Old 8th January 2010, 12:19   #151

Originally Posted by DCEite View Post
People will think it as a bigger WagonR at the price of an Alto.
The stretch

The Versa anyway looks like a stretch WagonR;the Eeco is quite the same - the only difference is that the vertical stretch is lesser

I am wanting to see the vehicle,just to see what is different(own a Versa you see,hence the curiosity)
Old 8th January 2010, 12:25   #152

A neat and handy looking vehicle. I think at this price it will set like hot cakes, and no, I don't think car buyers will go for this even though its cheaper.
Old 8th January 2010, 12:40   #153

Originally Posted by zaks View Post
I don't think car buyers will go for this even though its cheaper.
The bad ride will definitely keep car lovers away(am not sure if this has been addressed in the Eeco)

Since I have been driving a Versa for 5.5 years,I can tell you it has only two faults - a very bumpy ride when unladen and some instability in high crosswind(especially monsoons);have accepted these two faults and am careful with speeds

But am enjoying the numerous other benefits(like the fantastic pick up, excellent road view which offers superior judgement,crisscrossing through traffic,space space and more space when many guests come, the center seat folded and used as a table,etc etc etc)
Old 8th January 2010, 12:45   #154

According to me for the price and the offering, they should have not named it Eeco..

I would vote for the name Shocko
Old 8th January 2010, 14:20   #155

I did not like the vehicle, but at this price mhmm it is going to sell like hot cakes
Old 8th January 2010, 14:35   #156

Originally Posted by zaks View Post
A neat and handy looking vehicle. I think at this price it will set like hot cakes, and no, I don't think car buyers will go for this even though its cheaper.
With more space, more power and the badi gaadi factor, I can see the Alto sales being affected pretty heavily. Ride and handling are certainly not going to put people off this kind of a deal
Old 8th January 2010, 14:43   #157

Could someone who has visited the Expo confirm whether the Eeco is powered by the G series or K series engine. ACI and BSM seem to giving conflicting reports about this.
Old 8th January 2010, 15:15   #158

Source: With Eeco, Maruti seeks to fill Omni gap - dnaindia.com

Eeco is built on the Versa platform with a new 1.2 litre engine, which is a derivative of the G-series engine and has features of the K-series engine. Rao said it is a fuel-efficient and low-cost derivative of the G- and K-series engines.
It uses some technologies used by the K-series engines, but still a G-series machine.
Old 8th January 2010, 15:16   #159

Originally Posted by longhorn View Post
Could someone who has visited the Expo confirm whether the Eeco is powered by the G series or K series engine. ACI and BSM seem to giving conflicting reports about this.
Isn't the Eeco powered by K-Series?
Old 8th January 2010, 16:24   #160

From Maruti Press release.
Maruti Suzuki launches Eeco.
All-new spacious family car to sport new 1,200 cc engine, transmission system.

· Focus on ‘A Big Car’ with space and
comfort for family
· Superior functionality and drivability
· Flexi-seating with 5 and 7 seater options
· Roomy interiors
· Sliding doors add to ease entry and exit
· Air-conditioning
· Range of six exhilarating colours
· BS-IV compliant
· Superior, in-house developed 1200 cc petrol engine with 73 bhp power
· First-time ever DSA transmission
· Petrol Fuel efficiency 15.1 kmpl
· Beige and grey dual-tone interiors
· High ground clearance
· ELV compliant
This is not 1.2 K-Series for sure, Maruti wouldn't have left a single opportunity to let people know that Ecco comes with 1.2 K-Series which won "Engine of the year" award!!
Old 8th January 2010, 17:56   #161

Originally Posted by HammerHead View Post
From Maruti Press release.

This is not 1.2 K-Series for sure, Maruti wouldn't have left a single opportunity to let people know that Ecco comes with 1.2 K-Series which won "Engine of the year" award!!
Yes,it has been mentioned that this is a modified G series engine
Old 8th January 2010, 19:09   #162

Originally Posted by McLaren Rulez View Post
With more space, more power and the badi gaadi factor, I can see the Alto sales being affected pretty heavily.
I don't think so as Maruti will pull down Alto price to replace M800. This is what I heard from someone reporting from Auto Expo.

Ride and handling are certainly not going to put people off this kind of a deal
No offense, but I don't think Maruti customers even think of ride and handling!! A.S.S, FE, Reliability and Cost of ownership is all that matters
Old 8th January 2010, 19:24   #163

Eeco site is up

The Maruti Eeco website is up now:

Maruti Suzuki Eeco
The Maruti Eeco minivan (EDIT: now launched for 2.6 Lakhs)-eeco_bluehighway_1024x768.jpg  

Last edited by romeomidhun : 8th January 2010 at 19:31.
Old 8th January 2010, 20:11   #164

No PS

My first impression !

No Power steering in any variant.
That is the reason for that shocking price.

Sanjubaba
Old 8th January 2010, 20:12   #165

Till recently the Versa after discounts came with a sub 3 lac price tag and a 1.3 engine, yet did not find many takers, despite the many strengths of the van. Almost everyone can make out the fact that the Eeeco and the Versa are one and the same. I don't understand what benefit all this noise is going to do rather than a few initial sales. Maruti still isn't late to plonk the 1.3 MJD into the Versa/eeeco and launch it with a killer price tag.

Last edited by shortbread : 8th January 2010 at 20:13. Reason: spelling

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com