hope. What I expect is that the pajero will stay where it is, the Pajero Sport will be 26+, the Fortuner will continue to kick Mitsubishi's butt and will be joined in the butt kicking by the Chevrolet Trailblazer which is claimed to be on track for 17lacs for the 2.5L 150hp version.
Old 11th February 2012, 20:25   #111

Originally Posted by 53BHP View Post
Ok so I spoke to the dealer in mumbai. Aquest auto. No idea about launch date but has been told that the engine will be the 2.5d with manual tranny only. For now. So thats basically the same engine on my gen 1 pajero converted to common rail and modernised to meet current emission norms.
Interesting, as per the information from chennai dealer, the mechanics are given training from december month already during the weekends for the pajero sport and they say that its the 3.0L engine and may be priced 3 lacs above the present gen pajero. In fact we bought a 2007 pajero 2 weeks back from chennai for 9.5 lacs for my friends,i was driving most of the time i just loved the ride quality of it. Hope the pajero sport has the same ride quality. Power was not adequate ( but enough for crusing) considering the fact that i own a Getz crdi and Elantra Crdi pete'd.
Old 11th February 2012, 22:17   #112

Even today I see faithful Paj fans buying the BS4 compliant wheezy engine. And to top this they pay a premium of 3-3.5 Lacs over the BS3 variant which can be registered outside the metro cities and hence save that money.

Even if this Pajero sport costs 24-25 L on road, im sure it would give a few numbers, but Mitsubishi would be very happy with that and screw up the marketing for this as well.
Old 15th February 2012, 18:37   #113

Hello Everyone:

Pajero Sport will be officially unveiled/launched around 07 March. Ex-showroom price is Rs. 23.5 lakhs and on road it will cost around Rs.27 lakhs. It has the 3.2 litre engine developing 176bhp and 44 kgm torque @ 2000 rpm as per ARAI certificate. Interesting bit is that 18 are already sold without inspection.

Deep_Shri is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th February 2012, 19:18   #114

Originally Posted by Deep_Shri View Post
Hello Everyone:

Pajero Sport will be officially unveiled/launched around 07 March. Ex-showroom price is Rs. 23.5 lakhs and on road it will cost around Rs.27 lakhs. It has the 3.2 litre engine developing 176bhp and 44 kgm torque @ 2000 rpm as per ARAI certificate. Interesting bit is that 18 are already sold without inspection.

what is the source of information? there have been numerous rumors in recent past.
Old 15th February 2012, 20:30   #115

Originally Posted by Deep_Shri View Post
Interesting bit is that 18 are already sold without inspection.
Thanks for the info.

18 sold to individuals or shipped to dealers for TD? I am not sure how does the sale without a launch can happen!
Old 20th February 2012, 09:55   #116

+1 to that harbir.

In all likelihood though the price of the pajero gen3 will never come down to 16 lacs. what will happen however is the reduction in the price of nearly new 2007- onwards pre owned gen3 pajeros

I already know that dealers are factoring the launch of the p sport into their offers for 2nd hand pajeros

Originally Posted by Harbir View Post
I have no interest in the Pajero Sport (for the same reason that I have no interest in the Fortuner or the Endeavour, which is that I don't want a load carrying pick up truck with a wagon body on it), but I am hoping that the introduction of the Pajero Sport will see the old pajero reduced to about 16 lacs.

Thats what I hope. What I expect is that the pajero will stay where it is, the Pajero Sport will be 26+, the Fortuner will continue to kick Mitsubishi's butt and will be joined in the butt kicking by the Chevrolet Trailblazer which is claimed to be on track for 17lacs for the 2.5L 150hp version.
Old 20th February 2012, 11:23   #117

The old Pajero wont drop to those figures IMO. However the resale value will further tank, which is what I am hoping for

17 lakhs for 2.5 L Trailblazer when the Captiva costs 20L plus with that 2.0 L engine, sounds a bit implausible. Or am I missing something here?
Old 20th February 2012, 12:37   #118

Seems to me that HM-Mitsubishi are determined to not compete in the Indian market.

The Fortuner will beat the Pajero Sport in sales volumes and so will the Trailblazer, which even if not 17 lacs, will still undercut the Paj Spo and on top of that will be the latest desing, not a 6 year old like the L200 based mitsubishi.

Still, I would expect some reduction. holding 21 for the pajero classic doesn't make sense if the pajero sport will be 23.5

Unless of course HM is counting on some die hard fanatics to buy the pajero because they won't buy anything else and will make them pay for their devotion.

Last edited by mobike008 : 20th February 2012 at 12:51. Reason: Do not use inappropriate words. Thanks!
Old 20th February 2012, 12:57   #119

Seems to me that HM-Mitsubishi are determined to not compete in the Indian market.

The Fortuner will beat the Pajero Sport in sales volumes and so will the Trailblazer, which even if not 17 lacs, will still undercut the Paj Spo and on top of that will be the latest desing, not a 6 year old like the L200 based mitsubishi.

Still, I would expect some reduction. holding 21 for the pajero classic doesn't make sense if the pajero sport will be 23.5

Unless of course HM is counting on some die hard fanatics to buy the pajero because they won't buy anything else and will make them pay for their devotion.
HM/Mitusubhshi are hell bent on killing themselves, with this kind of pricing how will they be able to sell the Pajero sport, the current pajero is selling at less than 100 a month though it is cheaper or comparable to the fortuner which is selling at close to 1000 a month. If they price it higher than the fortuner I guess they will continue doing similar (or less) numbers that they are doing now. Did some research and found out that the Pajero sport is cheaper then the fortuner in Thailand. So if Toyota can price the fortnuer at a affordable level why cant Mitsubishi do it.
Old 22nd February 2012, 13:18   #120

Just came across Mitsubishi Pajero Sport Facebook page which will show how it looks.

Here is the FB Link: Welcome to Facebook - Log In, Sign Up or Learn More

BTW - in this link, some folks have wrongly added current gen Paj as Paj Sports!

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com