Old 17th May 2024, 18:43   #1

Mahindra to launch 16 new SUVs in India by 2030

Mahindra has announced that it has lined up as many as 16 new SUVs for India. The carmaker plans to launch 7 EVs and 9 ICE models by 2030.

Mahindra to launch 16 new SUVs in India by 2030-dsc06136.jpg

Let’s start with the ICE models. Mahindra plans to roll out three mid-cycle updates of existing models during this time. These include the recently launched XUV 3XO. The remaining 6 are said to be all-new SUVs.

This year, Mahindra is gearing up to introduce the 5-door Thar, which is likely to be called the Thar Armada. Next up, is the Scorpio pickup truck that was revealed in concept form last year.

Mahindra is also said to be working on the next-generation Bolero. It will be based on an all-new U171 platform and will spawn a 7-seater vehicle, a pickup truck and more.

Mahindra’s BEV range is set to expand with born-EV SUVs, based on the INGLO platform. Models like the XUV.e8, which is an electric version of the XUV700, XUV.e9 coupe and BE.05 electric SUVs, are already being tested out in the wild. The carmaker is also working on the Thar EV, which was showcased in concept form last year.

Source: Autocar India

Link to Team-BHP News

Last edited by TusharK : 17th May 2024 at 18:52.
TusharK is online now   (18) Thanks
Old 17th May 2024, 19:09   #2

Re: Mahindra to launch 16 new SUVs in India by 2030

Mahindra FY2024 financial results press conference.

Here's what Mahindra plans to spend on its Passenger vehicle business and the CV business between FY25-FY27

Mahindra to launch 16 new SUVs in India by 2030-20240517_190721.jpg

9 new internal combustion SUVs - 6 all new models and 3 facelifts.

Mahindra to launch 16 new SUVs in India by 2030-20240517_190735.jpg

EV coming in early next year

Mahindra to launch 16 new SUVs in India by 2030-20240517_190746.jpg

2.20 lakh open bookings including 50,000 bookings for the XUV 3XO

Mahindra to launch 16 new SUVs in India by 2030-20240517_190755.jpg

14,000 crore deployment for ICE and 12000 crore for EV

Mahindra to launch 16 new SUVs in India by 2030-smartselect_20240517190901_x.jpg

Big jump on SUV sales

Mahindra to launch 16 new SUVs in India by 2030-20240517_190809.jpg

Last edited by Venkatesh : 17th May 2024 at 19:16.
Venkatesh is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 17th May 2024, 19:13   #3

I am curious how many O's they will add to the names of each of the 16 new models they will launch. I hope they have something for all pockets and sizes and not focus only on large SUVs etc. I particularly liked the new 3XO. Good things don't have to be large in size.

Last edited by sumeethaldankar : 17th May 2024 at 19:15.
sumeethaldankar is online now   (11) Thanks
Old 17th May 2024, 19:36   #4

Wait, are we calling the 3XO (a hatchback) an SUV now? Wonder how many of these "SUVs" will be raised hatchbacks..
Amrit@wheels is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 17th May 2024, 21:39   #5
VVN

Originally Posted by Amrit@wheels View Post
Wait, are we calling the 3XO (a hatchback) an SUV now? Wonder how many of these "SUVs" will be raised hatchbacks..
In a world where SPresso, Venue, Sonet, Punch, and Nexon are considered SUVs, the term has certainly lost its true meaning. If these vehicles qualify, then the 3XO is undeniably an SUV.
VVN is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 17th May 2024, 21:41   #6

I hope they get some original design which are not over stylised like 3XO. Tired of the trend of copied designs like the Thar.
Also some proper SUVs like Scorpio would do wonder in place of pseudo SUVs like XUV 300 etc.
Old 17th May 2024, 23:27   #7

Interesting! At present, Mahindra is having eight models and they are panning to add another sixteen to it by 2030 (some of them will be facelifts). That means, they wanted to be the Maruti (17 models now) of SUV's in 2030. Meanwhile, Maruti Suzuki is going add another 28 model in the same time span. More model means higher sales target, isn't it?

Historical data of mass market car sale
Mahindra to launch 16 new SUVs in India by 2030-screenshot-20240517-223521.png

The historical sales date shows that the car sales grew just four times in last 20 years and the doubling time to reach four million cars is almost 13 years. If you divide the present annual sales by our population (1,440,089,321), the people to car sales ratio is around 340. Kudos to the planning team.
On4Wheels is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 18th May 2024, 07:48   #8

Wonder if it includes this announcement too.

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/india...ml#post5071489 (Mahindra confirms 9 new cars for India by 2026)

Six all new SUV models. So no MPV still?

1. 5 door Thar.
2. ScorpioN pickup
3. XUV900 coupe SUV.
4. V201. Wonder if it is XUV500 or an MPV?
5. Next gen Bolero
6. ......? Wonder if it is a model below the XUV3X0. Unlikely. One of the Bolero derivatives? The Bolero XL maybe. The Bolero XXL and pickups may come under commercial division. Or an SUV above the ScorpioN to take on the Fortuner head on?

Pretty excited for the next gen Bolero. As a child dreamt of the Safari taking in the Landcruiser head-on, the Scorpio taking the Prado head-on, while the Bolero would turn out to be the Suburban of India. Tata betrayed Safari, ScorpioN doing good and now waiting for the next gen Bolero family. With this the whole line-up of Mahindra would firmly be in the 21st century.
DicKy is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 18th May 2024, 09:03   #9

Originally Posted by On4Wheels View Post
Interesting! At present, Mahindra is having eight models and they are panning to add another sixteen to it by 2030 (some of them will be facelifts). That means, they wanted to be the Maruti (17 models now) of SUV's in 2030. Meanwhile, Maruti Suzuki is going add another 28 model in the same time span. More model means higher sales target, isn't it?

Historical data of mass market car sale
Attachment 2607137

The historical sales date shows that the car sales grew just four times in last 20 years and the doubling time to reach four million cars is almost 13 years. If you divide the present annual sales by our population (1,440,089,321), the people to car sales ratio is around 340. Kudos to the planning team.
Half of these new models are very similar cars with electric powertrain, so I wouldn’t really take these numbers at face value.

Also as a market matures it gets more options. Some of them succeed while some do low volumes. The important distinction is that India is transitioning from extremely cheap hatchback (5-7 lakh average sale) segment to lower midrange (ASP is around 11 lakh now).

This raises margins quite a bit and allows manufacturers to survive even without a lot of sales. Similar to how luxury manufacturers are surviving in India despite 10k or below sales per year. That’s what a WagonR sells in two weeks
darkgamer is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 18th May 2024, 14:30   #10

Mahindra should bring an ICE version of xuv400. That is where the game is now. Mahindra should expand production to meet demands.
Old 18th May 2024, 14:55   #11

The way Mahindra is going and progressing, I bet my next will surely be from their stable.
Just give me good old two door Thar with features of upcoming 4/5 door and I will take it without thinking about anything else.
Else I will wait for eThar but then will have to wait for another one year after delivery for perfect reports and niggles to get sorted.
Still eagerly waiting and all excited.
Old 18th May 2024, 15:15   #12

Originally Posted by VVN View Post
In a world where SPresso, Venue, Sonet, Punch, and Nexon are considered SUVs, the term has certainly lost its true meaning. If these vehicles qualify, then the 3XO is undeniably an SUV.
I have clearly mentioned that the 3XO is a hatchback. For me, none of the vehicles you mentioned are SUVs'.
Old 18th May 2024, 23:11   #13

I have clearly mentioned that the 3XO is a hatchback. For me, none of the vehicles you mentioned are SUVs'.
Many agree with your opinion but please do not accentuate a petty issue. This is just as pointless as clarifying that the Skoda Superb is not a sedan and in fact is a fastback; so what? What matters is the purpose the car fulfills, not what it's bodystyle is. While cars like the 3XO and Nexon are not true-blue SUVs, they usually offer more space than cars like the i20 and Baleno. I feel that we must clarify that cars like the Venue and Sonet are pretty much raised hatchbacks as they offer a lot less interior space (IMHO) compared to the rest of the segment, the same holds true for the Kiger and Magnite. I am no moderator but I feel that replying just for the sake of proving your unrelated point multiple times is simply pointless and a waste of time for all involved, no offence.
ExtremePocca is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 19th May 2024, 09:39   #14

I don't know if Mahindra has any plans but Marazzo really needs a facelift. It is a competent car and with the current momentum that Mahindra has, it can bring sales to new Marazzo as well.
Old 19th May 2024, 12:28   #15

Originally Posted by On4Wheels View Post
The historical sales date shows that the car sales grew just four times in last 20 years and the doubling time to reach four million cars is almost 13 years. If you divide the present annual sales by our population (1,440,089,321), the people to car sales ratio is around 340. Kudos to the planning team
Doubling time has been reducing steadily, right? This is some very optimistic prediction. I would also choose the positive numbers if I have to present, so I get it.

Also, I'm not confident on their EV lineup, and not all models are going to be a sales favorite. And these would also definitely include some facelift models of Bolero, Thar, XUV700 etc which will keep the number consistent rather than growing. So I would take it something like "we are getting sales, and continue to improve", not 3x/4x growth in near future.

At this point, I just cringe at people who keep saying these are not real SUVs. What is "real" SUV? One with 4x4? AWD? BoF? It is funny to see people gatekeeping some words with some arbitrary conditions they have made up. Most of the models getting sold is 2WD, like Thar or XUV700. Is XUV700 2WD an SUV or MPV on steroids? This has absolutely no value addition to the thread.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com