Old 8th May 2024, 07:54   #16

Re: Hyundai likely to debut Genesis brand in India by H2 of 2025

If they price it right, coupled with Hyundai's extensive dealer network - some of which will probably be converted to premium Genesis showrooms - and good service experience, this might just become the kick-in-the-butt that the Germans and Japanese desperately deserve.

If I had to pick between the outdated Fortuner for 60 lacs vs a Genesis SUV for around the same money, I'd pick the Genesis 10 times out of 10.

Last edited by SaiSW : 8th May 2024 at 07:56.
SaiSW is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th May 2024, 09:39   #17

Originally Posted by SaiSW View Post

If I had to pick between the outdated Fortuner for 60 lacs vs a Genesis SUV for around the same money, I'd pick the Genesis 10 times out of 10.
That is unlikely to happen . Even a Hyundai 7 seater SUV will cost more than a Fortuner. And you are hoping for an equivalent Genesis to come at the same money. For eg: A Hyundai Santafe, which is the closest equivalent of a Fortuner in Hyundai lineup, is more expensive than Fortuner in all the markets where they are both sold. So there is no way a Genesis Fortuner equivalent will debut at the same money. That said, Santafe is one car that can strangle the Fortuner. I hope they launch that here at some point to destroy the Toyota monopoly.

Genesys, if it debuts will sit below Mercedes, BMW etc and slightly undercutting Audi. It will still be a tough sell because none associates a Hyundai with bragging rights. Germans and the Lexus have great brand recall which Genesis lacks.

Last edited by padmrajravi : 8th May 2024 at 09:46.
padmrajravi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th May 2024, 19:03   #18

Originally Posted by padmrajravi View Post
That is unlikely to happen . Even a Hyundai 7 seater SUV will cost more than a Fortuner. And you are hoping for an equivalent Genesis to come at the same money. For eg: A Hyundai Santafe, which is the closest equivalent of a Fortuner in Hyundai lineup, is more expensive than Fortuner in all the markets where they are both sold. So there is no way a Genesis Fortuner equivalent will debut at the same money. That said, Santafe is one car that can strangle the Fortuner. I hope they launch that here at some point to destroy the Toyota monopoly.
Man can hope. Anything really. Anything to humble Toyota. They desperately need a lesson in humbleness.
Old 9th May 2024, 19:27   #19

On my recent trip to the US, I got a chance to sit in the Genesis G70 (I think). Looks like Maseratti. It was a very luxurious car and my friend apparently was very happy with the Price and overall cost of maintenance.

If Hyundai launches the Genesis brand and the cars in India at acceptable price range, I am sure Hyundai will have a hit.

I recently drove the X1 and came away very disappointed. Hyundai with it's track record in India should be able to pull it off.
Old 11th October 2024, 20:26   #20

Hyundai should price it in the 50 lakh range atleast to first get people to buy and then move up the price. Take the loss for the first thousand cars. At 60L on road the GV70 will be a no brainer for Hyundai customers of Tucson or Creta. Price it too high and it will be DOA.
Old 11th October 2024, 22:23   #21

Originally Posted by standardherald View Post
Hyundai should price it in the 50 lakh range atleast to first get people to buy and then move up the price. Take the loss for the first thousand cars.
It will be a rock and a hard place for Hyundai (Genesis) in the first year or so. They plan to bring in the cars under CBU initially, hence it will be very difficult for them to price the cars aggressively due to high custom duties; simultaneously, it will be very unlike-Hyundai to price it exorbitantly high and risk being DoA. Moreover, Indian automobile market is very unforgiving, very few products manage to do well after being a sales dud when launched.

Hopefully, the Hyundai IPO brings in a ton of investment and we see the CKD versions from the beginning (since the expected launch date of Genesis in India is towards the end of 2025)
AnkitShroff is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 4th November 2024, 06:39   #22

Infractions: 0/3 (13)

Here is a Hyundai Genesis which I noticed parked at Clover Greens Golf Course on Saturday morning along with a number of other Hyundai vehicles.

The caddies told me that there was a significantly large contingent of folks from Chennai, visiting and golfing there on the long weekend.

So it must belong to some senior person from Hyundai.

Quite possible that they are user-testing and prepping for a launch.

I remember they did the same thing in the late 1990’s with first the Santro and then with the Accent before they launched those cars in India.

Several of their executives used to live in Valmiki Nagar in Madras and I used to see many of them driving about in these cars.

(Same case with the Ford Escort, Ford Mondeo and Ford Ikon of those days. Quite a few test vehicles being used by the Ford Executives who lives around the same area, before they actually launched them.)
Hyundai likely to debut Genesis brand in India by H2 of 2025-img_5058.jpeg  

Hyundai likely to debut Genesis brand in India by H2 of 2025-img_5059.jpeg  

Hyundai likely to debut Genesis brand in India by H2 of 2025-img_5060.jpeg  

Last edited by shankar.balan : 4th November 2024 at 06:44.
shankar.balan is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 4th November 2024, 07:26   #23

I have seen the Genesis sedans driven on the Chennai Bangalore route a couple of times last year. It was chauffeured with "Executive" type folks in the rear.

I am not sure the cars are being tested. I think they don't want Hyundai execs to be seen in a rival's car like Merc or BMW
Old 4th November 2024, 07:37   #24

Originally Posted by SaiSW View Post
Except that in all of the markets where Geneis and Fortuner are sold, that any Genesis model is cheaper than Fortuner and by a long shot.

They make great cars but at that end of the pricing, brand is much more important and given the size of luxury Indian car market that there is space for a brand new brand. They might import and sell a few but I dont see them getting anywhere close to the German 3 or even Lexus for that matter.
extreme_torque is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th November 2024, 12:22   #25

Originally Posted by extreme_torque View Post
Except that in all of the markets where Geneis and Fortuner are sold, that any Genesis model is cheaper than Fortuner and by a long shot.
This makes the Fortuner even worse of an investment in my eyes.

Originally Posted by extreme_torque View Post
They make great cars but at that end of the pricing, brand is much more important and given the size of luxury Indian car market that there is space for a brand new brand. They might import and sell a few but I dont see them getting anywhere close to the German 3 or even Lexus for that matter.
While the big 3 Germans and Lexus is a different matter altogether, I strongly believe a Genesis SUV priced similarly with a Fortuner will cause serious heat to the latter, and deservedly so.

Last edited by SaiSW : 4th November 2024 at 12:23.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com