Old 22nd October 2024, 14:46   #31

Re: 2025 Jeep Meridian launched in India; gets ADAS and more

Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
GTO, I agree with you but I feel Jeep India has somewhat irretrievably destroyed it's reputation with the constant niggles, inconsistent service experience, patchy dealer network and last (but not the least), the abysmal resale value!

At least in BLR + among my pan-India extended friend / colleague circles, Jeep is simply not in the mind space of anyone considering a SUV. It unfortunately falls in between the VFM Safari, Hector Plus, Roxx and the 'badge' Audi Q3, X1 etc.

I love the Meridian's looks myself, but cannot risk buying one.
Frankly the noise around niggles and service experience of Jeeps in India is blown out of proportion. The Diesel engine does duty in the harrier and hector and has proved it's reliability over the years. I myself have a 1.4 Petrol automatic that's done ~30k KM, and have had a good experience so far, as have many Jeep owners in my circle. Yes there are rattling issues that bother me occasionally, but other cars have them too (and have other types of issues as well)
sid3091 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 22nd October 2024, 15:16   #32

Decent starting price for what is a good-looking, well-sized, solidly built and well-mannered SUV . The Diesel AT combination is also decent to drive, even if the gearbox doesn't have the smartest tuning.

If the Jeep Meridian would have been properly priced from day 1, things would be very different. Now, Jeep needs to correct the stiff AT premiums, although the inevitable discounts will take care of that.
Valid point of view GTO. I have been driving a compass since 2020, pre-facelift variant, 4x4 AT. The only two positives are build quality and it being a great highway cruiser. There are many issues with the car at that price point, rear seat space is below average, especially if you are family with everyone being 5.6 - 5.10 footers. Engine gear box combination is quite bad. Replacement parts are expensive (front wipers, for example cost you 5K). Rattles and squeaks are terrible, even the ASC people cannot fix it.

In Meridian, this is exactly the same. Rear bench space is equal to that of compass. They cannot improve it by offering a sliding mechanism because of the rear wheels and pushing them back for wheelbase means a big engineering change.

I have always wondered about the company's deep pockets though! how can one survive by selling just about 300 cars in a month? Then I realized that their main stream of revenue may be coming from selling engines to Tata and MG.
Bsreecharan is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 22nd October 2024, 18:51   #33

Can't figure out what was going in the mind of guy who was deciding what creature comforts should go inside every manual model of Compass and Meridian.
They lost me as a customer, earlier on Compass and now on Meridian for not providing something as commonplace as' cruise control' even in top trim of manual transmission. let alone in base model.
A shame really.
HereticHermit is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd October 2024, 19:46   #34

• Longitude - Rs. 28,49,000 (Premium of 3.5L over manual gearbox)
  • Longitude Plus - Rs. 30,49,000 (Premium of 3L over manual gearbox)
  • Limited (O) - Rs. 34,49,000 (Premium of 4L over manual gearbox)
  • Overland stated above comes only in Auto-box
Overland 4x4 - 38,49,000. I think this is 1 lac lesser than earlier Overland 4x4 with added ADAS and connected features.
prajosh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd October 2024, 12:21   #35

Great pricing from Jeep for sure. In Pune one can get Meridian below 30 Lakhs now which is really great. Somebody who is thinking of buying Harrier / Safari, XUV700, MG Hector can certainly give it a look. For the money you are paying, you will get really big car with loads of space and road presence. Worth the money IMO.

Every car has its own pros and cons, so as Jeep. It is considered to be a luxury brand and as others has, it also has its own issues. But they are not so much that one cannot buy it. One can certainly live with those.
aniketi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd October 2024, 18:13   #36

Jeep has rolled the dice one more time - They are battling on three fronts

(1) Deep discounting across all brands which will make Jeep customers to expect discounts even on these lowered prices, especially on the AT models.

(2) Reliability concerns - No matter what Jeep loyalists claim, the common issues around Jeep are way over what they are positioning to compete against - Kodiaq and Fortuner. Never expected Skoda to win a reliability contest so easily in India!

(3) No petrol option and diesel option returning mileage just a bit over Kodiaq petrol makes the decision to buy so much more difficult, given the NCR bans for 10 year diesels and general decline in demand for diesel cars globally.

What was really needed was the following
(1) Introduction of a petrol engine
(2) Tuning of diesel engine to provide better performance AND mileage - to justify the risk of buying a diesel in 2024/5
(3) Long term warranty / service plans - say like 7 years

IMHO These 3 steps would have worked much better than adding a few features and reducing the price. Neither the lack of features or the high price were among the biggest concerns for prospective Meridian customers.
soarersc300 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 24th October 2024, 09:25   #37

Originally Posted by viren83 View Post

The Auto-transmission on similar variants are steeply priced!
  • Longitude - Rs. 28,49,000 (Premium of 3.5L over manual gearbox)
  • Longitude Plus - Rs. 30,49,000 (Premium of 3L over manual gearbox)
  • Limited (O) - Rs. 34,49,000 (Premium of 4L over manual gearbox)
  • Overland stated above comes only in Auto-box

Overall, I'm happy that buyers can choose a well engineered product at a much lower price. This is a timeless design.
Is there really a price cut? I bought the Limited(O) FWD AT last year at ~34L ex-showroom and it's almost the same price even now.

Probably the manual transmission variants have become cheaper and then the launch of more affordable Longitude variants is a welcome move.

I've been using a Meridian since last 1 year. Done 2 cross-country trips last year and the odo now stands at 22,000 kms. I am just loving it on the long trips. The way this car glides over rough roads is just extraordinary. Blog on my recent trip to Himalayas is coming soon.
anshumandun is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 24th October 2024, 11:51   #38

Does this means jeep compass also will get a revision and a price cut soon?
Old 25th October 2024, 15:51   #39

Originally Posted by anshumandun View Post
Is there really a price cut? I bought the Limited(O) FWD AT last year at ~34L ex-showroom and it's almost the same price even now.

Probably the manual transmission variants have become cheaper and then the launch of more affordable Longitude variants is a welcome move.
For Limited(O) as well as Overland variants, price is same or slightly lower but with added features. Were there connected car features in limited(O) earlier?
Old 27th October 2024, 09:05   #40

Has anyone managed to grab the brochure/ spec-sheet? It would be helpful for the readers if it can be shared here. Thanks in advance!
AnkitShroff is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th October 2024, 09:50   #41

When we were invited by Stellantis for the Meridian launch / press event and drive several years ago, we remarked that it’s a good looking car, with a decent drivetrain and well appointed interiors.

While discussing the proposed price-tag, we mentioned that the Meridian would do well if it’s priced about 2-3 lakh above the Compass at the most, variant for variant, given that it’s nothing more than a dolled-up Compass with a 3rd row and an extended wheelbase.

However, we were taken aback by the company’s insistence to place the Meridian a full segment above the Compass.

Stellantis took offence to our views, and suggested that the Meridian being a segment above, is not to be confused with the Compass and is in a class of its own.

We suggested that the Meridian will not be well received by the market, if priced a full segment above. And well, what do you know? It was priced significantly higher than the Compass, variant for variant, and it bombed badly, forcing Jeep to revisit their pricing strategy.

It’s definitely better value today after the price correction, but I still get the feeling Stellantis is caught staring at headlights like cows on a highway in Rajasthan.
suhaas307 is offline   (20) Thanks
Old 30th October 2024, 09:56   #42

Originally Posted by AnkitShroff View Post
Has anyone managed to grab the brochure/ spec-sheet? It would be helpful for the readers if it can be shared here. Thanks in advance!
Attaching what I got from a showroom in Hyderabad. I didn't see new brochure on Jeep website as well.
2025 Jeep Meridian launched in India; gets ADAS and more-img20241022wa0016.jpg  

mrkireeti is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 4th November 2024, 06:30   #43

I am attaching herewith the brochure of the new Meridien. Looks a tempting package but is still overpriced for the overland variant. Although it's much more value for money than the earlier one due to added features.
File Type: pdf New-Jeep-Meridian-Brochure.pdf (4.97 MB, 219 views)
axe_deo is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 4th December 2024, 10:21   #44

Did anyone purchase the 5 seater Longitude variant?
Old 21st January 2025, 11:16   #45

Has anyone any idea of the kind of discounts we can expect on a meridian overland these days? I’m about to finalise an Overland 4*2 AT facelifted and would appreciate all the help I can get.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com