Old 6th September 2024, 23:40   #1

Slavia and Kushaq 1.5L TSI MT variants discontinued!

Dear all, this is my first thread on team-bhp. Requesting the Mods to kindly. merge it into any existing thread if required.

The 1.5 TSI EVO engine in the Slavia and Kushaq now only offers a 7-speed DSG, lacking a 6-speed manual option . The 1.0L TSI engine still offers a manual along with a 6-speed torque converter. The recently launched Slavia Monte Carlo Edition along with Sportline Edition with Slavia and Kushaq are expected to boost sales around the all-important festive season.

Source: RushLane.

https://www.rushlane.com/skoda-slavi...2453197.html*.
stxrboy77 is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 7th September 2024, 12:11   #2

Re: Slavia and Kushaq 1.5L TSI MT variants discontinued!

If a variant gets discontinued, it's usually because customer demand for that variant is less.

As an enthusiast, I love driving MTs and look forward to test-drive cars with MTs. However, if I were to buy a car (including the Slavia), it would be with an AT only. I'm done buying MTs. The market too prefers ATs in the 15-20 lakh segments.
GTO is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 7th September 2024, 16:47   #3

Although I'm a manual fan, the 6 speed manual in VW/Skoda is not the slickest shifting gearbox. The DSG suits the 1.5 tsi better IMO.

VW might be planning to differentiate the Slavia and Kushaq further from the Virtus and Taigun respectively. VW twins for the enthusiasts who want a manual and all those GT badges, Skoda twins for the ones who want classier looking cars with the convenient and sophisticated DSG.

Till around 1.5 years ago, the Skoda twins got MT option with the 1.5 TSI, but the VW twins got only the DSG with the 1.5TSI, now it's the other way round.
Weird strategy from the VW group!
G13BB is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 10th September 2024, 11:29   #4

I understand that Skoda may have discontinued the manual because sales numbers are low for it, but for a lot of enthusiasts, the manual is one of the few things that connects them to a fun car. Removing the manual is akin to Mahindra removing the 4x4 from the Thar (I'm guessing M&M sell more RWDs than 4x4 too).

Also, I don't trust any DCT gearbox, even more so the DQ200.

Disappointing. I had the Slavia/Virtus on my shortlist for my next car.
SavoyWalrus is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 10th September 2024, 11:43   #5

They sell what sells.

Honestly 1.5 TSI MT was overpriced (like all other brands and models). If they had priced it at the same price they sell cars today (after a lot of discounts), the MT would have found a lot of buyers.
PrasannaDhana is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 10th September 2024, 12:04   #6

VW/Skoda manual gear box is not slick to use. On top of this the clutch pedal is placed slightly higher than mass market cars ( Japanses and Korean twins), this results in not so pleasant driving experience in traffic, where major use lies.

I see more AT XUV 700, Harrier-Safari, Creta etc, which is a clear indication of customer preference.

Recently drove Kushaq 1.0 MT intercity. The drive was enjoyable but I was constantly struggling with gear box. On open highways, over takes are effortless when you are near 100 kmph at around 2000 rpm in 6th gear but exactly opposite in traffic.

I think manual is more suited for NA engines and best implemented by Maruti and Honda. Power delivery and over all drivability of my Vitara Brezza P MT is amazing.

Last edited by Bhuvan : 10th September 2024 at 12:05. Reason: Improving readability
Bhuvan is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 10th September 2024, 13:26   #7

Dont blame Skoda, there is a very small market for a manual in the customer segment that the Slavia is part of; if people dont buy, companies are not going to keep the variants around.
Bhodrolok is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th September 2024, 13:48   #8

Probably a good move. Skoda has one less problem to worry about when it comes to service. And I totally subscribe to all cars being AT like any developed market. There will be a few voices who clamor for MT but realistically AT is what the urban consumer needs which is what Skoda/VW were targeting in any case. I hope bigger players like Hyundai lead the AT revolution across the board.
ajitmoses is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th September 2024, 14:40   #9

Good move, there's barely anyone who wants a manual priced at around 20 lakhs OTR, the market has definitely shifted to automatic. The traffic situation is not going to improve in urban areas in our lifetime, give your knees and back a rest to have a relaxed commute.

The best update will be to have the 8 speed torque converter on the 1.5 across the board and keep the 1.0tsi as a lower grade option with a manual to lower sticker shock.
avira_tk is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd January 2025, 22:52   #10

There was no further update here.
Kushaq is still available with 1.5 TSI MT as per the Skoda website. This may be old stock because it also mentions 2 airbags against this variant.
With the facelift due, can we expect the return of 1.5 MT to the variant list?

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com