Old 25th May 2024, 11:01   #16

Re: JLR's Range Rover to be assembled in India

JLR needs to start looking outside the UK considering the domestic risks, high energy prices, rejuvenated worker unions, rising taxes, political instability, recession, crime, rising thefts and increasing vehicle insurance rates.... Britain is currently a mess and everythings in steep decline, the company unfortunately has all it's eggs in one basket. To mitigate these risks, it would be prudent for the company to diversify its production and manufacturing capabilities by transferring a significant portion of its operations to India in the near future.
shortbread is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 25th May 2024, 11:56   #17

The GLS by itself is a stretched GLE. The Maybach is luxurious, but not comparable to the Range Rover IMHO. It will be a lot more reliable, useable & practical though.
If you equate the Range Rover as an otter. The Maybach is a beaver with gold teeth. Too crass for my tastes
ajmat is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 25th May 2024, 12:41   #18

Range Rover and Range Rover Sport highlights.

JLR's Range Rover to be assembled in India-20240525_124026.jpg

JLR's Range Rover to be assembled in India-20240525_124031.jpg

Last edited by Venkatesh : 25th May 2024 at 12:45.
Venkatesh is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 25th May 2024, 12:44   #19

Ok, this is more of a RANT post. I just got delivery of my Range Rover sport last month. This is totally wrong on part of JLR to reduce the prices drastically without informing the customers. I paid close to 210L OTR in Pune for the HSE. Agreed they won't be selling the higher models here, only the base SE. But the prices have directly dropped by 30L.

I as a customer feel cheated. I know I should be letting this go and just enjoy my RRS, but I feel customers were kept in the dark. Is there a way we can or rather I can fight this out in consumer court and demand some compensation for the ordeal?

I have already asked for the higher ups email ids from my friend who's the incharge in pune JLR.
kau_therock is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 25th May 2024, 15:37   #20

Originally Posted by kau_therock View Post
Is there a way we can or rather I can fight this out in consumer court and demand some compensation for the ordeal?

I have already asked for the higher ups email ids from my friend who's the incharge in pune JLR.
Ouch. I’m sure this hurts and is justified. But very frankly you won’t get much out of court and might land up wasting more money in legal fees.
I think moral of the story is: Be more vigilant on Tbhp! These rumours and even indication from JLR India about local production have been on for months. I discouraged several who were pulling the trigger on a RR to wait.

Next would be the defender, not a good time to buy one. Perhaps next year or later this year they will start production of it here.
Sahil is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 25th May 2024, 16:53   #21

Ok, this is more of a RANT post. I just got delivery of my Range Rover sport last month. This is totally wrong on part of JLR to reduce the prices drastically without informing the customers. I paid close to 210L OTR in Pune for the HSE. Agreed they won't be selling the higher models here, only the base SE. But the prices have directly dropped by 30L.

I as a customer feel cheated. I know I should be letting this go and just enjoy my RRS, but I feel customers were kept in the dark. Is there a way we can or rather I can fight this out in consumer court and demand some compensation for the ordeal?

Merc s-class when it was launched, there was a CBU model s400d which costed 40L more. Some people preferred that variant due to slightly better material quality & equipment. So in your case also you would have better quality leather etc and more equipment like double glazed windows etc possibly. So, it's worth considering these enhancements and not worrying too much about the extra cost.
acedriver_9000 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th May 2024, 17:10   #22

I just got delivery of my Range Rover sport last month. This is totally wrong on part of JLR to reduce the prices drastically without informing the customers. I paid close to 210L OTR in Pune for the HSE. Agreed they won't be selling the higher models here, only the base SE. But the prices have directly dropped by 30L.
It's fine, bud. You bought the car at a price you agreed with, so just enjoy your beast of an SUV. Think of it this way = If the prices went up, you wouldn't pay more, no? Car prices go up (demand, inflation) and down (discounts, CKD, corrections) all the time. Early Jimny owners lost 20% too when the discounts had kicked in.

5 - 10 years from now, you won't remember this. But you will remember all the lovely road-trips in your Range Rover. So, just drive .
GTO is offline   (30) Thanks
Old 27th May 2024, 07:52   #23

While the local assembly is more than welcome, they are still not bringing in the plug in hybrids which are on offer overseas. i am not too sure of what will be the price differential between a normal ICE and a PHEV, but the utility of a plug in hybrid in India, IMHO, is immense.
You can get most Landrover models now in PHEV mode. One could have used these both as city cars and also for long drives without range anxiety.
Also, with higher sales numbers, i hope they increase their service reach (at least, if not sales also), in India. Today, I am a bit chary always to take my car in distant locations, as i am not sure that in case of any incident, how long will it take for help to arrive.
Dibyendu Bose is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th May 2024, 08:41   #24

What I was able to get from the website is there aren’t many customisation options now. The colours are limited.This is what people at this price point want. No rear seat ventilation or cooling, that’s a big turn-off ,

If they want these options to go and get higher nos, I believe they have to do another round of reductions to get higher volumes. Compete with X7 +40 lac price of Range Rover LWB.
Old 27th May 2024, 15:05   #25

Announced exactly 2 days after Mercedes stupidly increased the price of the Maybach GLS Facelift by 40 lakhs (compared to the pre-facelift) - Thread Link (Mercedes-Maybach GLS 600 facelift launched at Rs 3.35 crore).

The GLS by itself is a stretched GLE. The Maybach is luxurious, but not comparable to the Range Rover IMHO. It will be a lot more reliable, useable & practical though.
I seriously do not see the appeal with the GLS Maybach, the GLS 450d is a much better chauffeur option, the diesel being cheaper to run than the V8 Maybach. Interior is just different leather color options and a 4 seat configuration in the rear. Got a chance to experience a Range Rover SV for a day and the GLS Maybach is no where close to the sheer weight and opulence that the Range Rover carries
Cliff9091 is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 29th May 2024, 20:43   #26

Originally Posted by Cliff9091 View Post
I seriously do not see the appeal with the GLS Maybach, the GLS 450d is a much better chauffeur option, the diesel being cheaper to run than the V8 Maybach. Interior is just different leather color options and a 4 seat configuration in the rear. Got a chance to experience a Range Rover SV for a day and the GLS Maybach is no where close to the sheer weight and opulence that the Range Rover carries
I don't quite understand the reason for such a massive price difference. What do you get in the SV over the Autobiography? I thought it was just the interior materials and leather. Is that correct?
Old 29th May 2024, 22:05   #27

Originally Posted by acedriver_9000 View Post
I don't quite understand the reason for such a massive price difference. What do you get in the SV over the Autobiography? I thought it was just the interior materials and leather. Is that correct?
You get a twin turbo V8 with 500+ hp and a 0-100 of 4.9 seconds.

Basically the difference between buying a 5 series vs the M5
Cresterk is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th May 2024, 09:07   #28

Originally Posted by Cresterk View Post
You get a twin turbo V8 with 500+ hp and a 0-100 of 4.9 seconds.

Basically the difference between buying a 5 series vs the M5
We can option v8 engine even on SE model. SV model can also be had with regular 6-cyl diesel. Then why the huge cost difference. Mechanically SV is completely identical to regular variant. That's not the case with 5-series & M5. Everything from engine, brakes, suspension is different. Also price difference between 5-er and M5 is not that huge if seen abroad. In india M5 is CBU while 5-er is CKD. This isn't the case with Range rover. Hence my doubt.

Last edited by acedriver_9000 : 30th May 2024 at 09:08. Reason: spelling mistake
acedriver_9000 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th May 2024, 10:31   #29

The original concept was a bit like AMG, //M, Maybach divisions to make the buyer feel they are getting something special/bespoke, etc. SV is the JLR's version of the same business model.

These cars are supposed to come off different production lines compared to standard cars where bespoke or super-fancy equipment/features are added to the car. Some features/options will not be available to select in standard trims and one needs to step up to AMG/M/Maybach/SV to have those. However the recent trend is to create sub segments (330i with M kit, M340i with better performance, M3 for proper //M model) to cater to different budgets. People on limited (ha ha) budget can get a lot of goodies without having to pay for these premium trims. Those with generous budgets can pay more to have the SV badge and option the car with fancy stuff. This is a big deal to those buyer who prefer to configure/option to personalise their cars extensively. In India, for various reasons, we just buy what's available in the stock.

Last edited by androdev : 30th May 2024 at 10:57.
androdev is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 30th May 2024, 13:40   #30

Originally Posted by Venkatesh View Post
Range Rover and Range Rover Sport highlights.

Attachment 2609372

Attachment 2609373
Landrover India is not offering proper ADAS features on a vehicle that costs 2.6 crore that’s unfortunate for the Indian customers Nowadays even the sub 20L cars comes with all ADAS features. Since most of the features are configurable should have provided as optional at least.

Last edited by LionX : 30th May 2024 at 13:41.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com