Old 8th March 2025, 13:11   #1

The 2025 Thread: Which upcoming cars are you most excited about?

Last year, we had a thread on the cars that were likely to be launched in the year that excited us the most. Here is the 2025 edition of the same.

Here's my list.

BYD Sealion 7

The 2025 Thread: Which upcoming cars are you most excited about?-byd-sealion-7.jpg

With 523 BHP & 690 Nm on tap it was one EV that I wanted to get my hands on. It was displayed at the Auto Expo in January and in February, at the media drive, I got to experience it. The car didn't disappoint. With a price tag of under 60 lakhs, this is one of the best EVs money can buy.

VW Golf GTI

The 2025 Thread: Which upcoming cars are you most excited about?-golfgtregisterdesktop.jpeg

Earlier this week, VW announced that it will be bringing the Golf GTI to India in the second quarter of 2025. Being a CBU, I know it's not going to be cheap, but who won't be excited by the thought of a hot hatch that puts out more than 260 BHP & 370 Nm? The Golf GTI is nothing short of an icon.

Tata Sierra

The 2025 Thread: Which upcoming cars are you most excited about?-tata-sierra.jpeg

Late last year, Tata Motors announced at it plans to bring back one of its legendary models - the Sierra. The company then went on to show the car at the 2025 Auto Expo. Those of us who have been fans of the old Sierra, are waiting for the car to hit the roads. I know, it's not got the 3-door configuration of the old car, but still, I like what I see.

Aston Martin Vanquish

The 2025 Thread: Which upcoming cars are you most excited about?-aston_martin_vanquish_6.jpg

Aston Martin will launch the Mark 3 Vanquish in India on March 22. I know it will be super expensive and irrelevant to most of us, but alongside the Porsche 911 and the Range Rover, it's my favourite car in the world. Obviously, I am excited that it is coming to India!

So, what upcoming cars (in 2025) are you most excited about?
Aditya is offline   (27) Thanks
Old 8th March 2025, 13:26   #2

Re: The 2025 Thread: Which upcoming cars are you most excited about?

Tata:
Am eagerly waiting for the Sierra EV & and ICE , along with the Harrier EV. This should inspire the other carmakers to venture into larger EV's. (eg. XUV700 EV).

The 2025 Thread: Which upcoming cars are you most excited about?-harrier-ev.jpeg

Maruti Suzuki E-Vitara:

Waiting to see how the market will take it. Checked it out at a mall recently, left a good impression overall. Quality of materials used was also okay.

The 2025 Thread: Which upcoming cars are you most excited about?-evitara.jpeg

Tesla:
Apart from the other facelifts and mid life refurbishments,really excited to see Tesla coming to India. There are mixed opinions on quality and pricing but hoping for the positive.

The 2025 Thread: Which upcoming cars are you most excited about?-tesla.jpeg

(Image credits to respective owners)

Last edited by arnav17 : 8th March 2025 at 13:28.
arnav17 is online now   (10) Thanks
Old 8th March 2025, 14:29   #3

I am eagerly waiting for the the third-generation Volkswagen Tiguan 2025 R-line. I spoke to an SA who mentioned that they expect it before the end of the year and that it will come with 15" screen, and a more tuned engine. One of the complaints of the current generation tiguan is that the suspension is on the stiffer side, the new model has adaptive suspension, so look forward to test-driving it.

The 2025 Thread: Which upcoming cars are you most excited about?-original184292025vwtiguanrlineascottgreysamdobbins20241167enhancednrrt.jpg
volkchan1 is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 8th March 2025, 16:49   #4

1) Skoda Octavia Diesel and VRS:

I am eagerly waiting for these cars to hit the Indian shores. Even though they are CBU and priced insanely, I would love for these to hit the pre-loved market to take one in a bargain.

The 2025 Thread: Which upcoming cars are you most excited about?-2024skodaoctaviafaceliftsketchesteased4.png

2) Skoda Kodiaq VRS:

One more practical yet fun cars under 1 crore. 260 HP on a family SUV is no joke, and I really wish this car to create a niche segment, just like the Octavia VRS 230/245 did.

The 2025 Thread: Which upcoming cars are you most excited about?-01_skoda_kodiaq_rs.jpg

3) Vinfast VF6/VF7/VF9:

These are EVs I'd genuinely want India to drive, after the BYDs. Advanced, sophisticated and truly close to an ICE experience sans the sound.

The 2025 Thread: Which upcoming cars are you most excited about?-2024vinfastvf9exterior108jpg6553cb187fb99.jpg

Hoping 2025 to be one heck of a year for us car freaks!

Last edited by mgastor2022grey : 8th March 2025 at 16:49. Reason: typos
mgastor2022grey is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 8th March 2025, 17:45   #5

I am not excited about any specific vehicle as such but waiting to see what this year holds in store in terms of EVs for the Indian market, Maruti, Hyundai, Kia, Mahindra, Tata, MG, BYD and even Tesla seem to have thrown their hat into the mix. Can't wait to see what these launches offer!
bijims is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 9th March 2025, 10:28   #6

Toyota Urban Cruiser EV - personally I love the design of this car. I find the design more appealing than its Suzuki twin. Can’t wait to test-drive it when it launches.
Old 9th March 2025, 12:12   #7

Skoda Kodiaq - My friend is looking for a new car (current car is 10 year old Octavia, his first car). We will check Kodiaq first and if he does not like it, we will increase the budget and go for something in the luxury segment.

Tata Sierra - If Tata fixes their irritating QC issues, we may consider it.
Latheesh is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 9th March 2025, 12:26   #8

Skoda Superb

It a brilliant car and an excellent package there is even a chance of the diesel coming back

Now only if they price it right!
The 2025 Thread: Which upcoming cars are you most excited about?-img_7010.jpeg  

Last edited by suhaas307 : 9th March 2025 at 14:16. Reason: Spacing and formatting
VIN No is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 9th March 2025, 12:31   #9

The Golf GTI has me excited in a way I cannot fathom. I even mentally made a note of how easier my parking would be with a 30cm shorter length as a result of this 'upgrade'.
GeeTee TSI is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 9th March 2025, 12:39   #10

Ill actually go out and say I am least interested in anything launching this year. I am rather more focussed on maintaining my steeds well.
coolmel is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 9th March 2025, 13:17   #11

I'm actually waiting for one, just one, value oriented car in 2025. I feel car prices have become high for almost no reason at all since covid hit us.

In 1999, I bought a zen for Rs 3.8 lakhs on road. In 2017, I picked up an Alto for Rs 3.3 lakhs on road. The Alto had a better engine and more features and a lower price than the Zen after 18 years!

Now in 2025, its prices start at Rs 5 lakh for the (almost) same car. Doesn't seem to make any sense, does it? There literally are no new features, or just a minimal few additional ones, but the price has gone up 50% or more in the last 7 years. One can say there is a small screen, and airbags and a few more features, but none of this seems to justify the increase of 50% plusin rhe cost. No wonder the small car segment is sluggish!

Last edited by suhaas307 : 9th March 2025 at 14:15. Reason: Spacing and formatting
pheru8b is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 9th March 2025, 13:23   #12

Infractions: 0/1 (3)

This is the year I will finally trade in my 2017 Nexon for a Tata Sierra Diesel Auto

Sebring is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 9th March 2025, 13:23   #13

Originally Posted by pheru8b View Post
I'm actually waiting for one, just one, value oriented car in 2025. I feel car prices have become high for almost no reason at all since covid hit us.
In 1999, I bought a zen for Rs 3.8 lakhs on road. In 2017, I picked up an Alto for Rs 3.3 lakhs on road. The Alto had a better engine and more features and a lower price than the Zen after 18 years!

Now in 2025, its prices start at Rs 5 lakh for the (almost) same car. Doesn't seem to make any sense, does it? There literally are no new features, or just a minimal few additional ones, but the price has gone up 50% or more in the last 7 years. One can say there is a small screen, and airbags and a few more features, but none of this seems to justify the increase of 50% plusin rhe cost. No wonder the small car segment is sluggish!
BS6 was the biggest reason. A tax revision is needed to rationalize the BS6 effect on car prices
Old 9th March 2025, 13:42   #14

I'm really excited and curious about BE 6E and XEV 9E, I know they already launched and even bookings started. But I'm keen towards how these cars will perform in real world and how Mahindra will scale up themselves to offer best service etc.

I'm assuming most of these initial buyers might be first time EV users, so with the given EV infra challenges, I would like to read/watch more reviews or experiences from users of these cars, instead of paid journos who never add any value.
ramki.grandhi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th March 2025, 13:47   #15

Originally Posted by volkchan1 View Post
I am eagerly waiting for the the third-generation Volkswagen Tiguan 2025 R-line. I spoke to an SA who mentioned that they expect it before the end of the year and that it will come with 15" screen, and a more tuned engine. One of the complaints of the current generation tiguan is that the suspension is on the stiffer side, the new model has adaptive suspension, so look forward to test-driving it.

Attachment 2734033
Plus one to VW Tiguan R Line, in particular the Plug-in Hybrid version. Will be interesting to see the pricing for this spec if all it's launched. TBH not expecting lucrative pricing from VW, but at least that would provide the much-needed boost to the PHEV scene in India.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com