| A tribute - Mahindra Scorpio Nothing else will do Back in 1992, at a tender age of 7, I was watching Chamatker in a Cinema Hall at Raipur, MP (Now CG).
While I couldn't recall the film's name again, a song definitely became my cult favorite-Yeh Bichu mujhe kaat khayega, being shot inside a train with the then new to Bollywood Shar Rukh Khan and Urmila Matondkar.
I asked my mom-is aadmi ka naam kya hai? SRK ya phir bichu? My mom told yeh sabse khatarnak bichu hai jo ladkiyon ko Chedta hai...
While we owned a 1994 Premier Padmini DX BU F/S (second Fiat after selling off a 1982 model), my dad, who used to look at sales at most of the army canteens (CSD-Canteen Stores Department) of Nestle India (he worked for Nestle from 1968 to 2006, before retiring gracefully at age 62) at various North Indian states like Punjab, Jammu and Kashmir, Haryana, and most of the time-UP and Rajasthan, had met with an accident driving a Jonga Jeep which he tried to drift somewhere in Jaipur and it toppled.
He came home, shaken but not stirred and I asked if everything was OK? He said yes. Out of a 30-day month, I only used to see him in the last 5 days because he was on tour covering all these areas and then came home, used to prepare reports etc. Those were the happiest days in my life. Those last 5 days of every month.
While the Padmini was driven very less, dad used to commute frequently to Rajasthan in a company provided Mahindra CL 550 and then an Armada, which he used to make a complete workhorse out of it by driving here, there, and at every possible road or terrain he could. And those "civilised beasts" never let him down.
Fall 1996, I decided to go with my dad to Rajasthan and since my mom declined to go with him (she preferred to stay back in Delhi) we decided to have a gala time. We had a month long Christmas vacation, and I was hitting sixes by scoring below than average marks in 6th grade, so we decided to pack bags and go in a Mahindra Armada, which was parked in front of my house. It's colour was white, but that day it turned brown thanks to lot of off-roading 3 days before....
7 AM, morning, December mid, 1996. We leave for Rajasthan trip, and a planned desert safari in an armada 4WD and I tell my dad, "zara sambhalkar chalana." Ye ek civilised rakshas hai. Iska koi Bharosa nahi hai.
It starts, leaving a trail of noise and smoke behind to wake up my padosis.
We cruise down NH 24 in time to catch NH 8 via gurgaon on the way to Jaipur and on reaching, I am amazed to see Mahindra Jeeps here, there and everywhere. The mountain goats mesmerized me and my dad told that these are based on old gen Willys chassis, and its stretched platform is also shared with the armada.
While staying on a hotel, our jeep develops a snag and refuses to start. So we are provided with a replacement vehicle, a marshal in blue colour, much crude looking but yet, its yet another jeep, as dismissed by me that time.
What made me a big fan of mahindra jeep brand in 1997 was when we embarked upon a desert safari in a CL 550 2 door soft top jeep which we hired from the base. 4WD engaged, it simply smothered whatever terrain, sand or any kind of obstacles that came in our path. My dad drove like a professional and thankfully I was not scared. I was sitting at the back, with the soft top chopped off, enjoying the dusty weather and on returning back after 5 hours of grueling safari, my whole body was full of dust that the hotel owner suggested his son to blow air from a vacuum cleaner!!!!!
With all the dust taken off from my body, I went for an evening bath. On sleeping, I was recalling that day again and again and beginning to wonder ki yeh jeep kya cheez hai, waah bhai waah!
While my dad was off to work in Udaipur, a Nestle distributer took me to a dealership of Mahindra and there I got a glance of some of the company's legendary jeeps-marshal, CL 550, MM 540 DP, armada, armada grand and a gleaming red classic was on display and when coming back in the evening, I asked my dad, when will we buy this classic jeep?
Dad lightly kicked my butt, and told me, pehle studies mein concentrate karo phir yeh gaadi kharidne ki baat karna mujhse. Case closed, point noted.
Cable TV was installed and in 1998 I was watching a game show, Surf Wheels of Fortune, on one of the channels, where the host Mohan Kapoor displayed a red Mahindra classic as a jackpot and even than I asked my mom to go and participate. Again, case closed...
Countless films showed Mahindra jeeps being used by police in catching the criminals and the more I saw, the more I liked it.
Fast Forward, Sometime in 1999.
An automobile magazine, cannot recall the name, carries out the first spy shots of a new Mahindra vehicle completely camouflaged. That time Mahindra heavily advertises its new vehicles-the New Generation NG armada grand, and commander hard top in typical Dharmendra style dialogue which catch my attention, thinking that something based on these may be under testing...
But its not. It something that started as a secret project in 1996 and is unlike this company has ever done in its glorious 50 year history.
It wants to celebrate its 50 years in 2002 by launching its first all new, all indigenous "modern" product ever in history, one that promises to change the image of the company.
A new flagship, it promises to be a game changer not only for that company, but its success story will change the dynamics of the Indian automobile market for years to come.
When we decided to see the complications associated against making cars, we decided not to make a car.
We wanted to make a product that would not only be benchmarked against competition in India, but also globally.
For this, we developed a completely new team, new design process, supplier driven developmental cycle and from conceptual stage to millions of kilometeres of testing, in July 2002, just in time of our 50th year celebration, we came out with our most modern and the most technically advanced product ever.
Because we believe in doing something different.
Follow me in a series of write ups live here on team-bhp as we pay tribute to one of the biggest success stories of a nameplate that changed the perception of this company forever.
From the beginning of the idea in 1996, till the present stage in 2010, I will take you to the entire story of this modern legend.
Because, NOTHING ELSE WILL DO. |