Old 29th July 2024, 12:04   #16

Re: BMW now offers 10-year extended warranty in India

Originally Posted by adi58 View Post
This warranty is not the same as the one provided with a new BMW purchase, it is a third party warranty in partnership with Bajaj. The claims process may not be as smooth as the original BMW warranty.
I bought a VW Vento in 2019 that came with 7 yrs total warranty. Warranty beyond 4 yrs was from Bajaj but bought on my behalf by VW itself. This year when my car went for service they had to replace fuel injector and an ABS sensor. VW workshop staff sent required documentation to Bajaj and got the approval. It took an extra day, but the claim was for ~40k and it went smooth. FWIW, I reported the ABS sensor failure as the light showed up but the fuel injector problem was detected by their VAS scan.

This experience may be anecdotal but at least there's some precedence for smooth experience.

I bought 5 yrs extended warranty for my M340i but I'm not sure it's worth buying for more number of years given the atrocious pricing. I don't mind going to dealership for regular maintenance beyond warranty, but 30L for 10yr warranty is nuts.
pratika is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 29th July 2024, 12:17   #17

I've been speaking to the dealer on extending warranty on my 5. While the prices look ridiculous on one side, I was told that claims will not be easy and they'll go through more stringent checks by the 3rd party. I've decided to not go for it.
Ojas is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th July 2024, 12:42   #18

Originally Posted by praveen789 View Post
I guess for such long tenures, we need to see the future value of money as well. They will need to incorporate that as we are paying the money lumpsum as of today. So 6 lakhs after 10 years will be valued around 2.75 lakhs considering 8% rate which is not too bad considering the probability of major claims is high in the 10th year. Imagine how much more costly spares would be if we have pay after 10 years without warranty.
It's the other way round, mate! Since you are paying 6L upfront it will be worth 13L in 10 years (assume you get 8% p.a. interest if you keep the money in a bank).
Kelly66 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 29th July 2024, 12:52   #19

Neet to confirm why the price list mentions a "BAJAJ warranty"? Does this mean the warranty will be managed by a third party? I would like to know what is included in the warranty. Specifically, does it cover the following components:

Transmission
Differential
Suspension, including struts
Air conditioner, including the compressor
Wiper blades
Steering rack
Electronics and electrical failures
Additionally, what happens with wear and tear parts like the suspension? Are these covered under the warranty? If not, it seems the warranty only covers items with a long life expectancy. Could someone confirm what is essentially included in the warranty and fine print of policy document?
Old 29th July 2024, 13:56   #20

Originally Posted by Kelly66 View Post
It's the other way round, mate! Since you are paying 6L upfront it will be worth 13L in 10 years (assume you get 8% p.a. interest if you keep the money in a bank).
You are right! sorry about that.

Having a Simpsons moment now 'D'oh'
Old 29th July 2024, 14:31   #21

20 lakhs for the 5-Series for 10 years?! That is plain ridiculous pricing. 20-lakhs is the direct cost, the indirect additional cost is compulsory servicing & maintenance at authorised dealerships.
Either this price list is wrong or there are fat discounts on offer. I got the 4th year warranty package for 86k for my 5er, covered by Bajaj. This is the same cost as it was when it was being offered straight from BMW.

I was told that warranty approvals will take longer as it is handled like an insurance claim.

Everything is covered though. It functions exactly like a new car warranty. No exclusions at all.
ImmortalZ is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th July 2024, 14:54   #22

Originally Posted by ImmortalZ View Post
Either this price list is wrong or there are fat discounts on offer. I got the 4th year warranty package for 86k for my 5er, covered by Bajaj. This is the same cost as it was when it was being offered straight from BMW.
Per the price list too, the 4th year amount comes to 86k (1.75L for 4 years, and subtract 89k for the 3rd year).
Ojas is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th July 2024, 16:26   #23

Ah right, it's a cumulative price per year. Okay, makes sense now.
Old 30th July 2024, 09:36   #24

I do not have much knowledge about luxury cars, but how is this a good deal? Paying 20-30 lacs for a 3 series car's warranty? Doesn't it clearly tell how much expensive it is to maintain a 8-10 years old BMW? I see this warranty price list as an official warning to a middle class guy dreaming about owning a used BMW.

Can any finance expert throw some light on which is the better option here? Consider inflation on parts and service as well.
1. Buying 10 warranty at the time of purchase, i.e. spend 20 lacs or 70 lacs based on the model.
2. Go for minimum warranty sweet spot, invest remaining money in mutual funds for 10 years.

Also most people who use these luxury cars won't have more than 50k-70k kms mileage in 10 years usage. So, unlimited kms isn't applicable to us. Also, BMW smartly removed unlimited kms post 6th year.

May be this is useful for high-end hotels that use BMWs as taxis?
ramki.grandhi is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 30th July 2024, 09:44   #25

Originally Posted by ramki.grandhi View Post
I do not have much knowledge about luxury cars, but how is this a good deal? Paying 20-30 lacs for a 3 series car's warranty? Doesn't it clearly tell how much expensive it is to maintain a 8-10 years old BMW? I see this warranty price list as an official warning to a middle class guy dreaming about owning a used BMW.
That's the thing. The warranty prices from year 5 onwards only make sense if something major fails. Like the whole motor or transmission. And that's a very very remote possibility. This being insurance based, obviously they're playing with probability.

I had a 8 year old 1L run F10 530d. The only issue I faced was carbon buildup and then a DPF clogging issue. Both of those were easily fixed by Blackworks. Nothing else failed on that car.

Modern BMWs are built really well with no big known problem points, believe it or not. It is the fear of the big unknown IF that causes you to spend so much on warranty.
ImmortalZ is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th July 2024, 14:02   #26

Extended warranty story and all is fine but are these guys serious about it, I highly doubt it.

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techn...esponding.html (BMW X5 30d - Engine seized & BMW not responding)

If this is the scenario then why people will choose extended warranty, more than that why they will choose this brand itself .
Old 30th July 2024, 21:35   #27

As a BMW owner after seeing the price list, all I can say is

"This is a marketing gimmick."

Prices are too high for one to consider.

Invest amount in mutual funds and you did have principal amount + long term capital gains.

BMW cars are pretty reliable.

Back in 2018 X1 20d 6 years (Unlimited Kms) BRI Extended Warranty was for Rs 2.88 lakhs incl 18% GST.

Now its Rs 3.43 lakh incl 18% GST for X1.

5th or 6th year is still the best. Anything beyond is too high.
Old 30th July 2024, 21:53   #28

As long as it's being offered through BMW India and their official channels, I wouldn't worry about claims at all. Plus, BMW is known to be very generous with warranty approvals.

There are many such programs that are underwritten by 3rd-parties.
My experience with manufacturer branded and sold extended warranties provided by a third party have been less than stellar. This mostly occurs due to a combination of incompetent service centers who submit claims with insufficient or incorrect diagnosis and insurance companies bringing their regular ways of working to a non regulated industry and rejecting claims left and right. I wonder how much influence BMW wields over Bajaj finance in the approval process.

With my indica I had a extended warranty underwritten by a PSU, and my tass made me pay money up front as all their claims were getting rejected. The part replacement they claimed would fix the issue didn't, and sure enough, insurance denied the claim and I was left without money or a resolution to my issues

With my etios the service center strongly discouraged me from getting extended warranty saying that replacement is extremely discretionary, and usually claims get rejected, and that even for the covered parts as the dealer they were not willing to commit to the terms of the warranty, and that I should buy the warranty only if i was willing to take a giant risk

Another industry example - I had a redmi 2 that died and was covered by mi protect (one assist was the actual provider). In Trivandrum the service center (at that time) refused to do any warranty work saying all their warranty claims were denied and refused to touch the phone unless i was willing to pay almost the cost of the phone upfront. On the other hand the service center in Chennai ended up replacing both the screen and motherboard and I ended up with a brand new phone, and I've been a Xiaomi fan ever since.

Last edited by greenhorn : 30th July 2024 at 21:57.
greenhorn is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st July 2024, 00:09   #29

Originally Posted by TusharK View Post
For the first time in India, BMW now offers an extended warranty of up to 10 years on its cars.

Attachment 2633669

The 10-year extended warranty package is available for all new cars across all models on sale in India. It is only applicable to original factory-built product specifications. It does not cover accessories or parts like ceramic brakes, performance enhancements, repairs or replacement parts due to excessive wear and tear or misuse.

Attachment 2633668

The extended warranty is transferable to subsequent owners but not transferable to another car. Customers can opt for any higher package of the same package by paying the difference amount of both (old and new) package validity. Upgrade is allowed only within the package.

Extended warranty packages can only be ordered within the standard warranty period, which is 2 years from the date of purchase.

Link to Team-BHP News
Good move by BMW. Can surely bring peace of mind to BMW owners. Furthermore, given that new car market is getting expensive due to absurd taxes, fuel costs, and the pathetic condition of roads, especially in the suburbs and downtowns, the extended warranty comes handy for long ownership.
Old 31st July 2024, 05:05   #30

Not a valid comparison but just for the sake of it, here's what we paid & were offered for our 2023 Tucson in the US:

Extended warranty:

$0 deductible for 10 years/100k miles = $1398 + tax.
Same thing but 120k miles = $1598 + tax (our running is low, so chose the 100k miles option).

"Platinum Vehicle Protection":

For the 4 products:

Tire & Wheel Protection
Dent & Ding Protection
Windshield Repair Protection
Key Replacement Protection

7 years = $994 + tax.

All of this directly from Hyundai.

Last edited by iron.head : 31st July 2024 at 05:07.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com