Old 15th February 2025, 08:35   #76

Re: Best 2-Car garage under 25 lakh rupees?

Minimum of two cars. Ex-showroom price. So going to keep it brand new garage. Used will be wild.

If we had 25 lakhs for a two car garage today. Listing out the most probable first, and the least probable garage in the bottom.

Option 1: This is a given and most likely that would happen in my house

Innova Crysta GX & Maruti Spresso VXI AMT
Or
Innova Hycross GX & Maruti Alto LXI MT

Option 2:

Roxx MX3 D AT 2WD & Ignis Zeta MT

Option 3:

Syros HTX D AT & Kylaq Classic

Option 4:

Sonet HTX D AT & i20 N-line N6

Option 5:

Carens D AT & Tiago EV

Last edited by DicKy : 15th February 2025 at 08:39.
DicKy is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th February 2025, 09:41   #77

My current garage fits the bill:

1. Nissan Kicks Diesel bought in peak of COVID lockdown, which coincided with BS4 to BS6 transmission, so I got a very good deal of INR 11 lacs on road for one lower version than the top. Given it is the K9K diesel engine workhorse with decent fun to drive factor, it’s a good car to have.
2. Mahindra Thar Diesel Automatic Convertible Top 4X4 I got it just two months back and in absolute love with it. With the practicality of Nissan Kicks, I thought I could do with some impracticality and hence Thar and hence Convertible Top

Best 2-Car garage under 25 lakh rupees?-img_5929.jpeg

Best 2-Car garage under 25 lakh rupees?-img_0901.jpeg
sahil624 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 15th February 2025, 10:07   #78

My 1 car and 1 motorcycle garage will be:

1) Skoda Kylaq Prestige 1.0 MT - 13.x L
2) Triumph Street Triple RS - 12.x L
Waspune is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th February 2025, 11:58   #79

My current 1 car and 1 bike garage is

1. 2018 Suzuki Swift ZXi MT - 7.5 lakhs
2. 2017 Pulsar 135LS - 75k

My future 1 car and 1 bike garage will be (planning to upgrade in a year or so as my family has become 4)

1. Tata Curvv Accomplished S 1.2 Hyperion GDI Petrol 7DCA - 17.6 lakhs
2. TVS Ntorq - 95k

PS: Actually waiting for Tata Sierra 1.5 Hyperion GDI petrol to launch this year. Then will decide whether I have to stick to Curvv or go with Sierra.
NaviSwift07 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th February 2025, 16:05   #80

Great idea for a thread OP. I’m proposing 3 options to chose from. (all prices are ex-showroom)

Absolute VFM option (25.13 L)

1. Kylak Signature AT - 10.59
Competent daily driver for the City and highway. Will keep enthusiastic drivers happy too.

2. Carens Gravity 1.5P Turbo iMT - 13.6
Well packaged 7-seater for when the in-laws are in town or large families with pets. The 1.5 turbo iMT is no slouch on the highway too and gives clutch less comfort with control of a manual, more powerful than the 1.5NA.

3. TVS NTorq Disc - 0.94
Best fun to ride 125cc scooter. Can be used by young and old without hassle. Good for those quick and short city runs.

The Adventure seekers option (25.39 L)

1. Jimny Alpha AT - 14.80
For all the obvious reasons and can also double up as a daily runabout. For those who do light trails and soft roading the Thar Roxx P-AT MX3 at 14.99 is the other choice here.

2. Kylak Signature AT - 10.59
Reasons already explained above.

Pure Drivers option (25.58 L)

1. Salvia 1.5 Signature DSG - 16.7
Explosive engine and performance. Great car for a single garage too. Decent value.

2. Fronx Delta 1.2 AMT - 8.88
This is sort of a compromise but it is still a Good beater/town car. Does all things well enough. Yes the engine+transmission is not the quickest but this car will make you appreciate the Slavia DSG even more. Easy on the pocket and has Marutis usual strengths.

John316_WRC is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th February 2025, 16:18   #81

S-presso AMT for city runabouts and
Kia Carens or Ertiga or XL6AT (XL7 if I am lucky) for other uses

Last edited by mohan41 : 15th February 2025 at 16:19.
mohan41 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th February 2025, 17:31   #82

Not exactly by design, but till a month back I had following two in my garage.

1. Ford Fiesta (Global) in diesel
2. Kiger - Turbo CVT

Two very different cars in character, together formed a nice combination. The advantage was their versatility. On a given day, anyone could have been used as beater or for highway (through Ford used to be in its elements on highways).

It changed when Fiesta had to go on completing ten years on roads, as regulated within NCR. I know that won't get a true replacement, so not even looking for. The next one is quite likely to be relatively sober and practical petrol car. Running is about 600km per month, so not in mood for splurging.

Last edited by rsm97 : 15th February 2025 at 17:34.
rsm97 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th February 2025, 17:36   #83

My 2-car garage is as follows

XUV5OO W10 Diesel MT - Ex Showroom was 16 lakhs - Used for highway runs. Supremely comfortable on long drives. Ample space to keep your luggage and sleep too.

Jimny Alpha AT - 12 Lakhs (on road) - Used for city rides and exploring Western Ghats without worrying about terrain.

Best 2-Car garage under 25 lakh rupees?-img_1032.jpg

Best 2-Car garage under 25 lakh rupees?-img_1031.jpg

I had eighteen years old Santro Xing too which I sold recently. It was a beater car, and it was fun to drive, easy to park, without worrying about parking challenges.
dicor is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 15th February 2025, 18:20   #84

I have 2 garage options for this budget

Garage 1 - only used cars
1. Tata Safari Storme VX Varicor 400 2.2l Diesel Manual (2017-19) - 7.5lakhs
2. Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0l Diesel Manual (2008-2012) - 2.5lakhs
3. BMW 320D Diesel Automatic (2017-18) - 15lakhs

Garage 2 - both used and new cars
1. Suzuki Jimny Zeta Petrol Manual (new) - 12.75lakhs Ex-Showroom
2. Toyota Innova Crysta 2.4l Diesel Manual (2018-19) - 12.5lakhs
This combination would increase the budget by 25k but i think that would be ok
vikalp1718 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th February 2025, 19:50   #85

For me it would be
1. Baleno Delta CNG/Punch EV base for the city usage about 10L
2. VW Virtus GT Line Manual 16.2L for the highway usage

I also wanted to include an EV for city usage because it really eases the city driving experience and easy on pocket.

I was really tempted by Thar ROXX but when it Comes to practicality it really seems far fetched at the moment. For city it's size and for highway the comfort, both kept me away from it. It is really a great vehicle but not suited for elders.
IRideScent is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 17th February 2025, 01:07   #86

Now that used cars are also a possibility, I’d like to add my contenders to the list. To give a little introduction before listing them out, I am not going to be listing out any cars that I have owned as that would be pointless. Most of us own and operate cars that fit well under this budget and listing the same cars that we own, I feel detracts from the joy of coming up with a dream garage. I will also be only listing out manual transmission cars as I have never been convinced by automatics and now that EVs are out, I firmly believe that an EV with a single or just a few gear ratios and a well calibrated throttle response, will outshine any conventional automatic gearbox on regular roads (on track a dual clutch automatic will obviously be the best choice) since I do not like wasting time in the wrong gear with the wrong amount of drive. Lastly, I will stick to used cars as I feel new cars within this budget are a bit boring and not worth it IMO. All the projected costs are safe estimates and one may even end up with money to spare by the end of my list.

Chevrolet Spark a narrow bodied car is an absolute must in anyone’s garage if they want to reserve the option of getting anywhere, sooner without having to ride a two wheeler and go through pollution and whatever the weather has in store for them. A modern day Alto would do the trick just fine but a three cylinder is too much of a compromise in refinement when such cars are anyway as rudimentary and basic as it gets. The Spark would be cheap as chips to acquire and maintain. That combined with the excellent ergos, visibility and small footprint make such a car invaluable. Also sometimes it is nice to have a humble option to use in ones garage especially when trying not to exude wealth or an unnecessarily lavish lifestyle. For example when meeting a vendor or a customer. Estimate- 2lacs for a clean well kept example including the cost of a service and new tyres

Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 tsi No dream garage is complete in my view, without a low slung sedan and the 1.4tsi motor would provide a bonus of great fuel economy considering we cannot anyway wring out a 2 liter or 2.4 liter engine on most Indian roads within the city or out on the highway. The other reason I would like to go with the Jetta is because none of the new VAG offerings like Slavia/Taigun feel as robust as the old ones. A simple knock test in my society parking between a Taigun, a Brezza and a Vento confirmed what I suspected; all panels on the Taigun and the Brezza from the bonnet to the quarter panels, door panels and even the roof, felt the same. The old Vento gave the solid feel we typically associate with German cars and since I have never owned one, I would like to go with the Jetta rather than an adulterated version of the same in the form of their newer offerings. Estimate: 8lacs for a neat example including a thorough overhaul of whatever is required and then another 5 lacs on mods because there’s nearly infinite aftermarket upgrades for these cars.

With the remaining 10 lacs I will search for something with more space and practicality. A polished, relatively new, no nonsense option would be a petrol S-Cross another interesting one would be an Isuzu DMax with commercial plates this would prove very useful for my business and to move stuff here and there.

Last edited by IshaanIan : 17th February 2025 at 01:25.
IshaanIan is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 17th February 2025, 10:56   #87

1. Honda City V: 14.50 Lakhs. I own the 2023 facelift and its a beater car. A bit long for parking in the city and can only seat a family. Alternative would be the Elevate. Reliable and can take rough handling.

2. Kylaq/Fronx AT: 10.5 Lakhs. I don't own either of these cars but they would be the best alternative secondary cars. Safe and easy to park around the city and can do highway runs without a problem.

My Garage: 1. Honda City 2023 Facelift, 2. Honda Activa 3G 2016 and 3. Honda H'ness CB350 2024

Last edited by broke_enthu27 : 17th February 2025 at 11:00.
broke_enthu27 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th February 2025, 12:16   #88

Current garage fits, though it's sub-25Lac.

First car is a 2006 Corolla with 1.3 Lac kms on the odo. Second car is a 2017 Crysta 2.7AT petrol. Both purchased used - Corolla in 2007 at 5 Lac and Crysta in 2022 at 15.5 Lac.

Edit - Missed adding the 2018 RE Himalayan that continues to be part of the garage

Last edited by sam_babushka : 17th February 2025 at 12:17. Reason: Missed adding one detail
sam_babushka is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th February 2025, 13:27   #89

With a budget of 25 lakh, the ideal 2-car garage in my opinion would consist of one car for city duties exclusively, and one that can could do it all, including highway duties and fun weekend drives.

For this reason, I have shortlisted the following:

1) MG Comet (7.5 lakh):

Best 2-Car garage under 25 lakh rupees?-img_3955.jpeg

Despite its appalling ride quality on less-than-perfect roads, the Comet makes a compelling case for itself thanks to its compact dimensions and reasonably spacious interiors. Also, I am of the firm belief that if one requires a car for city commutes exclusively, an EV is the only way to go considering its low running costs. Furthermore, commuting / A-to-B duties do not necessitate a large / fancy ICE car - what one requires is a white-good - which the Comet is!

2) VW Taigun 1.5 TSI DSG / Skoda Kushaq 1.5 TSI DSG (17.5 lakh ex showroom):

Best 2-Car garage under 25 lakh rupees?-img_3956.jpeg

It’s the perfect do-it-all car that offers decent accommodation, good ground clearance, ample power and performance for highway duties, and good ride/handling for weekend blasts.

HOWEVER:

If one is feeling adventurous and open to exploring the used car market for the second (do-it-all) car, the world is your oyster. One can consider a range of used executive / premium cars for 17.5 lakh like:

Best 2-Car garage under 25 lakh rupees?-img_3957.jpeg

Best 2-Car garage under 25 lakh rupees?-img_3958.jpeg

1) Octavia 1.8 TSI / vRS 230 (if you’re lucky), 2) BMW F30 328i / 330i / 320d, 3) BMW X1 (if a crossover is what you prefer), 4) Mercedes C-Class / GLA, 5) Audi Q3 TDI / TFSI Quattro.

Another interesting left-field option for the 2nd car would be to buy a Jimny, either lightly used or on discount from the showroom:

Best 2-Car garage under 25 lakh rupees?-img_3959.jpeg

With the money saved, installing a supercharger / turbocharger and swapping the suspension with components for better performance, drivability and handling on highways + rough roads would be a good idea.
suhaas307 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th February 2025, 16:15   #90

Jimny AT @ 13-14L for myself and Kylaq AT @ 11-12L for my wife. Both cars are sufficient for my 2+2 family and will take us anywhere inside the city or to the countryside easily.
Comrade is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com