Old 27th March 2024, 16:10   #16

Re: Kia Seltos gets new automatic variants priced from Rs 15.40 lakh

Originally Posted by raptor_diwan View Post
Could we avoid using such terms for people who enjoy it? Let's allow people to enjoy what they like without labeling them. Children love it, and it's the adults' responsibility to make them use it wisely, such as using it in parking areas or on non-public roads.
Agreed. Shouldn't have used that word. I apologize. Unable to edit the message. Moderator kindly delete the objectionable word.
Ferruccio is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 27th March 2024, 20:11   #17

Note from Support:

Was inclined to summarily delete the 'kids out of sunroofs' tangent, but it's heartening to see disagreements sorted out respectfully rather than descending to handbags, so leaving it up. Maturity is still alive on the internet

Kindly continue to be respectful in debate. Cheers!
Chetan_Rao is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 28th March 2024, 12:40   #18

Originally Posted by Ferruccio View Post
Agreed. Shouldn't have used that word. I apologize. Unable to edit the message. Moderator kindly delete the objectionable word.
Well, OT and going against the grain.

I didn't feel offended in the least. Children enjoying sunroofs and dads recording them for Instagram reels is genuinely real trigger against sunroofs. Now anyone, including members, can take offense against the expressed irritability but people miss that there is no special entitlement to anyone being a member of an elite online forum.

However, on the subject of Sunroofs. I don't have any logical or psychological problem with those who spend their money on top-end variants and love sunroof to bits and enjoy watching their kids play, watch stars during night drive with help of ADAS. But I do have my observations that in India we are not billion people deprived of Vitamin D. Here average mean temperature can stay nearly 30C for most parts of country. Sunroofs offer zero advantage over tin-sheet but comparatively glass is more dangerous with flying shreds in case of impact. Left unused or used everyday; rubber gaskets will take a beating sooner or later. Reduced headroom height, chances of leakage.

Replacement/Repairs will add to maintenance costs. The bottomline impact is positive only for car makers and not for end users. I don't think people realise that car makers will offer what majority wants but it is not necessarily the case that majority is always right.

Mod Note: Fixing spelling and grammar. Please proofread before posting

Last edited by GTO : 4th April 2024 at 11:40. Reason: Removing inappropriate, off-topic comments
HereticHermit is offline   (1) Thanks Received Infraction
Old 28th March 2024, 13:21   #19

Off topic and on a lighter note.
Talking about sunroof, my love started when I first saw the karwachuath advertisement of Optra, and since then, as a young, jilted lover, I always wanted to get a car with a sunroof and relive this act in real. However, considering amazing weather and AQI of NCR, we never use the same. But whenever I look at it, it always brings a sentimental smirk.
Old 28th March 2024, 13:55   #20

Children in moving cars popping out of the sunroof are like a red flag to a bull to me. Whenever I see one my wife puts a hand on me and says "Don't" because I have on occasion stopped the chap and explained to him in graphic detail exactly what will happen in a mishap, sudden deceleration or in case a stray flying particle meets the eye of the child. My kids have stood out of sunroofs too but always in a stationary car, safely parked.

GM did have some memorable ads for new features. The Karwachauth ad for the sunroof you mentioned and I recall "Holding hands" is possible when you have an automatic transmission. That's the excuse I give the Missus for always buying automatics these days. Can't mention my gimpy leg leg from decades of driving Mahindra and Tata clutches!
Ferruccio is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th March 2024, 15:24   #21

Originally Posted by HereticHermit View Post
Well, OT and going against the grain...
I enjoyed your write-up. Sun-roofs, too, will be a passing fad. Just wait for a few more years. When water-seepage, cracked-glass, malfunctioning motor kind of issues start cropping up, as cars get old, and also when general awareness about possible accident scenarios start sinking in, in the minds of people.

But right now, it's a common sight in any Indian city/town to see kids hanging half their torsos out with arms outstretched, like filming for commercials. And proud daddy and mummy encouraging/recording. I am more surprised when engineers and other S.T.E.M background people allow their kids to stick their heads out through sunroofs. They do know laws of physics, bodies in motion, momentum, effect of sudden stoppage etc., right? If I had a sunroof-equipped car (which I don't), I wouldn't stick my head out even in a parked car. What if your parked car is rear-ended by another car? Hit from behind is more dangerous than hit from front. Body will snap like a twig. People need to be made aware of this.

Last edited by graaja : 1st April 2024 at 17:40. Reason: Trimming quoted text. Please quote only a small or relevant part of a post
pgsagar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th March 2024, 09:06   #22

Here in Jaipur every year in May the temperature goes upto 47-48°C, you cant even stop your car for a second on red lights in harsh boiling temperature, you will have to use sun shades, in such conditions sunroof allows more heat to come inside the cabin, although most of the cars come with dark coloured sunroof covers, but still it's not better than a metal roof, even Grand Vitara and Hyrider come with a very thin sunroof cover which makes the car boiling and you will have to use the AC at its fullest to make the car cool down, which significantly reduce the fuel efficiency and will effect the overall performance, in my opinion companies should give options with and without sunroof, like Tata do with their cars, XZ + ( S ) Sunroof and XZ + without sunroof, and this makes almost a difference of 1 lakh rupees in between with and without sunroof variants, and I will invest that saved money in getting an Automatic variant instead of getting the sunroof variant.
Old 1st April 2024, 12:41   #23

Kia Seltos automatic now available in mid-spec HTK+ trim

Kia has launched new mid-spec automatic variants of the Seltos. The SUV is now available in HTK+ Petrol CVT and HTK+ Diesel AT trims priced at Rs 15.40 lakh and Rs 16.90 lakh (ex-showroom), respectively.

Kia Seltos gets new automatic variants priced from Rs 15.40 lakh-image-seltos.jpg

Until recently, if you wanted an affordable Seltos Petrol CVT or Diesel AT, the HTX variants were your only option. The newly introduced HTK+ trims have made the automatic variants more affordable than before.

The HTK+ variant of the Seltos is decently equipped as well. It comes with a panoramic sunroof, LED tail lamps with an LED light bar, a leatherette steering wheel with paddle shifters, drive and traction modes, and LED reading lamps and front map lights.

Kia Seltos gets new automatic variants priced from Rs 15.40 lakh-image-seltos-2.jpg

Kia has also updated the features list on the higher variants of the Seltos. The HTX, HTX+, GT Line and X Line trims now get an auto up/down function for all four windows, The HTK variants get LED connected taillights, LED DRLs, keyless entry, and an engine start/stop button.

In terms of colours, the new HTK+ trims get Aurora Black Pearl exterior paint options. The base HTE trim is now available in five additional colours: Aurora Black Pearl, Gravity Grey, Intense Red, Pewter Olive and Imperial Blue.

Link to Team-BHP News
TusharK is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 1st April 2024, 13:39   #24

Originally Posted by TusharK View Post
The HTK variants get LED connected taillights, LED DRLs, keyless entry, and an engine start/stop button.
Ex-showroom price has gone by up 13K from what I got for HTK variant (not sure KIA has updated their price after April hike in their website already) .

But for 13k , there are very good additions . But KIA website does not mention about LED DRL's on HTK Variant, so I am not sure if its available from HTK or HTK+
VigneshMC is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st April 2024, 14:17   #25

Removing folding mirrors from the HTK+ to add a sunroof and leather steering is sad. Folding mirrors is almost an essential feature for a car this wide. Someone looking to keep the car for a long time/ not do Karol Bagh mods would be forced to go for HTX. Would have been great to have IVT/6AT with the outgoing HTK+ (no sunroof/ leather steering but folding mirrors)

Last edited by rayjaycleoful : 1st April 2024 at 14:20.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com