Originally Posted by carboy It's the Union Govt fuel taxes which have increased by around 28 Rs since 2014. Why should the State Govts reduce their taxes? |
The central govt carries a far greater burden than the states, and the spend targets are also much, much more under present central govt. For infra alone its a huge leg up compared to any other govt, I ain't going to repeat them, you can see
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/india...ml#post4990557 (The Official Fuel Prices Thread) (this list omits some other high-cost ones, such as the NHSRCL bullet train project, NCRTC Delhi-Meerut RRTS project, etc as I forgot to add them, both of these are in active construction, google them up).
Take Mumbai for example. The BMC is the richest municpal corporation. It ought not to beg to central govt for funds. You make it sound like the state govt (eg. MH in this example) is cash-strapped due to central govt, and hence can't reduce VAT. Well, if some states (that are not aligned with central govt) are cash-strapped, it's largely due to their own missteps, like Punjab doling our more-than-justifiable freebies (free electricity, anyone?), corruption, etc.
Originally Posted by carboy The reason why some govts are able to reduce is very simple. Union Govt has increased fuel taxes like crazy from 2014 on. So they have a lot of revenue. They siphon back more of that money to states they prefer (which is what is the meaning of Double Engine ka Sarkaar - they advertise it in their pre-election speeches saying the states will get more spending from the Union Budget if they have a double engine Sarkaar.). So those states have spend less from their own pockets for their project. So they can afford to reduce taxes. The Single Engine State Sarkars do not have the same luxury |
This is bogus, total speculation. What "double engine ki sarkaar" usually means is like-minded thinking and hence quick approvals and good cooperation between central and state govt in projects. A classic good example of this is central-govt and UP. A classic bad example of this is central govt and MVA govt in MH, where ever since MVA govt came to power, the MVA govt has created hurdles on the MH side of projects like the bullet train project (where land acquisition is going smoothly on the GJ side but not on the MH side) as well as the Delhi-Mumbai expressway (same situation). There is no evidence of "double engine ki sarkaar" implying selective financial aid. Kindly do not build a false and unsubstantiated narrative simply to suit your position.
Indeed, an example of non-selective approval is the case of central govt (ie. NHAI) funded projects in KA state like Blore-Mysore expressway, Blore-Chennai expressway and Blore STRR even when the HDK/Congress govts were there. These were approved by the present central govt before Yedyurappa came to power.
Originally Posted by lapis_lazuli The semiconductor mission : it is a Rs 76000 crore "plan" (read fresh carrot) spread over 6 years and YET to see a start date. I belong to the core semiconductor industry. Most of the 76K Cr is notional spend. Not really tangible spends out of guvs fat pockets. Yes, some subsidies here and there, but mostly convoluted and restrictive procedures, without direct consultations from the real industry pundits. (I still remember Make in India, Startup India, FAME, ESDM; new year, new plans!)
Infra spend : Significant visible implementation has happened. However, I live along one of the most hyped NHs and it is a living example of how a NH should not be built. Heard of flooded NH/flyovers, please? In the race to tick off the list, there are grave dilutions. Anyway, the union budget allocates that, has been allocating that spend anyway, since the last several decades.
Covid : Yeah, right! It is all about proving how the world followed wrong methodology....in everything that is against the narrative. Suffering : False, Oxygen : False, Deaths : False, Guv paid for all vaccines : FALSE! |
I am also in the semiconductor industry, closer to fabrication actually (modeling and design enablement). On what basis do you say intangible spends? The PM and Ashwini Vaishnaw have gone on record stating that they'll go beyond $10B if need be. Never before has such a sincere effort been put in getting semicon mfg in India. Sure, $10B is still small compared to infra spend, so that wasn't the best example. And FAME spend has already happened to a great extent. The best example is still infra spend, which is huge by this govt.
You mention "Heard of flooded NH/flyovers", I'm sorry, no I haven't heard. I'm sure flooding is more common within cities than on NHs. In any case, even a few NHs do suffer from flooding, I'm sure those are fixable and don't take away credit from the fact that infra spend is big.
You mention "the union budget ...has been allocating that spend anyway, since the last several decades." Yeah right! Allocating and perhaps siphoning it away! Since 2015, there's been a paradigm shift by an order of magnitude in the seriousness and intent with which projects are getting executed, with big machinery thrown in. I ain't going to repeat it, you can see above link.
BTW, the government did pay for Covid vaccines for those who went to govt clinics/PHC's. You and I didn't go there so we probably didn't see it being free. But there are several I know who went to a PHC and got their shots for free. And this is the right model.
Originally Posted by lapis_lazuli That is not an excuse to LIE, announcing "enhanced excise is a buffer, to be decreased when prices shoot up" (whenever oil prices went down)! and yes, don't forget the relentless insult to intelligence: "fuel prices are deregulated". Elections, anyone? But yes, the center could release the GST due to states. That too, is doable for sure! |
Agreed.
Net, net, I agree taxes should be reduced, by both central govt and the state govts. For a start, by the state govts (like MH) that havent done so as yet.