Old 11th October 2024, 04:37   #61

Re: 2024 Mercedes E-Class V214 (Long Wheelbase) | A Close Look

Wow. Sure am glad to see an Inline 6 petrol on offer (If not a V) for the new E.

I was not so impressed when they dropped a 2l Plugin Hybrid Powertrain for the new C63 S E Performance. Its got the numbers to be brutally fast but who cares about a tiny 4 pot motor and fuel economy, when you are plonking over a crore on a car!
Old 11th October 2024, 10:53   #62
sgm

Originally Posted by 84.monsoon View Post
Bit of a disappointment that Merc did not bring the E450d - six cylinder OM656 diesel. One of the best (and last) of the modern breed of big, powerful, torquey diesels, which are also incredibly quiet and fuel efficient. The engine is a perfect fit for the limousine, which could be used equally for in-city as well as long distance travel.

The E450 petrol, though fast, cannot become a driver's car like the erstwhile BMW 530D, as it is too long and unwieldy.
I hope they will bring E450d soon. It is available with both GLE and GLS in India.
From the brochure, looks like Air suspension is gone and there is only adaptive dampers
Old 11th October 2024, 11:43   #63

Originally Posted by AKSarkar1 View Post
Post my GL350 CDI, I have not found any Merc that was offering value for money until today. An E Class @78L in 2024 brand new from the showroom for the spec and engines that are on offer seems to be a fair deal (not great, but not bad either).
This is mainly because the E has much more local input and is not merely a CKD.

Originally Posted by sandeepmohan View Post

I was not so impressed when they dropped a 2l Plugin Hybrid Powertrain for the new C63 S E Performance. Its got the numbers to be brutally fast but who cares about a tiny 4 pot motor and fuel economy, when you are plonking over a crore on a car!
Mercedes focussed more on environmental regulations and forgot about us petrolheads
ajmat is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th October 2024, 15:09   #64

Originally Posted by 84.monsoon View Post
I agree that BMW did not come in with guns blazing to this battle as they should have done. However, one thing they have done, is given us a petrol powertrain that is competitive for the segment. The 530Li comes with 258 HP and 400NM (plus the boost from the mild hybrid which is comparable for both makers). Mercedes should have given us the E300 tune, which makes comparable power and torque to the 530 Li, instead they have chosen to give us a significantly lower state of tune of the 2L petrol, with only 204 HP and 320NM. This is closer in power/torque to the petrol engine provided by Skoda in the much lower segment Octavia.

I agree, and even I felt so, why give an underpowered car, but then I realised that more than 40% of owners are diesel owners, and that 220d pretty much has been the standard across the range.

Coming back to the petrols, I look at it this way, E Class was always designed for rear seat occupants and very rarely does the owner drive, that percentage of self driven Mercedes is very less in their portfolio. May be that could be the reason, why they haven't gone ahead with an entry level E producing 250 hp and above like the competition.

Just my 2 cents.
sawnilrules is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th October 2024, 16:57   #65

For someone like me, E450 in LWB is no fun. I am driving a M340i and the ride quality is unbearable. Nobody in my family above 35 wants to sit in that car with me. I love the B58 and it's a gem of an engine, but I do want to crawl into something more comfortable. I was hoping they launch C43 but they haven't. E class LWB is no fun to drive, and the same with S. I did hope they launched the standard E class but i know India is no market for them.

For the most part, i love the new Mercedes design language but there is no product placement for someone who wants a luxurious cabin while wanting to drive.

Maybe new GLE could be fun. Regardless; looking forward to the reviews for the E class in India.
kashesh is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th October 2024, 17:23   #66

Originally Posted by kashesh View Post
For the most part, i love the new Mercedes design language but there is no product placement for someone who wants a luxurious cabin while wanting to drive.
Newbie here, but I'm also in the same boat, looking for something which is comfortable and luxurious (for family), still fun to drive for me.

What about the S5 sportback which presumably fits this bill, as also reviewed by Sanidhya in this post.
Looking for opinion from forum members.

Originally Posted by Sanidhya Patel View Post
If you really need a sports sedan for daily runs and comfortable as a family car then S5 is the right thing to choose but you want sharp Dynamics, sheer power, raw feel, striking elements with a car for just weekend runs then M340i is good to go!!
sourab86 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th October 2024, 17:46   #67

Originally Posted by sourab86 View Post
Newbie here, but I'm also in the same boat, looking for something which is comfortable and luxurious (for family), still fun to drive for me.

What about the S5 sportback which presumably fits this bill, as also reviewed by Sanidhya in this post.
Looking for opinion from forum members.
Hopefully BMW will bring the new 5 series in a 540i and 540D variants, with a standard wheelbase for the enthusiasts. Also, there is a chance we will get the new X3 in the M50 guise, again with the B-58 engine. These should make for a good balance of comfort and fun that is so missing in the current choices available in these segments.

Last edited by 84.monsoon : 11th October 2024 at 17:47.
84.monsoon is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th October 2024, 19:04   #68

I was hoping they launch C43 but they haven't. E class LWB is no fun to drive, and the same with S. .
The C43 has been launched but it is nearly 20 lakhs more expensive
Old 13th October 2024, 08:33   #69

The new E-class with the introductory prices is going to make it tough for the 5-series.

With the E 450 4 MATIC AMG LINE, Mercedes has something for those who like to drive hard.

I was hoping they launch C43 but they haven't. E class LWB is no fun to drive, and the same with S.

Maybe new GLE could be fun. Regardless; looking forward to the reviews for the E class in India.
Mercedes should launch the options of the C-class and the GLC AMG LINE variants with M256 3.0L inline 6 Engine.

C 43 AMG line is quite expensive and even with higher power than the M340i, it is slower in 0-100 km/h time.

A C-class with M256 3.0L inline 6 Engine will generate interest and surely turn a lot of potential M340i customers towards the C-class.

Mod Note: Our 2024 Mercedes-Benz E-Class Review has been taken live at this link. Please continue the discussion over on the new thread. Thanks!

Last edited by Omkar : 17th October 2024 at 11:04.
Brumby is online now   (1) Thanks