Old 16th August 2024, 08:52   #1591

Re: Mahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
This is it, Thar Roxx:

Mahindra has revealed the Thar Roxx and prices start at ₹12.99 lakh (ex-showroom, India) for the MX1 petrol RWD and Rs 13.99 lakh for the MX1 diesel RWD.

Seeing this screen arouses a reflex panic reaction, having suffered through more than 1 year of crappy functionality on my ScorpioN.

Hope Mahindra has done a better job of testing and purging the bugs from this one.

The side profile of the vehicle is also too busy IMHO. There’s something to be said about clean and classic lines.
Mahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar-img_7888.jpeg  

Last edited by Mustang Sammy : 16th August 2024 at 09:15.
Old 16th August 2024, 08:55   #1592

Thar and the ROXX

Mahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar-smartselect_20240815185124_instagram.jpg

Mahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar-smartselect_20240815185136_instagram.jpg

Mahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar-smartselect_20240815185146_instagram.jpg

Mahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar-smartselect_20240815185158_instagram.jpg

Mahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar-smartselect_20240815185208_instagram.jpg

Source : Evo India
Venkatesh is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 09:12   #1593

Mahindra's big plans for brand THAR!
-The company will likely offer only diesel 4X4 for now; eventually, it may consider a petrol 4X4 to expand the range.

Link:
Big letdown with no petrol 4x4 option. I was ready to book in IRCTC style at 10:30 in the morning. Shelved plans for now. Will invest in my 10 year old Duster awd and keep it. NCR folks might back out as well.

Probably a cost control decision as they are using the ScorpioN platform which does not have 4wd in petrol and sales for 4wd petrol will be less. Less cost in the additional testing required. Mr Bose gave the logic once when asked about awd in Harrier and Safari.
GhostRider28 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 09:30   #1594

This is one car I was waiting for. I do not mind how it looks, I would be classified as more of a function over form guy. The key pain points from the previous generation seem to be addressed. The addition of a flat bench at the back, reclining seats and sufficient boot space.

My only consideration now would be around the ride and handling and am eagerly looking forward to the official review here. The inordinate gushing from the "influencer" crowd tends to mask the gaps, however a few automotive journalists still call a spade a spade.
venivici is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 09:58   #1595

The rear wheel arch opening along the door is making it look so bad. I think it's safe to say by now that the 5 door is not as photogenic and timeless as the 3 door.

For me the below design elements are enough to have a relook at the design team's output a bit more objectively.

1- The alloys are way too tacky

2- The kink above the rear door

3- The wheel arch being part of the rear door
Sk8r is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 10:01   #1596

Something about the back door top profile not lining up with the front door top is bothering me about the design. The white color especially brings out the non symmetry among the doors.
Old 16th August 2024, 10:16   #1597
vij

Originally Posted by Sk8r View Post
The rear wheel arch opening along the door is making it look so bad. I think it's safe to say by now that the 5 door is not as photogenic and timeless as the 3 door.

For me the below design elements are enough to have a relook at the design team's output a bit more objectively.

1- The alloys are way too tacky

2- The kink above the rear door

3- The wheel arch being part of the rear door
1. I like the alloy wheels, but maybe a lil less pop would have been better. Overall they are fine.

2. Pratap Bose says he added the 'rear door kink' to give the SUV a unique character, something whacky that is nothing but the "Thar". I didn't like it much in pictures initially, but now I'll say its character

3. Yes, the wheel arch being part of the rear door is a lil out there... I am sure Pratap Bose will call that 'distinct character'

Overall I like Thar Roxx

Last edited by vij : 16th August 2024 at 10:17.
Old 16th August 2024, 10:21   #1598

This thread would have had a moderator note attached to it by now if it was about Tata or Citreon.

Understandably the design of Thar Roxx is controversial, but the topic has been beaten to death now and takes away from any other meaningful discussion.

P.S what's with youtube "automotive journalists" (you know who they are) at the media drive putting 30 minute videos of the car from inside out including all features and specifications. Doesn't that defeat the purpose of an embargo?
Doonite is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 10:22   #1599

On the Mahindra website, the prices (ex-showroom) of the Petrol Automatics RWD are as follows:

1. MX3 - INR 14,99,000

2. MX5 - INR 17,99,000

3. AX7L - INR 19,99,000
rajorshiroy84 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 10:25   #1600

The Roxx looks better to me in 5 door avatar. However, the rear does not feel proportionate to me, especially the rear door. One with a heavy build will surely find it difficult to get in and out due to the narrow width at the bottom. I reserve my opinion till I see it in the flesh.

BTW, Just now I called the Mahindra showroom in Baner and they confirmed that the Roxx is not yet available in the showroom.

Does Anybody have any idea of when the cars will reach the showroom?
Old 16th August 2024, 10:32   #1601

Mahindra Thar vs Thar Roxx

The top part is still an eye sore.
Exactly, I hate these slightly bulged out/ curved tops. Why couldn't they just leave it flat like the Thar, Wrangler, Hummer or Jimny, which is just so beautiful and so elegant!
Old 16th August 2024, 10:37   #1602

Showcased the vehicle on 15th August
Test drive after almost a month on 14th Sept
Booking on 3rd Oct after 2 weeks
Delivery from 12th Oct

Marketing strategy or still addressing small niggles in the car?
Old 16th August 2024, 11:01   #1603
vij

Originally Posted by rajorshiroy84 View Post
On the Mahindra website, the prices (ex-showroom) of the Petrol Automatics RWD are as follows:

1. MX3 - INR 14,99,000

2. MX5 - INR 17,99,000

3. AX7L - INR 19,99,000
No I see it as 20.49 lac
Mahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar-screenshot-20240816-110011.png

Edit:
Sorry, you meant Petrol AT

Last edited by vij : 16th August 2024 at 11:14.
vij is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 11:17   #1604

Infractions: 0/2 (9)

This is the first car I want to buy even though I wasn't even interested in it. It could be a great replacement for my fortuner.

Also, is this like the final final nail in the coffin for the Jimny?
Old 16th August 2024, 11:21   #1605

Looking at the colors, slightly surprising line up as some of the classic colors such as Aquamarine Blue, Rocky Beige, Desert Fury, Midnight Black, Galaxy Grey and Deep Grey are not available. IMO. Rocky Beige, Galaxy Grey and Desert Fury would have particularly suited the Thar Roxx.

The most interesting color for me now is Battleship grey. Battleship Gray is inspired by the color of battleships, it is slightly bluish and is aimed at reducing the visibility of the ships in the ocean to enemies. The mix of blue and grey merges against the color of the high seas. Sirish Chandran from EVO, has taken a photo of the battleship grey Thar next to a battleship in Cochin, which brings out the resemblance.

Mahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar-screenshot-20240816-11.17.568239am.png

The Battleship Grey strongly resembles BMW' Brooklyn Grey, a classic paint shade found on some of the sportier BMWs. I found, while researching, I found that BMW created the Brooklyn Grey as a tribute to the Naval Yard in Brooklyn, NYC and battleships there. Although the below pictures are shot in different light conditions which blur out some of the similarity, you can see the strong resemblance in the below picture.

Mahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar-screenshot-20240816-11.11.358239am.png

My thoughts on the colors:
  • Black is very Plain Jane, as it hides the specific design elements of the Thar Roxx completely and makes it look very similar to an extended three door. For those who prefer this appearance, Black would be a good choice. It will age well, but you will get lost in a sea of 3-door and 5-door Black Thars that will soon flood our streets even further (they already do).
  • I am in two minds about the Burnt Sienna. While my Thar's Mystic Copper is a darkish shade of brown, it does bring out the contrast color of the black bumper, black roof, black wheel cladding elements, as well as the black spoiler I have on the top if my bonnet very well when the car is clean. when the car is a bit dirty it looks darker and dirtier that it actually is. The Burnt Sienna looks even darker than Mystic Copper. It will be even more critical to maintain very clean and some of the contrast with the other black body elements may be lost.
  • White is elegant and classy, but the stepped-up door outline for the rear door shows up the most in this color. Also, it is going to be a very popular color on the Roxx, so again one will lose any distinction completely.
  • Nebula Blue and Deep Forest are interesting and may well turn out to be good shades on the Thar Roxx. However, this remains to be seen, as I am having difficulty imagining how each will look in various light shades and times of the day. Both will also need to be maintained very clean as they are dark shades, so the contrasting black body elements such as fender cladding, black roof, and black wheel arch cladding may not be very visible.
  • Red is arresting and commands presence. Not for those who may want to attach any value to subtelity.
  • So overall, I feel Battleship Grey will be subtle enough, bring out the contrasting black body and roof elements well, will not look too dirty even on a day you have not had time to wipe it down and when properly washed and waxed, really show up very well in bright light as well as evening light.

Last edited by 84.monsoon : 16th August 2024 at 11:37.
84.monsoon is offline   (40) Thanks