Under-rated, hated, and forgotten-the story of the Fiat Palio-p-2.jpg  

Under-rated, hated, and forgotten-the story of the Fiat Palio-p-4.jpg  

Under-rated, hated, and forgotten-the story of the Fiat Palio-p-5.jpg  

Under-rated, hated, and forgotten-the story of the Fiat Palio-j.jpg  

Under-rated, hated, and forgotten-the story of the Fiat Palio-k.jpg  

sidindica is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th December 2009, 11:44   #17

Hey Sid, Wonderfull write up. enjoyed reading.

Just wanted to know. There was all news that the new palio getting launched . Any updates on this subject
Old 14th December 2009, 11:51   #18

No Idea about it.

Originally Posted by motor spirit View Post
Hey Sid, Wonderfull write up. enjoyed reading.

Just wanted to know. There was all news that the new palio getting launched . Any updates on this subject
Fiat Palio reskinned in 2008
Under-rated, hated, and forgotten-the story of the Fiat Palio-101.jpg  

Under-rated, hated, and forgotten-the story of the Fiat Palio-102.jpg  

Under-rated, hated, and forgotten-the story of the Fiat Palio-106.jpg  

Under-rated, hated, and forgotten-the story of the Fiat Palio-107.jpg  

Under-rated, hated, and forgotten-the story of the Fiat Palio-110.jpg  

sidindica is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th December 2009, 12:25   #19

Great read sid. There is still the new face of 2010 Palio which has Linea like grills in the front. Looks cool. What if more interesting is the dashboard and the controls. I do not know whether that will hit the market or not.
Old 14th December 2009, 12:28   #20

Amazing write up Sid!! Good read and nice to travel down memory lane... It is one car i enjoyed driving. A relative had a GTX and boy oh boy.. what a car!!! Sadly he was not able to sustain it for long and sold it off after a few years.
Old 14th December 2009, 12:34   #21

Hey Sid, that was a nice read. I also fell in love with the car the first time when I saw her and finally my wife brought the 1.2ELPS home in Nov'03. Great car inspite of what others says
MileCruncher is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th December 2009, 12:55   #22

Beautifully put dude! Loved it!
Old 14th December 2009, 13:12   #23

Sid, I own Palio 1.2 ELX and and I have so much of faith on her that I just dont want to upgrade. She still handles Indian road like butter. I did many many long trips and she never let me down anywhere.

Last edited by pawan_pullarwar : 14th December 2009 at 13:13.
pawan_pullarwar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th December 2009, 13:16   #24

A deserving thread for a deserving car. Like Raveendra rightly mentions, I wonder why there were no takers for this hot hatch?

OT.Wish to mention that my upgrade for my GTX would only be a GTX as of now. I have my mind fixed on something. Hopefully should be able to pull it through.
Old 14th December 2009, 13:50   #25

Originally Posted by sidindica View Post
Fiat Palio reskinned in 2005
The fourth picture was my wall paper for more than two years - till my PC went into Active Directory Services.

Palio will alway be a great car; it was the one which showed all of us what a car can be and how much passion can it ignite (it is my wife who is ready to grab the keys of my 1.2 ELX NV now!)

Shall we take a poll and find out how many people really REGRET buying this car as compared to others? That will be some thing to write about!!
Old 14th December 2009, 13:56   #26

fantastic !! a treat for Fiat & Palio lovers.

Thanks Sid
Old 14th December 2009, 14:03   #27

Wow. This brought back some memories. I nearly bought a Palio in March 2002. The car was so much more better than the Alto and Wagon R which were the other cars considered. The sheer arrogance displayed by Sundaram at Bangalore was the reason I did not buy it. They refused to sell the car to me unless I took a loan of 3 lacs from their finance company. I had no choice but to walk away.
Old 14th December 2009, 14:09   #28

Sid a really nice read i must say. But as the years passed, the newer model phased-in and gradually the beauty of this car started to deteriorate year after year.
Even now I still love my version of palio, then the stile and then the 2009 version. The 2009 does not looks 'Hot' but it can be in a category of better looking hatch.

here is one edited shot of my car and the second one for the fanboys-

Speed Pujari is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 14th December 2009, 14:19   #29

Sid, this one did really bring back very good memories! Thanks for that. There is no car under 10Lakhs to beat the GTX even today!

That was one of the best effort by Sundaram Group to screw up or kill a brand. Now they are doing the same to GM and I do encounter this everytime I have to visit Sundaram Motors for my Dad's Tavera.

Originally Posted by Gilead View Post
Wow. This brought back some memories. I nearly bought a Palio in March 2002. The car was so much more better than the Alto and Wagon R which were the other cars considered. The sheer arrogance displayed by Sundaram at Bangalore was the reason I did not buy it. They refused to sell the car to me unless I took a loan of 3 lacs from their finance company. I had no choice but to walk away.

Last edited by anachronix : 14th December 2009 at 14:21.
Old 14th December 2009, 16:04   #30

Speed Pujari, couldn't agree with you more. And that's one hell of a picture. Awesome shot.