Originally Posted by gaurav_chopra04 I will scan and upload Overdrive's detailed reviews of the New Pajero Sport tomorrow. |
I have not been able to upload the detailed review from Overdrive.. Some problem with my scanner. Will try to sort it out today!
Originally Posted by Sahil Any idea when the car hits the showroom and what will the pricing be like? |
Since, the current Pajero will be discontinued in the Metro cities for it not being Euro 4 compliant, Mitsui will hence need to fill in the Gap, so I believe it should come soon.
Originally Posted by 4x4addict First off, this thing is coming initially as a CBU so knowing these bafoons at HM, they will price it uncompetitively compared to the Endy/Fortuner and expect people to pay up for the Mitsu tag which is loosing it's luster in India.. |
The Pajero Sport in manufactured in Thailand and I believe the trade norms between Thailand and India allow some concession in duty (not sure how much). Also the initally numbers will come in as a CBU and thereafter the SUV will be assembled in India. Initially in 2006, the company imported Cedia from Japan and managed to sell it at about 11 lacs (Delhi). The initial models of Outlander were also CBU from Japan but still is priced ok. The manufacturing cost in Thailand is much cheaper and trade norms further adds to the value. So I think they can price it competitively if at all they want to.. Right HM-Mitsui!
Originally Posted by cyqed if not for the brakes, I think Fortuner will still be ahead in the race. |
The brakes were specifiaclly tested as reported by Overdrive. It is mentioned that since many Fortuner owners have reported inappropriate braking, more so in start stop traffic, they did test the brakes for the pajero sport and found no problems with them at all.
Originally Posted by fx45 |
Its no where based on the Montero or the pajero.. Its based on Mitsubishi's Pick-up truck which has a ladder frame chassis.
Originally Posted by vinaydas IMO Mitsubishi should dispose of the current pajero and sell this in instead. |
If not across the country, this will certainly be the case in Metros.
Originally Posted by harishnair That was the previous gen. Montero Sport/Challenger/Nativa which was launched in 1997 (not sure what it was based on). The new Pajero Sport is based on the ladder-frame chassis of the Mitsubishi L200 pick-up which was launched in 2005. |
Right!
Originally Posted by santosh911 This story is a bit too speculative as this car would cost around Rs. 25 lakh minimum as a CBU and thus would get blown away by the Fortuner, Endy and X-Trail. HM must know that this would not work. I find OD stories a bit suspect and that they require verification. I know a friend who works in AVTEC the power train company of HM and they have laughed at this story. |
They first thing anyone do reading an HM story is laugh.. but we must understand its hard for them to change

. I agree that Overdrive stories definately need a re-check.
Originally Posted by Sudan_NFS I feel this might turn false because we know that Mitsu with HM will never move or react quickly to the market.So we can except this Sports somewhere in 2012 or later. |
I agree that they take ages to lauch a new model and till then all its craze is gone. If they do so with the pajero, I wonder what exactly are they going to sell in Metros (Montero? anyone

).
Originally Posted by montoo from the pictures i am assuming no ACC.WOW.what a development at hindustan-mitsubishi.clearly outdated product. |
One thing must be appreciated about HM-Mitsubishi in India, all their models come packed with features, whether its Cedia, pajero, outlander or the montero. Lancer though comes stipped down but that is to reduce cost.
In India, the Pajero Sport is expected to have steering mounted controls, leather seats, ACC, touch screen, and may be a rockford Fosgate system which comes in Outlander. So, I dont expect the features to be less in India, they will probably be more than the Fortuner.
Originally Posted by canonball I suppose when we see her in the flesh will we get better ideas unless someone already has |
I hope we do see her!