View Poll Results: Which is YOUR car of 2024?
Maruti Swift 17 0.84%
Maruti Dzire 379 18.83%
Toyota Urban Cruiser Taisor 10 0.50%
Citroen Basalt 67 3.33%
Tata Punch EV 80 3.97%
Tata Curvv 167 8.30%
Mahindra Thar Roxx 870 43.22%
MG Windsor 187 9.29%
Force Gurkha 5-door 25 1.24%
BYD eMax 7 14 0.70%
BYD Seal 159 7.90%
Mini Cooper S 13 0.65%
Nissan X-Trail 3 0.15%
Kia Carnival 22 1.09%
Voters: 2013. You may not vote on this poll

Old 9th December 2024, 11:07   #196

re: Team-BHP Car of the Year, 2024 | EDIT: It's the Thar Roxx

Voted for Dzire, only because Maruti for the 1st time has got 5 star ratings (albeit there are lots of videos highlighting it as paid) which means that the popular Mass Market Segment leader has now finally started thinking about safety.

The other fantastic car which I could have voted, if not Dzrie, would have been MG Windsor. It is very unlike any car in India, feels like a luxurious 4 BHK on wheels . The car is bringing some good numbers for MG brand and I genuinely feel that with JSW at the reins, they can do away with Chinese designs.
GauRanVid is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th December 2024, 11:10   #197

Voted for Thar Roxx for the hype it generated. I personally didn't find the look very inspiring. No novelty, just an extension of Thar.

Personally i liked Tata Curvv. That really caught my eye. But that car is unlikely to sell much in its competitive SUV space.
Old 9th December 2024, 11:11   #198

Voted for the Roxx. For me, it was between Roxx which was a bull's eye in all aspects vs Windsor which is trying to democratize the EV adoption rate. I initially had concerns about Roxx's ride quality but that's now sorted with the 18-inch + 30 psi pressure on tyres.
Windsor's downside is its low battery capacity and undermining physical buttons instead of touch controls for cost-cutting. And in the brain vs heart fight, the heart won simply since was waiting to own a thar for more than a decade!!!
B5glider is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th December 2024, 11:24   #199

Though a bit late, but I found Hyundai Creta (2024 Facelift) to be a big miss from the list.

Creta since it's launch in Jan-24 has been among the Top-3 sold cars in each month.

P.S.: Voted for Dzire among the options, as this car will truly bring safe cars to masses, both private owners and cabs.
Aniket Verma is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th December 2024, 12:10   #200

Voted for Thar Roxx
Old 9th December 2024, 12:30   #201

Some very strong contenders this time around!

After much deliberation, I decided to vote for Dzire. Sedan segment is on a deathbed and kudos to Maruti for keeping this segment alive. Happy to see 5 star safety coming from Maruti and a modern looking sedan best suited for urban duties. I still haven't driven this car, so will reserve my judgement on 3 cylinder performance and AMT improvement as compared to the other siblings(Baleno, Fronx) but from early reviews, Dzire seem to be better tuned as compared to Swift.

I really wanted to vote for Thar Roxx(like many of you already did) but it is yet another SUV(in this case literally extended thar) so misses out on novelty.
Old 9th December 2024, 13:58   #202

Voted for BYD Seal.
All other cars are doing what they were doing in previous iterations. BYD really blew me away with its style and pricing. Also, kudos to BYD for launching a car in the dying sedan segment.
ghost-was-here is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th December 2024, 14:30   #203

Originally Posted by soulkarma View Post
Voted for Tata Punch EV
1 - Best value for money at 15 lakhs
2 - Best feature packed city car
3 - Easy to drive in traffic & park
4 - Amazing torque for this size of car - Best in class
5 - Very stable & planted on road
6 - Very good suspensions
I'd say a car is both parts the car package + the service. That undervalued any tata by about 50% in my books.

Given the BE 6* at 18.9L, it becomes difficult to see the value of the punch at 15L. Even 14, if I were splitting hair.

Also I dispute the torque advantage of the punch. The 400 is going for pretty good prices given their perpetual discounts. It's tremendously higher torque wise.. And it's not like Tata has torque to weight on its side by a landslide, either.

A punch is anything but stable and planted. Maybe I'm based, but an EV convert will only be stiffer than the ICE variant than the one that I already own.

-----
My choice - BE 6* or whatever they're calling it today. I'm amazed how it isn't on the list. The VFM is off the charts. It's driven me to sell my Thar 3D which I was very happy with (well I haven't sold it yet, so anyone in noida, hit me up.) The car's been launched. The review is live. What stops it from figuring on the list?

-----

Of the given options, the Roxx. Why? Well, it's perfect.
But alas it barely does anything more than what I already have - a scorpio N and a thar 22, both 4x4.

Last edited by wooka : 9th December 2024 at 14:34.
wooka is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th December 2024, 14:48   #204

Even I voted for the BYD Seal. It was the only significant vehicle in terms of offering something different in my view.
Thar Roxx is basically an OEM version of some things which were being done in jugaad. But still, it has made Thar a more acceptable vehicle to a larger segment of customers, so a close second.

I was personally vested in the X-trail, but it is a "post dated cheque in a crashing bank".
A much delayed, expensive product, which offers a lot less than equivalents elsewhere.
Old 9th December 2024, 15:08   #205

Voted for the Thar Roxx...!

The ardent task of managing the vehicle dynamics, Mahindra really muscled up a lot of work, of course, some improvements are definitely needed but this package is well rounded in my personal liking.
Old 9th December 2024, 16:43   #206

Voted for Thar Roxx. Seems like Mahindra is clicking all the right notes these days and my confidence has increased on their brand!
Old 9th December 2024, 16:47   #207

Originally Posted by chinkara View Post

Thar Roxx is basically an OEM version of some things which were being done in jugaad. But still, it has made Thar a more acceptable vehicle to a larger segment of customers, so a close second.
Voted for Thar Roxx.

I respectfully disagree with your analysis that the Thar Roxx is akin to some form of OEM jugaad. It is a completely new vehicle, built from the ground up in all aspects, with extensive research and testing involved in its development. It is definitely not a jugaad like the Tata Curvv! (No offense to Curvv owners)
Old 9th December 2024, 17:15   #208

I never thought that I would vote for a Maruti car but they surprised us all.

Voted for Maruti Dzire.

This is reliable.
This is fuel efficient.
This is GNCAP 5 star rated.
This is value for money.

This is my car of the year.

Last edited by khanmaj : 9th December 2024 at 17:16.
Old 9th December 2024, 17:53   #209

I voted for Mahindra Thar Roxx. The car ticks all the boxes whether it be the styling, interiors, loads of features, inside space, boot space, powerful engines, good pricing. The only problem with it is that it is a mahindra and their new launches are known to have niggles.

Second for me would be the Citroen Basalt. Couple type look, stylish interiors at an incredible price, though being a Citroen it has not exactly taken off and remains a very low selling product.
Old 9th December 2024, 18:45   #210

I voted for the Thar Roxx simply because this model is a great looker, and this comes with all the features loaded to the brim. It is offered in both the fuel choices of diesel and petrol engines with excellent power on the tap with MT and AT GB’s. I hugely appreciate the M&M brand for churning out great products year on year and they sure have hit the bulls’ eye this time around and hope that the model is niggle free one. This model is surely a dream buy for me in the future.
Tata Curve comes a close second because the coupe style design is a daring one and pitches the Tata’s in the uncharted territory and its noteworthy to note that they are tasting success in this segment. The model looks cute with the typical Tata signature language. The model comes with different engines in both the fuel types of petrol and diesel and equipped with MT and AT gear boxes. Tata’s were smart enough to launch this in the EV avatar as well to have best of both the worlds.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com