Old 21st April 2024, 11:49   #31

Re: Toyota Innova Hycross GX (O) Petrol variant launched at Rs 21 lakh

This is a link to a replacement steering wheel for the Hycross non Hybrid V model which is known as the Zenix in some markets.
It adds not only paddle shifters but also cruise control and to round it off is also leather wrapped. These are in my opinion the only features missing to make this in my opinion the most value for money car available in the Indian market.

One thing that I could not really understand is if it is a simple plug and play with some coding or maybe ECU itself is different. However the seller does say this is to upgrade the G variant steering to the V variant.
From what I could understand through Google translate it's an original Toyota OEM part from the middle East market. Seems very reasonably priced at Rs 23k ex Indonesia.

For someone who wants only cruise control there seems to be a far cheaper option available as well. Around 10k ex Indonesia.

Please note I am in no way associated with the above organisation nor do I vouch for the authenticity or compatibility of said products.

I happened to come across these 2 products during my research on the possibility of a cruise control retrofit on the GXO variant as I am in the process of finalisation of a new 7 seater car preferably under 25L. 2 deal breakers for me was the lack of cruise control and the abysmal mileage considering my nearly 12k annual usage in peak traffic.
Based on my math on mileage of the non Hybrid being around 7kmpl and the hybrid being 15kmpl considering a cost difference of 7.5 lakhs which if invest am sure to earn at least 1 lakh a year the hybrid makes no sense apart from the power.
The mileage seems very pessimistic but that's what I got when I borrowed my uncle's invicto for a week.

So anyway I think it's a matter of time these and more will be available in Indian accessories shops as well. Fingers crossed

Last edited by cooldude1988765 : 21st April 2024 at 11:52.
cooldude1988765 is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2024, 00:54   #32

Originally Posted by Shreyans_Jain View Post

GX(O) is all the Innova 90% of buyers will ever need.
The Hycross petrol weighs about 1500 kg and generates a measly 204 Nm torque at a high 4900 rpm. This translates to about 136Nm per tonne.
With a full load of passengers and luggage, the Hycross would weigh 2 tonnes and this means about 100 Nm of peak torque per tonne. Thats awfully low torque for a huge people mover like the Hycross.

Compare the torque with Innova 2.4 liter crysta diesel at 340 Nm at a low 1400 rpm and the Crysta feels like having ample torque in comparison. That is the reasonable amount of torque to have in a people mover that will enable it to munch miles. The Crysta's engine is outstanding in comparison to the Hycross. Even the Crysta's 2.7L petrol generates 245 Nm at 4000 rpm which is higher than the Hycross.

Now compare this with the XUV700 petrol at a massive 380Nm torque at just 1750 rpm (and the XUV diesel at an enormous 450Nm at 1750rpm), thats the kind of torque expected in a large vehicle of this class.

Given the weight and size, the petrol engine in the Hycross will be a gas guzzler. However efficient the petrol motor is, a 2 tonne (at full load) petrol vehicle will deliver just in single digits FE most of the time. That puts serious doubts on its long distance use case. Toyota should offer the Hycross in a diesel avatar, afterall diesel as a fuel is here to stay.

Last edited by for_cars1 : 23rd April 2024 at 01:06.
for_cars1 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2024, 07:12   #33

Originally Posted by for_cars1 View Post
Toyota should offer the Hycross in a diesel avatar, afterall diesel as a fuel is here to stay.
Let the Hycross come in the petrol guise. Toyota must reintroduce the AT in the Crysta. Let the customer choose what he/she needs.
rakesh_r is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 24th April 2024, 11:19   #34

Booked a Hycross GX O yesterday. There is a possibility we could get it next month. If not I have asked that the car be delivered in Oct/Nov timeframe.

One thing in my mind.
As I plan to keep the car for a long time, how much will we miss the lack of Cruise Control

On another note :
I would like to extend a sincere heartfelt thanks to this group.
Been buying cars since 2005, and I have always relied on this group for their expert inputs. Been almost 20 years now and I can't think of a better place to discuss and research about cars.
Thank you everyone.
God bless

Last edited by RROD : 24th April 2024 at 11:22.
RROD is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 24th April 2024, 15:47   #35

Originally Posted by RROD View Post
Booked a Hycross GX O yesterday. There is a possibility we could get it next month. If not I have asked that the car be delivered in Oct/Nov timeframe.
Through which dealer did you book
I'm trying to glance at the gxo variant at all the 3 Toyota dealerships, none of them have it on display or stockyard

Nandi Toyota sales guy asked me to book it
I retorted, will he marry a girl just by looking at her photo, how can he expect me to book by looking at the brochure
We can & do go wrong after meeting the person too naa
Married guys will understand this logic better ����

Last edited by ampere : 25th September 2024 at 23:16.
Old 24th April 2024, 18:59   #36

Originally Posted by GSMINC View Post
Nandi Toyota sales guy asked me to book it
I retorted, will he marry a girl just by looking at her photo, how can he expect me to book by looking at the brochure
We can & do go wrong after meeting the person too naa
Married guys will understand this logic better
Haha...couldn't agree more.
I booked at Nandi Toyota, Banaswadi.
I was in the similar boat, so I looked at the one which resembles the most ,in this case the elder one , the better equipped one, the VX variant.
The additional equipment on the VX, other than the Cruise Control are something that can be added post-purchase.
You can also check similar variants on Youtube.

When I insisted on looking at the car. They shared a youtube video

Last edited by ampere : 25th September 2024 at 23:16. Reason: Removed Non-Forum emojis
RROD is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th April 2024, 19:30   #37

When I insisted on looking at the car. They shared a Youtube video
https://Youtu.be/XDyq2h6k4Vk?si=WJ2p4m4F7TDGd0IF
This isn't even the video of the GXO version, this is an old video from a Delhi Toyota dealership speculating about what features might be offered on the GXO version

Nobody seems to get their hands on the GXO version, not even the ever eager YouTubers chasing likes
GSMINC is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th April 2024, 10:43   #38

Seems like dealers are gaining knowledge from YouTube University

Last edited by Axe77 : 25th April 2024 at 10:52.
Old 27th April 2024, 03:04   #39

Can any one advise Sales contact for DELHI NCR and the delivery time for GX(O) variant ? thanks in advance
Old 29th April 2024, 15:37   #40

Two weeks after the GXO announcement, still waiting for the glimpse of it somewhere on the Automotive sites/YouTube.

Though the official pricelist is shared by SA at Ravindu Toyota (Bengaluru), they are delaying to issue proforma invoice. Another colleague of mine got a different pricelist from Nandi Toyota, which quotes less than Ravindu's for GXO.

Not sure what's happening inside Toyota, is there a good news of GST reduction on hybrids sooner than anticipated and a price correction of GXO?
Old 29th April 2024, 19:16   #41

Originally Posted by hummer View Post
Two weeks after the GXO announcement, Not sure what's happening inside Toyota, is there a good news of GST reduction on hybrids sooner than anticipated and a price correction of GXO?
Called my SA and he clearly said that cars are only expected by next month. Usually 2-3 cars are sent to dealers as free stock. But no signs of them yet according to him.

I was offered GX Hycross without any waiting in shade I wish, I bought one recently and dont regret waiting for GX(O) even though initially I had planned one. So yeah, you decide.

If Hybrid Price cut happens, it'll be only after the elections and price reduction will be 2-3 lakhs only. But even after price cut, the hybrid still feels overpriced despite good tech and decent mileage.
CarguyNish is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st May 2024, 23:07   #42

Hi All , booked the GX(O) online on the Toyota website on the 27th April and today got the receipt from dealer . The receipt mentions the model as INNOVA HYCROSS (7S)LE, PACKAGE :GX-LE (HSN :8703) .If anyone who has booked the same can confirm ? thanks in advance
outlandish77 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd May 2024, 08:13   #43

Here's a video of new Hycross GX(O)

CarguyNish is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 2nd May 2024, 11:25   #44

I like this instrument cluster in the GX (O). The analogue speedometer with narrow Mid 10cm is a better combination.

In my view, Toyota MID design get a misfit when they increase the display size. it doesnt blend in. Its like a Photoshop student on day 1 learning to place an image into another image.
Old 2nd May 2024, 13:53   #45

Originally Posted by CarguyNish View Post
Here's a video of new Hycross GX(O)

https://Youtu.be/LZQaCk0rp0c?feature=shared
All this car needs is bigger Tyres and it will become unbeatable VFM against any car upto 30L even.

surely someone at Toyota will do the needful sooner than later.