Old 22nd October 2009, 02:16   #91

Really ? who would buy a 14-15 Lac MUV ? ( not many people I guess )
Old 22nd October 2009, 07:04   #92

Car looks good, but i dont think there is any market in india for that segment.
Old 22nd October 2009, 10:02   #93

Originally Posted by gshanky View Post
The timing makes me think whether Toyota is doing this to counter Indicruz? If TATA positions indicruz with a ton of features on top of Innova and price it a lak or two higher than Innova, then Toyota might position this new MUV say about 3-4 lakhs more than Indicruz.

People would go for it considering it is a Toyota!
TATA would know that they need to price the indicruz less than or identical to the Innova with much more features. Else they are making a major pricing error.

Originally Posted by singh.amrit View Post
Really ? who would buy a 14-15 Lac MUV ? ( not many people I guess )
The same guys who today buy a 13+L Innova.
Old 22nd October 2009, 11:15   #94

Originally Posted by jesal View Post
in short i want to know how soon is this gonna come for sure ? is it worth going in for the innova V spec right now or to wait.
Right Now? Better go with the Innova.
The wait may be too long with this one also, given its a Toyota
Old 22nd October 2009, 11:48   #95

Originally Posted by jesal View Post
when is this again ? i am in doubts now. even if this car comes it will be above 15 laks and under 17 right. and plus i read its only a 4 speed auto which is kind of annoying since i have one already. dont know why toyota is stuck to 4 speed auto only. high time they come out with 5 speed auto. other countries dont complain since they have awesome roads so the economy is good for them, in our case 4 speed is a N O N O
Auto expo is in January. So if you can wait then wait 3 more months.
BS IV is is applicable from March 2010. So Toyota have to launch Innova with euro 4 compliant engine at least if no other change. I feel they will bring some more changes along with the BS IV thing.
Old 22nd October 2009, 12:25   #96

^^Jesal
OT: As Hyundai is launching Santa Fe in this auto expo. Although Innova and Santa Fe are in different league but if they launch Santa Fe as 7S and priced it less 15L, then it would be interesting.

Neither is the Fortuner a completely new vehicle since it has been hanging around S.E Asia for a couple of years at least and only the facelifted version has found its way into India. The new Innova also has only been given a facelift - no other big changes. Even the Altis has been hanging around S. E Asia for the last year and a half as per my memory.

But when you consider the quantum leap from the Qualis to the Innova, they certainly "upped" the game then!

And more recently, when the Land Cruiser landed here at Rs 90 odd Lacs, man, that was some serious "upping" the game!

Some things that will always be in their favour is their quality, fit, finish, service and reliability. I greatly appreciate that about Toyota - these things never vary and are considered pretty much "hygiene level" requirements.
Totally Agree with you.
In the case of Qualis they surely upped the game in the Indian market scene but current model of picnic is not much superior to Innova so IMO if they launch the old model picnic then Toyota is not upping the game. But I feel Toyota always likes to be ahead of the competitors at least in the Indian market so they may launch something before Indicruz or Yeti or any other MUV will come.
Toyota is used to leadership position in the MUV market and they are not going to let it go. They get maximum numbers from this segment only.
Old 22nd October 2009, 13:06   #97

Toyota developing sub-Innova product for India

The company has been evaluating certain models for India, including the Toyota Avensis Verso MPV for benchmarking purposes in the recent months.

Unquote
Old 24th October 2009, 22:54   #98

This is the Toyota Avensis. This model is currently sold in Australia. Was there a few months back, saw a lot of these on the roads.
Old 28th October 2009, 09:30   #99

Originally Posted by indivic View Post
Toyota developing sub-Innova product for India

The company has been evaluating certain models for India, including the Toyota Avensis Verso MPV for benchmarking purposes in the recent months.

Unquote
So in the end it may just be a benchmarking (read engine and suspension test) evaluation for something in the Avensis that could be added to the Innova without the avensis ever coming to India.

Khodha Pahad nikla..
Old 2nd December 2010, 11:41   #100

Some related news on a possible 2012 launch-

Toyota mulls an MPV between Etios and Innova

BANGALORE: Japanese carmaker Toyota today said it may consider bringing in a new multi purpose vehicle, which is likely to be positioned between its latest offering Etios and Innova.

"There is a room for another model between Etios and Innova. We are seriously considering it and a study is going on for this," Toyota Motor Asia Pacific Senior Vice President (Area Operations Division) Vonce S Socco told reporters here.

He, however, declined to share any time-frame for launching the vehicle, saying the company's priority is to strengthen its position on the back of Etios.

"If anything like that (launching the model) happens, it will be in 2012 or after that," Socco said.

When asked what kind of vehicles will it be, he said, "Nothing has been finalised yet, but our inclination is towards a multi purpose vehicle."

The company, which is present in India through a joint venture with the Kirloskar Group, today launched its much- anticipated entry-level sedan Etios in India, priced at Rs 4.96 lakh-Rs 6.86 lakh (ex-showroom Delhi).

The Innova is offered between Rs 8.35 lakh and Rs 12.21 lakh (ex-showroom Delhi).
Source- Toyota mulls an MPV between Etios and Innova - The Economic Times
Old 2nd December 2010, 16:31   #101

I was hoping that Toyota might bring the Avanza to India.I read on the internet that its selling like hot cakes in Pakistand and Bangladesh.
I wonder why Toyota wouldnt want to bring that to India?
Old 2nd December 2010, 16:47   #102

A diesel Tarago please, TKML!

Although I am not as much of an auto buff like many others here, I too have been eagerly waiting to see what's next in the evolution of 'Qualis-Innova-?' species. Somehow I was thinking that TKML would bring in the 'Tarago' with a diesel motor as the natural successor to the Innova.

Link: Toyota Tarago Home Australia
Old 2nd December 2010, 18:58   #103

@nevertouchme

Did the car have three row seats??
Old 2nd December 2010, 19:59   #104

Originally Posted by hallik9 View Post
I was hoping that Toyota might bring the Avanza to India.I read on the internet that its selling like hot cakes in Pakistand and Bangladesh.
I wonder why Toyota wouldnt want to bring that to India?
Nice car and I would love to have a car some thing like that. But be aware that this car has a bumpy ride. I had already experienced that.
Old 2nd December 2010, 23:34   #105

Most of the modern " international cars " cannot handle our roads. We cant change roads at the beck and call of their cars. They have to adapt.

Last edited by simplyself : 2nd December 2010 at 23:35.