Old 3rd April 2025, 20:10   #166

Re: RTO Crackdown on outstation vehicles in Bangalore!

Originally Posted by Roy.S View Post
Why do I say this? Because I have personally seen a friend with a MH car who was harassed by overzealous enforcement and another with a TN registration who was asked to pay the state taxes as he drove into Blr from Chennai.
I'm not going to go into the details of either on a public forum.
Please do share in interest of others here. IF they were tourists and made to pay tax, its proper harassment and disruption. Could you please share the vehicle numbers atleast? Else, how will anyone know what exactly happened. I dont see anything wrong in discussing in a public forum about something which is wrong. Isnt that the crux of this thread? If you are referring to any cop harassing simply because of outstation number, that is not the discussion as that could be termed a normal experience throught country. We are talking about vehicle being impounded, made to pay tax. So, since you have the data, share with everyone.

If you would like me to share instances where offenders were rightly made to pay tax, I can share my friends car number KL02AD9696 and if needed 7-8 cars I myself brought and many others friends data.

Originally Posted by Roy.S View Post

This would be funny if it wasn't sad. I invite you to tour rural WB in your KA registered car. There are many other examples from every state but I'm just going to talk about WB because I can.
Have done it few times. Dont get what is the relevance here. I have driven to and in many states of India several times in my KA registered car, with friends and with family on different occasions. Throughout the country when they know its tourists, they max check for documentation and never harass. At times, got warning not to use fog lamps etc.

Originally Posted by antonylejos View Post
I agree that we can't always trust the press completely, as they often create sensational news.

In the story above, the key points are "consultant" and "every alternate week.". I can imagine this scenario clearly as I have a friend who is in exactly same scenario.

He is a consultant too. But "Interior Design Consultant." He heads his organization's India operations, with their only office located in Trivandrum, Kerala. However, their business spans across South India, with most clients in southern metros such as Chennai and Bangalore.

He's a driving enthusiast who travels to all his work sites by car. He sold his Ertiga after driving 1.75 lakh kilometers in within five years! . Almost every week, he spends a couple of days in Bangalore, staying in a company guest house, which is essentially a rented apartment, similar to what many companies use for their guest houses. For RTO coming out from an aprtment complex may be a false alarm of someone staying in Banglaore.. He has company guest house in Chennai and Kochi too.

Despite his frequent travels, he lives in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala, where his children study and his family and him resides. All his address proofs are in Thiruvananthapuram. He always returns home after visiting work sites. It's not feasible for him to register his vehicle simultaneously in Kerala, Tamil Nadu, and Karnataka, Right?
How much he drives and how often he drives are not relevant here. He could have moved to Bangalore and may have been travelling every where. That entitles him to re-register. Even if he does Blr-KL up and down every day, doesn't matter. RTO may have proved to him he has moved. Hence I say we need proper data. Has this guy blogged anywhere with proofs etc? I am hoping he at least has filed a case if his car was impounded etc. Most offenders give one or other reason to avoid tax. Hence if we have proper documented proof in public forum, lets see and believe it.

If same incident happened outside of Karnataka also, I would question the same way and not believe it point blank

Last edited by funkykar : 3rd April 2025 at 20:26.
Old 3rd April 2025, 20:43   #167

Unfortunately, arguments for the sake of arguments is not taking this thread anywhere. The rebuttal is typically in this order -
  • When presented with an anecdote - then please show proof
  • When presented with Media Article - Media must be biased
  • When persisted with media article - Then share actual vehicle numbers
  • When shared with detailed experiences - question the intent, and side with the aggressor.

But who is suffering? The folks who have made this city their home and are caught in endless legal loops. I would have respected the KA RTO if they had put a full page ad and publicity notifying the same and conducting camps to help people re-register their cars legally. Run the camp for 2 months, rake in the taxes legally, put up a deadline and then hound those who refused to use this window to fix stuff. But who am I kidding, we are talking about one of the most corrupt departments to exist in Indian Administration - The state RTO across all states are just vultures, KA being no different. To expect these people to uphold the law for reasons of justice?

End of Rant.

Actual Question - how does one go about paying the taxes legally? without touts and agents and other annoying mosquitoes?
sai_ace is offline   (33) Thanks
Old 3rd April 2025, 21:09   #168

Originally Posted by funkykar View Post
How much he drives and how often he drives are not relevant here. He could have moved to Bangalore and may have been travelling every where. That entitles him to re-register. Even if he does Blr-KL up and down every day,
So, it does not make sense that even if one does Blr-KL up and down every day, the RTO can prove that he moved to Bangalore.
You just does not make sense in above statement.

One may own homes in Bangalore and Kerala and may be spending time alternatively here and there. It is up to him to declare where he lives using his address proofs like DL, Passport, Aadhar, among others. The RTO cannot decide on that. If RTOs play this like a game, such people will always be in trouble from one of the state he spends time in.

If you read carefully, the IDH news article is not about impounding the vehicle. It is about not releasing vehicles impounded even after a favorable court order, and the transport commissioner of Karnataka asking to release them.

So it means, the following stages already passed:
  1. Vehicle impounded after 3 days in KA.
  2. The victim did not pay road tax and got the vehicle released because he knew he was right.
  3. He fought along with others.
  4. Finally, after several months, the court order arrived.
  5. Still, the vehicle is not released.

For a person driving every week to Kerala, it is Rs. 9000/- per week travel expense, which can be done in Rs. 2000/- per week by bus or train. If he can afford this, an additional Rs. 20,000/- or KA road tax than Kerala is not an issue for him.

But he chose to register his vehicle in Kerala because that is where he lives and spends most of his time. It is where all his address proofs are in.

and he has legally right to be in KA for 11 monnths or atleast 1 month (as per KA RTOs modified law then).
It is not rocket science to figure out, who is criminal offender here. RTO or the victim.

Last edited by antonylejos : 3rd April 2025 at 21:13.
antonylejos is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 3rd April 2025, 21:26   #169

Originally Posted by sai_ace View Post

Actual Question - how does one go about paying the taxes legally? without touts and agents and other annoying mosquitoes?
Any work in RTO has historically been difficult, and in most instances impossible to do it by oneself. Thats the level of corruption. When one doesnt visit RTO for name transfer, hypothecation cancellation, new vehicle registration(dealer does on our behalf acting as an agent) and choose agent services, why do you expect only the registration process to be smooth? Most choose agents even for LL and DL. When most are choosing touts/agents, they should do the same for re-registartion also. Off 7-8 vehicles I purchased out station, I was able to re-register 3 of them all by myself withoout paying a single ruppee. Visiting the RTO and reading up the process(print outs have been put in all RTOs with instructions) and following can help. Dont expect it to be always smooth, same is ANY work in RTO. Rest of the times, I paid an agent for his services as I couldnt devote time for it.

and he has legally right to be in KA for 11 monnths or atleast 1 month (as per KA RTOs modified law then).
It is not rocket science to figure out, who is criminal offender here. RTO or the victim.
If RTO has any proof that he has changed base to Bangalore(for whatsoever reason), he has only 1 month to re-register. I guess its the same every part of India. There is a 500 rs per month penalty if NOC is over 30 days, if I am not wrong its same in every part of country.

Its very possible he had moved base to Bangalore(for what so ever reason his profession may have demanded), and in his to and fro runs, he may have come to Bangalore 3 days ago at that instance. We unfortunately dont have the RTO side of story.

Note:
This thread is actually going no where and not adding value. Cite real examples, else all generic opinions are already stated by many several times. I have posted real information and included real vehicle numbers. Some of the vehicles I have brought and reregistered to KArnataka, I have written team-bhp threads in the past of entire ownership. Each time, I have paid tax with pride. IF I wanted, I could get away, chose not to. Also, all information I have shared are not specific to Karnataka. Exact same is applicable for those moving out of Karnataka as well. Move, and pay the necessary taxes, no 2 ways about it.

My last reply on this thread.

Last edited by funkykar : 3rd April 2025 at 21:38.
Old 3rd April 2025, 21:57   #170

Its very possible he had moved base to Bangalore(for what so ever reason his profession may have demanded), and in his to and fro runs, he may have come to Bangalore 3 days ago at that instance. We unfortunately dont have the RTO side of story.
This is how the RTO as well don't understand the actual scenario and harass frequent travelers. The scenario presented here is a person who has base in 2 states. The company he works in can be in 2 states. There is no way to prove this person has moved completely to Karnataka. He should not be made to prove his innocence if the vehicle has toll receipts on entering the state frequently.

I'll give you my scenario. I have moved to KA but my car has not moved. It is being used in another state by my father. I need to drive that car to KA to keep it here for few weeks because my parents are travelling abroad and I have to take care of the car. Now if I get caught by RTO will I be let go? I don't want to pay the taxes here because the car will go back in couple of months. I'm now confused and thinking of alternatives what can be done.

Last edited by Way2Jimny : 3rd April 2025 at 22:10.
Way2Jimny is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 3rd April 2025, 22:15   #171

Off 7-8 vehicles I purchased out station, I was able to re-register 3 of them all by myself withoout paying a single ruppee. Visiting the RTO and reading u
Even if I buy a used car today from Bangalore (or from Mumbai where I am working presently on a temporrary assignment) , for which KA/MH road tax is already paid, I will be re-registering it in Kerala, rightly so! I will proudly pay the additional road tax of Kerala knowing I cannot get refund of previous taxes being a 2nd owner.

Because that is where I live and that is where my address is.

Here we are discussing the scenario when one is a temporary visitor to another state. It can be for work, business, consulting, whatever. But I am not moving to that state.
Owning an apartment, having an apartment sticker, having parking sticker etc are not proof that one moved.

I own home/apartment in 3 states, KL, TN and MH and parking sticker from MH which is only apartmetn out of 3. My car has parking sticker from 3 branches of my office. Kochi, Mumbai and Bangalore.
Karnataka cannot consider me as a resident for this!!! I dont want to.

Both scenarios are different.

Last edited by Aditya : 4th April 2025 at 06:41. Reason: Toned down
antonylejos is offline   (7) Thanks Received Infraction
Old 3rd April 2025, 22:39   #172

- I myself have registered cars I purchased from other state
- I have helped friends reregister to Karnataka after they moved here
- I have helped friends pay only KA tax in RTO drives conducted long ago in Bangalore. They gave an option to pay tax first and expected user to reregister
- I have helped them re-register recently though they had paid tax like 10yrs ago. Now its compulsory to reregister, no option of only paying tax, no option of retaining old number, Ka number is mandatory
- I own 30+ vehicles and visit RTO almost every week for one or other works. Needless to say I have had 50-60 vehicles in past, sold, scrapped and what not.
- I have driven throughout the country traversing most states and several times. Being stopped by traffic cops to RTO officials, seen it all. Needless to say in entire of India all I have seen is all officials treat tourists very well. At max they give warning if we are flouting some rules. For e.g. long ago GJ required a yellow sticker on h/l etc.
- All RTO processes like name transfer, NoC, hypothecation cancellation, reregistration, renewal of fitness, paying tax - All done many times myself and also used services of agent
- I help several friends with RTO procedures who seek my help, it includes several team-bhpians also

Just trying to say I am not naive to RTO procedures. With this much of experience I should know a thing or two?
- No where I have mentioned tourists or genuine temporary visitors should pay tax, nor implied it. My stance is RTOs across India are very considerate about tourists and dont harass just like that. If they have data that person is flouting rules, only then they action

Again, this is a long thread, read in its entirety instead of jumping on others.

To be honest here - With one of my car purchases I technically violated the rule also. This was mere because one KL Police Station would not give police clearance for RTO NoC. Since car was already brought to Bangalore and wasnt mechanically fit to drive back to KL, it had to wait like 3 months before I drove back again to KL to obtain NoC and then come back to pay tax. If not, I was to re-register in 1 month from purchase/date of entry to Karnataka.

So again I say, I dont look to shy away from paying taxes using excuses of difficult process and other cited reasons. Neither my friends who moved to Bangalore and were flouting rules are complaining after paying taxes.

Lastly you owning houses in 3 different states, all states will have similar rules, this issue is not Karnataka specific. Other states are not doing such drives or you may not have come across just like you have probably not been stopped in Bangalore also. What reasons you give here in Bangalore, same you would need to do in other 2 states.

Originally Posted by Way2Jimny View Post
I'll give you my scenario. I have moved to KA but my car has not moved. It is being used in another state by my father. I need to drive that car to KA to keep it here for few weeks because my parents are travelling abroad and I have to take care of the car. Now if I get caught by RTO will I be let go? I don't want to pay the taxes here because the car will go back in couple of months. I'm now confused and
thinking of alternatives what can be done.
To be safer, change ownership of car to your dad as he will be using and for his need car would be visiting Bangalore. Easy way out. Morally also this wouldnt be wrong

Last edited by Aditya : 4th April 2025 at 06:41. Reason: Quoted text deleted
funkykar is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd April 2025, 23:17   #173

If RTO has any proof that he has changed base to Bangalore(for whatsoever reason), he has only 1 month to re-register. I guess its the same every part of India.
No it is not.

There is a 500 rs per month penalty if NOC is over 30 days, if I am not wrong its same in every part of country.
Why would a visitor to a state carry an NOC? In the above example, why have you assumed that the Ertiga driving person from KL would have taken an NOC from his home state just because he is driving to different states? Although the goons at the KA RTO are trying to ensure something like this happens very soon.
boniver is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 3rd April 2025, 23:21   #174

Lastly you owning houses in 3 different states, all states will have similar rules, this issue is not Karnataka specific. Other states are not doing such drives or you may not have come across just like you have probably not been stopped in Bangalore also. What reasons you give here in Bangalore, same you would need to do in other 2 states.
Firstly, when you reply to me, please do not consider the following three scenarios:

1. You buy a car from another state - I agree, you should re-register.
  2. You move to another state - I agree, you should re-register.
  3. You are a tourist - I agree, you do not need to re-register and they are not harassed much

However, there is a category between resident and tourist that is being harassed. That is the topic of discussion for me.

If you have reply for this, kindly reply

Just like me.

I own KL-registered cars only. KL is not my native place; I belong to TN. However, I registered my vehicles in Kerala because that is where I live, my family lives, and where I return every week or month after work.

I am not a tax evader. I have never submitted even a fake rent receipt throughout my 20 years of filing ITR which is common among office workers. I have even paid income tax for my non-rented-out flats, considering potential income (as stated in the IT Act).

So, let us not discuss who is an honest taxpayer here. You or me.

When it comes to cars, people like me do not have the option to register a car in multiple cities.

Yes, In KA, I was never stopped in two years.
In MH, I was stopped multiple times with a KL-registered car in multiple visits across several years.

The first thing they checked was my DL. When they saw it was from Kerala, they let me go.

The second thing they checked was the PUC. If they doubted my arrival date, they let me go afterward.

The third step was some interrogation. Once convinced, they let me go.

However, reading news from KA, this is not what is happening in KA. They are impounding cars immediately for people like me, if caught.

This is not fair. Period.
Why? I am not a resident in KA, and I do not have an address proof there, even if I wanted to re-register.

We, who move around India, deserve to live peacefully too. I make sure I never stay continuously for even three months (forget eleven) in any other state.
antonylejos is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 3rd April 2025, 23:36   #175

Guys, was going through the thread above and now one thing has stood out for me. Is it no longer possible to just pay the tax and retain the old number? I am here for posting for about 3/4 years and would once again relocate after that. Do I have to re register for KA while am here mandatorily ? That would be very inconvenient as once I move again, I would need to change the registration once again?
Old 3rd April 2025, 23:49   #176

Originally Posted by boniver View Post
No it is not.

Why would a visitor to a state carry an NOC? In the above example, why have you assumed that the Ertiga driving person from KL would have taken an NOC from his home state just because he is driving to different states? Although the goons at the KA RTO are trying to ensure something like this happens very soon.
No, there is a possibility that he has moved to Bangalore and chose not to pay tax due to his frequent visit to Kerala. Until we know RTO side of story, we wont know.

[b]However, there is a category between resident and tourist that is being harassed. That is the topic of discussion for me.

Yes, In KA, I was never stopped in two years.
In MH, I was stopped multiple times with a KL-registered car in multiple visits across several years.

The first thing they checked was my DL. When they saw it was from Kerala, they let me go.

The second thing they checked was the PUC. If they doubted my arrival date, they let me go afterward.

The third step was some interrogation. Once convinced, they let me go.

However, reading news from KA, this is not what is happening in KA. They are impounding cars immediately for people like me, if caught.

Dont believe in just the reports. The RTO officials are doing the due diligence and only after which they are impounding vehicles. If they were actually impounding as exaggerated in this thread, do you think RTO's even have the real estate to hold 10's of 1000s of vehicles, especially car? See the practical aspect of it and you will understand everything said is not true. Even traffic police used to pick very very limited number of cars during towing days years ago, same reason. Not enough real-estate. If you really want to understand RTO impounded vehicles, go check around RTO's. You will barely find 50-60 cars, and many will be yellow board KA plate vehicles. Even if temporarily they are impounding cars, they should be some where right? You very well know, there isnt space at the place of checking as they are all proper IT corridors. Of course there could have been few genuine people affected wrongly. One insensitive RTO official/cop might be there here and there in all part of India. That doesn't mean EVERY person will be affected.

I never said you are a tax evader nor meant. Those words are ONLY for those who have MOVED into Bangalore and choose NOT to pay.

If you honestly are interested, I am visiting KA04 Yeshwantpur RTO and KA03 Indiranagar (now Kasturinagar RTO) in coming week for Fitness of my old bikes. You can join me, I will show you around including place where impounded vehicles are there.

Originally Posted by wanderernomad View Post
Guys, was going through the thread above and now one thing has stood out for me. Is it no longer possible to just pay the tax and retain the old number? I am here for posting for about 3/4 years and would once again relocate after that. Do I have to re register for KA while am here mandatorily ? That would be very inconvenient as once I move again, I would need to change the registration once again?
No there is no such option. Been a while its discontinued as people took advantage of just paying and not doing the reregistration formalities. By this, they are not even reflecting their present address. So RTO took hard stance to discontinue this. You have to obtain NoC, reregister here. You will have to do same when you move to your home state after 3-4 years.

Last edited by funkykar : 3rd April 2025 at 23:56.
Old 4th April 2025, 02:15   #177

Many replies on this thread are along the sentiment of 'Work in Bangalore, Pay in Bangalore'. Unfortunately- a popular divisive sentiment in recent days, but not constitutional IMHO.

The Motor Vehicles Act, 1988 is very clearly worded on this topic:

"Subject to the provisions of section 47, a motor vehicle registered in accordance with this Chapter in any State shall not require to be registered elsewhere in India and a certificate of registration issued or in force under this Act in respect of such vehicle shall be effective throughout India."

And what is Section 47 that the above statement is subject to?

When a motor vehicle registered in one State has been kept in another State, for a period exceeding twelve months, the owner of the vehicle shall, within such period and in such form containing such particulars as may be prescribed by the Central Government, apply to the registering authority, within whose jurisdiction the vehicle then is, for the assignment of a new registration mark and shall present the certificate of registration to that registering authority

Can you help state which provision of the law gives the RTO the authority to analyze the person's employment status for this reason of deducing the tax liability?

The rule merely states just one aspect of re-registration: A period of stay of the motor vehicle not exceeding 12 months. Not the employment status, education status, visitor status - nothing else.

If he came to Bangalore three days ago - which provision of the law gives RTO the right to seize the vehicle citing his employment in Bangalore? Cite the relevant provision of the law please.

If RTO has any proof that he has changed base to Bangalore(for whatsoever reason), he has only 1 month to re-register.
Again, cite the relevant law which makes the above a constitutional practise please.

Neither is the RTO authorized to take decisions based on the person's base (or any factors other than the vehicle duration of stay in the state exceeding 12 months), nor is this 1 month notification valid unless the vehicle has exceeded 12 months.

No there is no such option. Been a while its discontinued as people took advantage of just paying and not doing the reregistration formalities. By this, they are not even reflecting their present address. So RTO took hard stance to discontinue this.
RTO didn't take the hard stance- Court stopped the practise which was enabled by the KMVT Act as unconstitutional. Tax can only be collected if a re-registration requirement arises and registration requirement arises only if the vehicle stay exceeds 12 months.

Reference from the judgement below:

The very language employed in the said 'Explanation', to wit, "Notwithstanding anything contained in the provisions of the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988 (Central Act 59 of 1988), and in any order or direction contained in any judgment or order of any Court".....would indicate the clumsy and ham handed manner in which the State Legislature has sought to undo the effect of a decision of this court , which has never been questioned and which has attained finality.

The basis 36 of the said decision still subsists. The payment of lifetime tax continues to be dependant on registration or re-registration in terms of Section 40 and Section 47 of the MV Act, as the case may be.
Lastly, no - earning or working in Bangalore doesn't contribute as exceptions to this rule. The very fact that the court squashed the below 3 scenarios is the best example of this!

1. The petitioner is said to be a permanent resident of Kerala, presently employed with a private limited company at Bangalore. It is the case of the petitioner that his employment requires him to travel and stay for varied durations at other places in India. The petitioner is said to be the owner of a motor vehicle bearing registration number KL 8 AQ 495. He is said to have entered the State of Karnataka with the said vehicle on 15.7.2014. On 17.7.2014, the petitioner's vehicle is said to have been stopped in Karnataka, en route his journey to Kerala.

2. The petitioner is said to be the owner of a car bearing registration number MH 14 DF 2854, registered in the State of Maharashtra. It is stated that on 26.5.2015, the petitioner's vehicle was said to have been intercepted at K.R.Puram, Bangalore

3. The petitioner is said to be an Advocate by profession and has established offices at Bangalore, Puduchari, Chennai and New Delhi. The petitioner is said to be the owner of a motor vehicle registered in Puduchari.

So let's not go down that road of employment base please. The only criteria of exception is that the vehicle stay exceeds 12 months. Unless someone can point out with the exact rule which states otherwise!

Originally Posted by Way2Jimny View Post
Those were dark times. Other state cars were targeted like people who illegally crossed borders. RTO employed goons to help them hunt for out of state cars
And physically harassed / beaten on the roads by these RTO agents / goons! Thankfully those dark days are somewhat over, except for these few weeks around March 31st.

Apologies for the vernacular audio - unable to source the original clip of this throwback to the past:

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 4th April 2025 at 02:57.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (36) Thanks
Old 4th April 2025, 04:31   #178

Infractions: 0/3 (13)

The Motor Vehicles Act, 1988 is very clearly worded on this topic:

"Subject to the provisions of section 47, a motor vehicle registered in accordance with this Chapter in any State shall not require to be registered elsewhere in India and a certificate of registration issued or in force under this Act in respect of such vehicle shall be effective throughout India."

And what is Section 47 that the above statement is subject to?

When a motor vehicle registered in one State has been kept in another State, for a period exceeding twelve months, the owner of the vehicle shall, within such period and in such form containing such particulars as may be prescribed by the Central Government, apply to the registering authority, within whose jurisdiction the vehicle then is, for the assignment of a new registration mark and shall present the certificate of registration to that registering authority

Can you help state which provision of the law gives the RTO the authority to analyze the person's employment status for this reason of deducing the tax liability?

The rule merely states just one aspect of re-registration: A period of stay of the motor vehicle not exceeding 12 months. Not the employment status, education status, visitor status - nothing else.

If he c
This is tremendously useful.

If you have the actual judgement document with you and if it can be posted here then many folks will benefit.

If I were to have access to that judgement, I would ask my Dad to keep a permanent print of it in his car and if stopped by any of any of these ‘RTO proclaimed Lords and Masters and Great Enforcers of the Law in KA’, we could literally ‘throw the book at them’.

Honestly, these people are little more than ‘Tin Gods’ revelling in their newly sanctioned ‘bullying powers’ and hiding behind the blatant misuse of rhe ‘local’ card.

If KA would only be a little broad minded and stop being so Xenophobic and perhaps apply a little logic.

It is abundantly clear that this state would NEVER have reached this level of prosperity had it not been for the IT Industry which by its very nature brings in talent from other parts of the country and the world.

Of course there is also a downside. But there is no denying that the industry has created openings and wealth for many more.

But honestly it is about time that we in India stopped behaving in this parochial narrow minded manner like 31 separate countries and garnered some sense of unified National Pride.

After all, is it not true that those who defend our country and lay down their lives so that the rest of us may live in peace without fear or external aggression, are from all over India.

In that sense, a soldier from UP may give his life to save a Tamilian civilian or a Malayalee soldier may give his life to save a civilian from Arunachal or a Marathi soldier may sacrifice to save a Bengali civilian or vice versa.

This nastiness and divisiveness has GOT to Stop, if we are to get ahead!

It is only intelligent educated folks who can actually make a difference by practising this kind of ‘inclusiveness’ in our daily lives.

Last edited by shankar.balan : 4th April 2025 at 04:33.
shankar.balan is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 4th April 2025, 05:42   #179

Let’s be clear that the Motor Vehicles Act is a Civil Law - and the burden of proof for impose a fine or penalty under it is “preponderance of evidence”, not “beyond reasonable doubt”.

When a person who spends significant time in Bangalore or Bombay claims that he is living in Kerala or Delhi, all that the authorities need to show is that it is more likely than not that he is lying. Even if your family is living in some other state, what matters is where you stay and maintain your car. And if you happen to be working in Bangalore or Bombay, to my mind, that is enough proof to show where you live.

The fact is that people on this thread who register their cars in their “home” states do so only to pay lower taxes - not for any other reason. And bringing patriotism or national integration into this is nothing but a red herring.
Hayek is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 4th April 2025, 06:49   #180

Infractions: 0/3 (13)

Originally Posted by Hayek View Post
Let’s be clear that the Motor Vehicles Act is a Civil Law - and the burden of proof for impose a fine or penalty under it is “preponderance of evidence”, not “beyond reasonable doubt”.
And bringing patriotism or national integration into this is nothing but a red herring.
Your point about paying the tax in the state in which one is living, is correct. I think everyone is agreed on this.

But what really irritates is the way common tax paying citizens of India are treated. The methods adopted in the execution/ enforcement of these draconian local strictures, combined with the palpable underlying Xenophobia and Parochialism, needs to be absolutely condemned and reviled.

What right have these ‘great Lords and Masters in the form of these authorities’ to forcibly tow away (and damage and impound) cars parked in designated parking zones, on one of the main visitors areas in this city, just because the said cars carry an out of state registration?

The worst is that the owners have no recourse to object and even provide proof before the act of towing.

Is it that we as Indian Citizens are not allowed to take our private cars to other states and cities. Considering that we have bought and paid for these cars with our earnings after having first paid tax on those earnings and then having further paid more tax on the purchase and registration of the car itself?

I mean quite clearly, I would NOT brook any such harassment being meted out or attempted on my Dad who visits us from time to time and stays for 3-4 months. He drives his car which carries a neighbouring state registration. He has every right to do so and no one can or should stop him.

And as a Super Senior Citizen who has paid his taxes all his life and yet received next to nothing back as ROI from our successive Governments, why should he be subject to these brash indignities at the hands of these hooligans?

Come On!

Last edited by shankar.balan : 4th April 2025 at 06:50.
shankar.balan is offline   (19) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com