Old 29th July 2005, 14:47   #76

I expect it to be 3.0 Litre 115 BHP @ 10.5 Lacs.

Agreed , never buy a TATA at Launch.
Old 29th July 2005, 16:52   #77

Originally Posted by metallica
I expect it to be 3.0 Litre 115 BHP @ 10.5 Lacs.

Agreed , never buy a TATA at Launch.
Well, i might change my mind for a 3-year unlimited mileage bumper-to-bumper warranty..
Old 30th July 2005, 00:05   #78

hi guys
belive it or not i have seen the spy pics of this safari crdi.one of my dads friends is a dealer and he had been recently in pune for da training programme.he said that there will be 3 versions....
me saw the pics and was very impressed wit it.the whole front part is changed....looks more like the lexus......
the back lamps are clear now.there is a drop n da roadclearance of da vehicle....
the alloys on the top end modle is awesome.....
the top end is told to come wit a blaupunkt dvd system,2 screens and leather int ,abs, srs airbags, and stuff.priced around 15 or 16 according to me....
the best part is da awesome torque that the suv has which is available very love in the rev range.......
ac is great and roff top ac is given for the mid and da top end....
couldnt see da interior pics tho but i must tell ya all the vehicle is kick ass now. belive me much better lookin than da previous versions....

p.s. will try to get pics tommoro.the dude has a p900 and refuses to give the phone to me.and a 5 year old tata sumo dx turbo is in sale .anybody interested.....

Last edited by speedfreak : 30th July 2005 at 00:08.
Old 30th July 2005, 00:24   #79

Originally Posted by speedfreak
priced around 15 or 16 according to me....

:WTF:

the estimates seem to be going higher and higher.....this better be a 3 litre 150 bhp beast.
Old 30th July 2005, 05:43   #80

15-16 for a tata is too high. I am still expecting 9.5 for the crdi.
Old 30th July 2005, 07:36   #81

no guys the price of the top end as told by my fathers friend was 12-14 but i think itll b atleast 15 or 16 coz of the goodies offered.
Old 30th July 2005, 10:11   #82

Originally Posted by speedfreak
no guys the price of the top end as told by my fathers friend was 12-14 but i think itll b atleast 15 or 16 coz of the goodies offered.
In that case, Tucson here I come again!
Old 30th July 2005, 10:39   #83

.....this better be a 3 litre 150 bhp beast.
hahaahhhh..... i would never go for the safari, at that price- even if it had 150 horses under it's hood.....i would rather wait for the similarly (or lesser) priced foruner that has 163 horses- and has a different "T" badge on the hood.....

OR, i would plonk in a coupla lacs more and go in for the terracan....

trust me guys- the safari crdi WILL NOT be priced above 11; even for the top end 4X4 model....

and speedfreak, i have been hearing about the torque too.....from trusted sources.... but the roof mounted a/c that you speak of, is already available on all models except the LX 4X2.....

Last edited by veyron1 : 30th July 2005 at 10:40.
Old 30th July 2005, 17:02   #84

From a Tata Motors showroom

Posting this thread from a Tata showroom somewhere in the Southern Sector

Its 3 litre, 135 bhp and looks the part. Interiors and switchgear have been revised and look real good. Will get a test ride soon and shall update. Over and out.
Old 30th July 2005, 18:15   #85

Pricing information available is that the CRD will cost between Rs.30,000 and Rs.50,000 (depending on the variant) more than the older version. That would mean that the #1 version would cost about Rs.9.3 lakhs here (old model is Rs.8.7 lakhs)...
Old 30th July 2005, 20:34   #86

Come on guys pics please!!!!!!!!!!

So far, at least 5-6 people of seen this beast and no pics yet.
Old 30th July 2005, 20:44   #87

Originally Posted by Mpower
Come on guys pics please!!!!!!!!!!

So far, at least 5-6 people of seen this beast and no pics yet.
Sorry dude, no pics allowed. I was also asked not to use my phone when we were taken to this cordoned off area in the showroom where the new safari is kept. Pics allowed only after the launch at the Taj on Wednesday. However, the chap had initially showed me a couple of pics taken from his phone so I assume SOMEBODY has pictures on a phone.

It looks a bit landcruiser-ish (in terms of treatment) with a chrome surround for the grille, which is larger as are the headlamps - they cover the entire front as against the partial coverage in the older model. The headlamps are clear lens rectangular units with merc-like round reflecters inside. It looks quite nice. The tail-light cluster also features clear lenses - there is something else thats different about the backside, but I cant really put my finger onto it.

On the interior we have leather and blaupunkt music+dvd player on the top variant. As I mentioned earlier, the plastics are quite an improvement over the earlier version and the switchgear is almost entirely new. No more 'piano switches', for instance. I liked what I saw in the brief period I was allowed to look at it.

All I can say is that I may have bought the old gen Safari at one point of time - today the 3 litre engine at 50k more is reason enough to buy this beast. There is no substitute for cubic capacity, crdi or otherwise...

I suppose Pete's Tuning Box will be applicable for this vehicle as well. In that case, this could be turned into a real killer.

My bank has agreed to find a buyer for my Accent if I go for a loan for the balance amount from them, and I have been offered a pretty decent price as well. Rest of the paperwork is a mere formality and if they have a BLACK beauty in stock then I will soon be riding high...

Last edited by Steeroid : 30th July 2005 at 20:45.
Old 30th July 2005, 21:05   #88

Nice description! Can't wait to see how TATA is going to return to punch to Mahindra. This is the battle of the Indian Titans.
Old 30th July 2005, 21:44   #89

Its 3 litre, 135 bhp and looks the part
Pricing information available is that the CRD will cost between Rs.30,000 and Rs.50,000
HALLELUJAH......!!!! i can already hear the symphony playing my favourite tune...."Riders on the storm......" so, it seems like my sources would be right- again......

so a hundred and thirty five horses would mean.....the torque must be around an axle-tearing 280 nm...... the old adage is no doubt, the holy grail-" there's no substitute for cee-cees...."

I will soon be riding high...
and hopefully, me too- again, that is.........
Old 1st August 2005, 10:25   #90

safari to be launched by Narain Karthikeyan on August 2....I heard 115 horses under the hood.