Old 19th April 2024, 05:36   #46

Re: Mid-size Ford SUV design patent filed in India

Originally Posted by firstdrive View Post
Looking at how well VW group is doing with 1.0 and 1.5 TSI, ford had the early bird advantage with 1.0 ecoboost engines. Anyways that’s history now, hope they make a comeback soon and hit the festive season 2024!!
Taking a larger view of the hypothetical return of Ford to India:

So far, the patent filing rumours/leaks have revealed the following:

1. Ford Endeavour renaming to Ford Everest (Rival to Fortuner)(35-50L)

2. This latest patent filing of Ford Territory, possible rival to XUV700 & Harrier (20-30L)

3. Earlier Patent filing of Compact SUV (rival to Creta, Seltos)(15-20L)

4. LEAKS of MPV design, based on same platform as Compact SUV, 3 rows of seats to rival Kia Carren, etc.

5. Possible introduction of Ford Ranger

This looks really good on paper.

I just hope Ford also includes a sub-compact SUV (Bring back Ecosport) for the 10-15L market segment, where it will seriously rival Nexon.

Reason: This will give Ford the immediate sale numbers it needs as a cushion on return, while it introduces new cars over 2-3 years, and Ecosport is their biggest established brand, with loyal customer base, in India.

Rest I remain hopeful.
samarthnarayan is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 19th April 2024, 11:15   #47

Originally Posted by nightraven View Post
Latest article from Motorbeam dated yesterday indicates Ford filed a design patent for another SUV/MPV. Looks and design wise this is totally different from the previous design patents filed for the CSUV and CX757 (Ford skinned XUV700). This design is clearly not for sale currently in any market. Looks and size wise seems like an evolution of Kuga/Escape developed specifically for India and other export markets.
Have been looking at Ford's line-up everywhere, and it looks like they don't have 7 seater MPV style vehicles for sale anymore except for proper vans, which this isn't.

Anyway hope the models have diesel engine options, since we can be pretty sure they won't launch affordable hybrids.

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
Ford Territory SUV name trademarked in India.

Damn. If Ford is going to flood their line-up with Chinese cars. then I pray they dont't even come back. Feel free to judge me.

Sad thing is these products may sell way more in the present market than true blue Fords ever did.
DicKy is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 19th April 2024, 12:15   #48

I just hope this "Territory" is not this. I believe Ford dumping their JMC products in India won't be appreciated.
chakravorty is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 19th April 2024, 12:24   #49

When a company files for a trademark - more often than not - we start assuming that a car with that name / design will actually hit our market.

Perhaps we should take a breath and leave some room for the possibility that the car-maker is simply locking out certain design aspects and the name that they hold dear to their heart - so that nobody else can snap it in the market.

Ford knows it very well - since they probably had to sell their Everest as Endaevour - because someone else was selling spices in the market and the "Everest" name and brand trademark was far too significant to ignore or coexist with .
They've also seen what Mahindra can do - with a "jeep" design language, thumbing the nose at all regulations for decades. Perhaps its just a brand playing safe, spending very little money as cost for the exercise, and not really an indication of a reentry.

Last edited by Reinhard : 19th April 2024 at 12:26.
Reinhard is offline   (18) Thanks
Old 19th April 2024, 13:10   #50

Originally Posted by chakravorty View Post
I just hope this "Territory" is not this. I believe Ford dumping their JMC products in India won't be appreciated.
From the look of things, to me it seems that the Ford Territory is a very high utility vehicle. For starters the size and space inside the cabin is just awesome.

Disclaimer, I have no first hand experience of the Territory.

But this comparison review between the Ford Everest and Territory (in Philipines) is worth a watch:

samarthnarayan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th April 2024, 18:12   #51

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
Ford Territory SUV name trademarked in India.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ford_Territory_(China)

It a made in China Ford and not very exciting in person. Yes looks like a Tfort and spacious, but if you sit inside after paying 35-40Lacs you will not feel happy about it.
svsantosh is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 19th April 2024, 18:45   #52

Originally Posted by svsantosh View Post
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ford_Territory_(China)

It a made in China Ford and not very exciting in person. Yes looks like a Tfort and spacious, but if you sit inside after paying 35-40Lacs you will not feel happy about it.
Yes, two models, Territory and their legendary sedan Taurus, both have started to come as Made in China. It is manufactured in JV with JMC, China.

Have checked in person here in UAE. It was made in China (as mentioned in car registration card). It does feel modern and premium, but not as strong and sturdy built as a real Ford. Also, it is difficult to identify from far (on the road) as a ford (feels very generic to other chinese models such as Jetour, Bestune etc....)
mbhalara is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 19th April 2024, 19:15   #53

Ford Territory of China and rest of the world are distinctly different, may be even poles apart, just like Ford Edge in China and rest of the world. It would make sense if Ford would have a array of engines and SUV models spread over the 20 -60 lakh on road price spectrum. They already have SUVs with 1.5L, 1.8L, 2L, 2.3L and 2.7L eco boost engines under various names in different countries. They also have the 2.5L hybrid and of course the 2 & 3 L Diesel engines used in the Everest. If they can provide a variety of SUVs even at a mild premium over it's competitors in the 20 - 60 lakh segment, they may be able to make their presence felt.

But that's going to happen only if they are going to take the Indian market seriously. They should not be looking at mass market segment below 20 lakh which is dominated by the Japanese, Korean and domestic manufacturers. It would be nice to see Territory, Escape, Edge and Everest on Indian roads. Am sure people who have had a feel of the driving dynamics of Ford will agree with me.
Old 19th April 2024, 20:54   #54

Originally Posted by Mustang111 View Post
They should not be looking at mass market segment below 20 lakh which is dominated by the Japanese, Korean and domestic manufacturers.
Humbly Disagree.
This is exactly the kind of thinking that made Ford exit in 2021.

While Its true that Korean (Hyundai and Kia) players dominate the 10-20L segment, but its also true that Ford was selling 3000-5000 Ecosports per month in the peak of the pandemic (2021) just before they announced their exit.

Ford should not shy away from the competition, because they have a superior drivers product, and a loyal customer base for that brand.

Also, having a entry level SUV gives you future customers potentially. Example: Folks who have owned a Ford, are more likely to buy second and/or higher car from it at a later date.

So the importance of the 10-15L (sub-compact) and the 15-20L (compact) SUV segments is very important, next 5-10 years this will be the true growth segment in India.

Not to be missed.
samarthnarayan is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 19th April 2024, 21:06   #55

Originally Posted by DicKy View Post
Have been looking at Ford's line-up everywhere, and it looks like they don't have 7 seater MPV style vehicles for sale anymore except for proper vans, which this isn't.

Anyway hope the models have diesel engine options, since we can be pretty sure they won't launch affordable hybrids.

Damn. If Ford is going to flood their line-up with Chinese cars. then I pray they dont't even come back. Feel free to judge me.

Sad thing is these products may sell way more in the present market than true blue Fords ever did.
GM did the same mistake of dumping useless Chinese products and IMO that was where their downfall started. I don't know why people still believe in Ford returning to India. Even if they would, no chance for these chinese products for a second innings of a manufacturer.
saikishor is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 20th April 2024, 07:57   #56

Originally Posted by samarthnarayan View Post
This car will be a winner, in my opinion.

Both XUV700 and Harrier are just big bully looking machines without the driving dynamics or reliable engineering.

In fact both Mahindra and Tata cars are very poor on the engineering and reliability score.

i am so hoping that all these rumors of Ford cars come true. Fingers crossed.
Aren't you too critical on Indian manufacturers who are now producing excellent cars without compromising safety at VFM pricing. Yes there are some teething issues more so wrt Tata, but in comparison this one is not a true blue Ford as well. I still have first gen Figo with me. Its a class apart in terms of drive feel, handling compared to next gen Indian fords(Aspire) . I am not sure these Chinese derivatives can match feel of Ford vehicles.
vegitakarthik is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 20th April 2024, 09:47   #57

Originally Posted by vegitakarthik View Post
Aren't you too critical on Indian manufacturers who are now producing excellent cars without compromising safety at VFM pricing.
I largely agree with your views on our Indian car manufacturers, i.e Tata and Mahindra.

Yes, they are producing VFM cars.
Tata especially is the best When it comes to build quality (NCAP ratings) and I would say they (both) are making very good looking cars as well. The Harrier is one of my favorite cars, just based on pure looks and road presence. And same goes for the Mahindra Thar. Their good looks are undeniable.

But I got to be honest, or very critical as you put it, that our Indian car manufacturers dont offer Reliability and Refinement as the Japanese do. Or Features and Finish as the Koreans do. Or Engineering and Performance as Ford (American) or German cars do.

Also the after sales and service experience of the Tata and Mahindra dealers, leaves a lot to be desired with.

Lastly, i have been disappointed with the product management and roadmap development with both Tata and Mahindra.

Just one example each: Tata completely mishandled the marketing of the Nano. Even today it is not pushing its electric version, which will be a killer option in the market.
As for Mahindra, it completely mishandled the KUV100 and its electric version. Even after they displayed a prototype in 2020-21, and announced a launch price of 8+L, they just dumped the car. That electric car would have been a great option in todays market.

In summary, i just want our Indian (Tata and Mahindra) car manufacturers to think beyond the VFM option. And to their credit, i can see that with each iteration, they are improving very fast.

Once again, I fully agree with you that if build Quality, VFM and "Looks" were the only criteria to buy a car, i would every time buy a Tata or Mahindra. Without a doubt.
samarthnarayan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th April 2024, 10:41   #58

Looks reminiscent of Kia Carens don't bash me for this, just my opinion.
Old 20th April 2024, 10:51   #59

Originally Posted by vegitakarthik View Post
I am not sure these Chinese derivatives can match feel of Ford vehicles.
Leave alone the feel. Even by looks, this doesn't feel like proper Ford. The generic exterior styling aside, the interior doesn't look like what a Ford engineer would sign off.

Just one look at the doorpad design will give the answer. These are just Jianglings with Ford badges. Ofcourse, with those huge touchscreens and panoramic sunroofs, Ford may actually find takers whoe may have brand fatigue with exisitng products.
DicKy is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 20th April 2024, 12:06   #60

Originally Posted by samarthnarayan View Post
Humbly Disagree.
This is exactly the kind of thinking that made Ford exit in 2021.

While Its true that Korean (Hyundai and Kia) players dominate the 10-20L segment, but its also true that Ford was selling 3000-5000 Ecosports per month in the peak of the pandemic (2021) just before they announced

So the importance of the 10-15L (sub-compact) and the 15-20L (compact) SUV segments is very important, next 5-10 years this will be the true growth segment in India.

Not to be missed.
I do agree that Ford should have compact SUVs, however they may no be able sell it at with an on road price below 20 lakhs. Even if they re introduce the Ecosport, it will be not be less than Rs 20 lakh on road as on date. Anything smaller may meet the same fate of the Figo as it's not the strength or expertise of Ford traditionally.
Mustang111 is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com