Old 4th April 2024, 17:38   #31

Re: Toyota Urban Cruiser Taisor launched at Rs. 7.74 lakh

I don't see a problem with rebadged versions as long as both are bringing something important to the table. In case of Hyryder/Grand Vitara both Toyota and Suzuki had their own engine variants and different transmission to choose from. Hybrid tech is pretty niche in Indian market given only Honda provides its (<20lacs budget)

Unfortunately for Baleno/Glanza or Fronx/Taisor its just minor cosmetics changes. There is no contribution from Toyota in terms of engine or transmission. I don't see any value for the buyers. Only Toyota will gain some market selling these rebadged cars.

In my books its profitable move for a company in short span of time until consumers become smarter and see it through.
OpenRoads is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th April 2024, 20:38   #32

Looks nicer than the Fronx to my eyes.
Phantom 510 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th April 2024, 21:39   #33

A few observations:
1. As others have pointed out, it should simply be called 'Toyota Taisor', and the tag 'Urban Cruiser' should be dropped. Why keep such a long name when a shorter one sounds better?

2. It looks good in the colour orange.

3. In my opinion, the name 'Fronx' looks better than 'Taisor', which many might not be able to pronounce correctly.

4. The LED DRLs of 'Fronx' look better.
Old 4th April 2024, 23:41   #34

Toyota has built a robust brand with vehicles like Qualis, Innova and Fortuner in India and is now just milking its brand image with these Maruti products. Now Maruti maybe market leader but it is definitely not an aspirational brand. I am both amused and irritated when I hear people saying they bought a Toyota Hyryder over Maruti GV because the Toyota has a tougher body. Toyota may benefit in the short term but someday those people will realise they have been cheated. And that will be the beginning of the end of the Toyota brand.
Time_Machine is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th April 2024, 23:52   #35

Originally Posted by TorquePull View Post
Remove the Urban cruiser badging, like others said. Toyota Taisor actually looks much better than Fronx to me. Wish toyota did something to strengthen the car, to be more safe, like a safer alternative to Maruti.
I heard somewhere that the Toyota badges are stronger than Suzuki which adds to the safety
avdhesh15 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 5th April 2024, 08:28   #36

This is so funny, it's sad. Toyota seems to really be taking us Indians for a ride.

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 5th April 2024 at 12:50. Reason: Punctuation
Zinger_Winger is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th April 2024, 16:42   #37

All jokes aside, can anybody refer me to a video so I can learn how to actually pronounce the name. Is it pronounced "tie-sor", "taser" or "tasor". As for the product itself, I feel it looks better than the Fronx, but overall nothing to really write home about.

I can't believe Toyota have managed to make a car that is less interesting than it's name.

I confess, I put off reading about this launch just because I knew it wouldn't be worth my time; but even then, Toyota have managed to underdeliver.

Last edited by ExtremePocca : 5th April 2024 at 16:43. Reason: Readability
Old 5th April 2024, 18:01   #38

The Fronx and the Taisor are very good cars. They look really good, offer great engine options, give super reliability and after sales service and will be comfortable to sit in as well.

The Indian junta will welcome both these cars and very soon we will see the Taisor among the highest selling cars.

Yes, Toyota is treating India like a third world country but at least they are sticking around. I am happy with that. Soon, they will turn around and launch better/original Toyota products that too with their OG Hybrid tech. I am confident of that.

Just a random prediction/observation - I think many first time car buyers and women drivers (second car for wife) will choose this car. That makes for a sizeable market.
sjain2054 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th April 2024, 08:07   #39

Originally Posted by avdhesh15 View Post
I heard somewhere that the Toyota badges are stronger than Suzuki which adds to the safety
Sadly, it’s true. People who don’t like Maruti buy rebadged Maruti without realising it carries the same negatives. Toyota is basically ruining their image.
Old 13th April 2024, 11:48   #40

Hello Bhpians,

Looking forward to the Toyota Taisor, as well as booked the base variant E in the first hour post launch from Galaxy Toyota Motinagar Delhi, which is only available in CNG along with Brezza Lxi CNG too.

In dilemma between the both for long urban Delhi-Gurgaon-Delhi bumper-to-bumper traffic commutes here in Delhi NCR.

Couldn't find value in Nexon EV which is coming for 16 OTR here whereas Taisor CNG as well as Brezza CNG are coming down to INR 10-11 lac OTR.

My father is suggesting brand Toyota inspite of same product fronx sheer because of service peace of mind as well greater warranty. Please suggest.
Ajitesh_Drive is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th April 2024, 11:52   #41

Originally Posted by Ajitesh_Drive View Post
Hello Bhpians,

Looking forward to the Toyota Taisor, as well as booked the base variant E in the first hour post launch from Galaxy Toyota Motinagar Delhi, which is only available in CNG along with Brezza Lxi CNG too.

In dilemma between the both for long urban Delhi-Gurgaon-Delhi bumper-to-bumper traffic commutes here in Delhi NCR.

Couldn't find value in Nexon EV which is coming for 16 OTR here whereas Taisor CNG as well as Brezza CNG are coming down to INR 10-11 lac OTR.

My father is suggesting brand Toyota inspite of same product fronx sheer because of service peace of mind as well greater warranty. Please suggest.
Firstly, Brezza is superior to Fronx/Taisor. Better engine, better build, superior platform. Now, between Toyota and Maruti, I will always go for Maruti where I can negotiate better deals. Otherwise, the cars are identical.

As for EV, Punch EV makes more sense over Nexon EV for daily use. Better storage and practicality, more space and sorted ergonomics.
Shreyans_Jain is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 14th April 2024, 14:31   #42

Toyota Taisor to be sold as Starlet Cross overseas.

South Africa to get made-in-India Taisor
Could get 1.5-litre petrol engine
Glanza sold as Toyota Starlet in South Africa
There is a long list of made-in-India Toyota models sold in South Africa: Maruti Celerio-based Vitz hatchback, the Baleno-based Glanza hatchback, the Ertiga-based Rumion MPV and the Urban Cruiser Hyryder. Most of these are being supplied by Suzuki as part of the Toyota-Suzuki global partnership.

Link:

Last edited by volkman10 : 14th April 2024 at 14:33.
Old 29th April 2024, 13:46   #43

Toyota Urban Cruiser Taisor arrives at dealership.

Name:  Screenshot 20240429 134532.png
Views: 849
Size:  469.1 KB

Name:  Screenshot 20240429 134514.png
Views: 778
Size:  478.6 KB
volkman10 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 29th April 2024, 14:45   #44

I think smart choice will be Fronx, Maruti Suzuki network and support makes the difference.
Old 29th April 2024, 17:35   #45

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
Toyota Urban Cruiser Taisor arrives at dealership.

Attachment 2600390

Attachment 2600392
The colour and pot grill gives mini Elevate feel
venukrithish is offline   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com