I went to see the car on Friday at the company showroom in town. As all the posts here have rightly pointed out lots of hoopla and a mixed bag of buyers, onlookers filled the showroom. I was greeted with a smile, offered sprite, and a well cushioned seat while I waited for a sales exec. So far so good. I did get my five minutes with the mean looking softie.
1) I asked the exec, " in the 4wd version" to which he immediately corrected me and said "this car is not a 4wd, it's a AWD, all wheel drive sir". I accepted my mistake, and queried as to how much % of torque is the "AWD" system capable of transferring to the rear wheels, or a single wheel ?.
Sales exec : sir this system has 140 bhp, and 330 nm of torque available between 1700 to 2800 rpm.
Then I repeated the question in Hindi, which led a pause, slight confusion. He then said sir I don't know about that because I can only tell you what we have been taught during training, but I will get a technical person to answer you, in the mean time he showed me some features of the car.
Then another sales exec shows up, I assume he is the tech guy, and I repeat the above question to him, his reply, aree it's a AWD car with ESP, it's all automatic. I dint push the matter any further.
2) I asked them what is the fording depth for the all wheel drive variant. Now I had two sales exec's with confused expression, so switched to reliable Hindi,me : kitney mm pani me sey ye gaadi jaa sakti hai?. Reply sir this car has ground clearance of 220 mm, Scorpio se bhi upar hai sir. I replied " wow", it brought the smile, the eagerness back in their body language. ( the website says 200 mm)
3) Me : is there a 4wd lock mode in this car ?. Differential lock hai isme ? This was when I was sitting in the drivers seat. A customer standing nearby turned and answered, yeah it's present. Sales exec grinning adds in : dekha sir nowadays customers know the car better. Me: accha jaara mujhe dikhao where is the switch for that. Two minutes of frantic searching followed. I was looking, the sales exec was looking and so did the friendly neighbourhood customer. We could not find how to manually engage the diff lock. The friendly customer then ambles away to mingle with his kith and kin. That leaves me and the sales exec. Sales exec " sir diff lock hoga sir, iss gadi mein sab automatic hai.
I saw The review by auto - car, renuka mentions about the presence of a difflock, but did not elaborate on whether the provision exists to manually engage it. The other softies like the Santa fe has a switch that does job. The haldex system in the yeti and skoda superb v6, can transfer unto 90% torque to a single wheel which makes the yeti a very capable softie. I Was very curious to know the data for the xuv 500. Guess will have to wait for a detailed review by team bhp and for some more tech data to be released by the company.
Disclaimer : I am not trying to take anything away from the sales executives, they were doing a fab job of handling all the rush. I just wanted to know a lil bit of tech data which I though some senior person from the company at the showroom might know. I chose this showroom because when I called them they clearly mentioned that it's a company owned showroom, hence I thought the chances of getting my questions answered here would be greater.
It's an excellent package and superb introductory pricing. In my overall 30 mins i was there 4 bookings were made for the w8 model. |