Old 29th March 2025, 14:24   #46

re: VW Tiguan R Line to be launched on April 14. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 49 lakhs

Originally Posted by 84.monsoon View Post
My Thar Roxx petrol automatic (MX3) gets me 177 ps and 380 NM at almost a third of the price. The mStallion engine is equally refined and powerful as the EA888, been driving it the last few months. Has 12% less power, but 20% more torque.
Totally agree with you!

IMHO VW / BMW / Audi etc. are far more superior in terms of gearbox which they use irrespective of the engine output figures. I think that translates to much seamless gear shifts and smoother acceleration. I remember seeing drag race video of XUV700 petrol automatic against previous generation Tiguan on YouTube and the result was quite evident. But if we compare that against Mahindra from cost perspective, nothing can beat Mahindra!
Old 30th March 2025, 18:56   #47

India-spec Volkswagen Tiguan R-Line features revealed

Volkswagen recently opened pre-bookings for the Tiguan R-Line in India. The carmaker has now shared some more details of the SUV ahead of its launch.

VW Tiguan R Line to be launched on April 14. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 49 lakhs-image-1_the-allnew-tiguan-rline.jpg

The India-spec Tiguan R-Line will be equipped with LED Plus headlights, LED taillights and 19-inch 'Coventry' alloy wheels. The SUV will be available in six colour options: Persimmon Red Metallic, Cipressino Green Metallic, Nightshade Blue Metallic, Grenadilla Black Metallic, Oryx White with Mother of Pearl Effect & Oyster Silver Metallic.

VW Tiguan R Line to be launched on April 14. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 49 lakhs-image-2_the-allnew-tiguan-rline.jpg

Inside, the sporty R-Line version comes with comfort seats with massage function and lumbar support, 3-zone automatic climate control, and a panoramic sunroof. The SUV also gets aluminium pedals, an illuminated R-Line logo on the dashboard, two wireless charging pads, and 30-colour ambient lighting.

VW Tiguan R Line to be launched on April 14. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 49 lakhs-image-3_the-allnew-tiguan-rline.jpg

Besides this, the Tiguan R-Line will be available with Park Assist Plus and Park Distance Control, among other safety features.

In India, the sporty Tiguan will be powered by a 2.0-litre turbo-petrol engine that produces 201 BHP and 320 Nm. The engine will be paired with a dual-clutch transmission and VW’s 4 Motion all-wheel drive system.

Link to Team-BHP News
TusharK is online now   (9) Thanks
Old 30th March 2025, 19:12   #48

Originally Posted by TusharK View Post
India-spec Volkswagen Tiguan R-Line features revealed

Volkswagen recently opened pre-bookings for the Tiguan R-Line in India. The carmaker has now shared some more details of the SUV ahead of its launch.

Attachment 2742900

Attachment 2742901

Link to Team-BHP News
Why does the interior look so average, people are going to pay 60 lakhs and above for this treatment?
carjack3090 is online now   (7) Thanks
Old 30th March 2025, 20:54   #49

Average interior.

The centre screen looks like an after thought.
Instrumentation also looks okayish for the class.

19 “ alloys will continue to ensure harsh ride.

200 hp motor will not feel enthusiastic for this weight class. Cars half the price have it now.

Being CBU, price will never be inviting.

Best wishes to the very select few spenders.

Last edited by suhaas307 : 30th March 2025 at 22:38. Reason: Spacing and formatting
Old 30th March 2025, 22:27   #50

While the car looks fantastic, those alloys are truly hideous. Why are they making alloys purposefully ugly? I'm no expert but those alloys look like aerodynamic friendly. Otherwise VW should seriously consider a better design. Also, overall car design appears to be good with lots of sharp lines and cuts, alloys design doesn't compliment the same.
Old 31st March 2025, 08:50   #51

Saw this in-person at BCIT (Bhartiya City) yesterday evening. It had a MH12 number plate, and was guarded by 2 burly guards who were preventing to take it's photos. It appears that some sort of advert-shoot was happening. They did not allow initially to even take a close look, I had to show my keys (I currently run the Elegance model). Here are my quick observations:-
Liked:-
1) The upright stance from the front (Elevate'ish, no pun intended!). This leads to looking like a 'SUV' and not like a 'car' that the Elegance model looks like (and also drives like, which actually is the best part!), but also a good differentiation from Taigun, looking from front. While I was taking a look, a chap came there who said he is from VW, who also agreed to this observation. He said that's the new design from VW that will be seen on future cars!
2) Overall it's a on a bit bigger side considering overall dimensions.
3) The Headlight+DRL unit is nicely kept together.
4) Nice branding with R line moniker on Drive side.

Not so much liked:-
1) There is a big infotainment unit doesn't gell well with the design.
2) It had a slot for inserting the key on Driver side door handle..
3) Lot of piano-black plastic stuff all around at the front and back

One of those guards said, it's going to cost Rs. 60 Lacs, and he asked me how much my car was for!
ujjuashu is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 31st March 2025, 11:28   #52

Considering the price and the fact that VW is bringing an R line to India, they should have gone with the 265 HP tune of the 2.0 TSI. This would have been a more exciting offering to enthusiast.

The current tune of the engine is not special in my opinion and while some might say "what will you do with 265 horses in India" I beg to differ, knowing you can unleash that power as and when the conditions permit is something that will bring happiness like no other.

Hopefully other car manufacturers also bring in some of their more sportier offerings to India so we can enjoy IC engines before the EV takeover.

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 31st March 2025 at 11:29. Reason: Spacing.
Old 31st March 2025, 19:28   #53

Spoke to an SA today who told me that VW has started trainings for Tiguan and Golf GT TSI from April 8. He showed me screenshots of VW's presentation to Sales folks. He said that the infotainament screen is bigger (15" and not the 12.9") and that DCC is included.
volkchan1 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 31st March 2025, 20:41   #54

Originally Posted by volkchan1 View Post
Spoke to an SA today who told me that VW has started trainings for Tiguan and Golf GT TSI from April 8. He showed me screenshots of VW's presentation to Sales folks. He said that the infotainment screen is bigger (15" and not the 12.9") and that DCC is included.
That's a great news! Thanks for sharing. Any idea if it has 360 degree camera / surround view as well? I assume it has ventilated/cooled seats (instead of or in addition to heated seats)?
Old 1st April 2025, 17:42   #55

Volkswagen Tiguan R-Line to get Level 2 ADAS, 9 airbags

Volkswagen is all set to launch the Tiguan R-Line in India later this month. The carmaker has now shared some more details of the upcoming model.

VW Tiguan R Line to be launched on April 14. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 49 lakhs-image-1-allnew-tiguan-rline.jpg

The Tiguan R-Line is based on the MQB evo platform. It features VW’s 4Motion all-wheel drive system with a new generation of Dynamic Chassis Control (DCC Pro) and a Vehicle Dynamics Manager that controls functions of electronic differential locks (XDS) and shock absorbers. The system can also apply brake pressure to individual wheels and control shock absorber damping to offer neutral, stable and precise driving.

The Tiguan R-Line will be equipped with Level 2 ADAS, with 21 driver assistance and safety features. These include lane change assist, rear traffic alert, emergency braking system, lane keeping assist, Park Assist Plus and Active Cruise Control.

VW Tiguan R Line to be launched on April 14. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 49 lakhs-image-2-allnew-tiguan-rline.jpg

The R-Line version of the Tiguan will also come with 9 airbags, TPMS, Hill Start Assist, Hill Descent Control, and disc brakes on all four wheels.

In India, the Tiguan R-Line will be offered with a 2.0-litre turbo-petrol engine producing 201 BHP and 320 Nm. The engine will be paired with a 7-speed DSG.

Link to Team-BHP news

Last edited by TusharK : 1st April 2025 at 17:45.
TusharK is online now   (15) Thanks
Old 1st April 2025, 18:54   #56

The wheels make the Tiguan look like a toy car than a nice SUV option for those who like good value and understated car. I preferred the older design language.
click is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd April 2025, 11:04   #57

Good offering from VW and has good engine+ features, however at 60L+ there may not be many takers.

At that price Audi Q3 /Sportback is quite a good option despite missing kit.
Old 2nd April 2025, 12:22   #58

Originally Posted by PrideRed View Post
Good offering from VW and has good engine+ features, however at 60L+ there may not be many takers.

At that price Audi Q3 /Sportback is quite a good option despite missing kit.
The OTR in Bengaluru for Audi Q3 Premium Plus is 62 lacs when I recently checked. I am guessing Q3 Sportback will command a premium over this price.

Q3 sportback has lesser rear space, and also misses out on massage, memory and ventillated seats. If you look past the badge value, VW has a compelling product here.
Old 2nd April 2025, 13:22   #59

Originally Posted by volkchan1 View Post
The OTR in Bengaluru for Audi Q3 Premium Plus is 62 lacs when I recently checked. I am guessing Q3 Sportback will command a premium over this price.

Q3 sportback has lesser rear space, and also misses out on massage, memory and ventillated seats. If you look past the badge value, VW has a compelling product here.
Audi usually has good discounts running throughout the year. At 60L for Tiguan, I am sure one can find a Q3 at cheaper price.

Tiguan has space and feature advantage, Audi has better brand value and nicer interiors, I would pick latter especially if it cost same or less(likely).
PrideRed is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd April 2025, 13:37   #60

Audi usually has good discounts running throughout the year. At 60L for Tiguan, I am sure one can find a Q3 at cheaper price.
The price I quoted was post discount, and it was for the Premium Plus which doesn't come with automatic tailgate. Premium maybe cheaper but then it misses out on features.

Tiguan has space and feature advantage, Audi has better brand value and nicer interiors, I would pick latter especially if it cost same or less(likely).
I can understand, I have been evaulating both and I am leaning towards Tiguan because of the space, also I believe ADAS functionlity is something that may prove to be useful in Highways.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com