Old 12th February 2024, 23:19   #1

Mahindra XUV700 to get affordable MX Petrol Automatic variant

Mahindra readying entry level XUV700 MX petrol automatic.

Mahindra XUV700 to get affordable MX Petrol Automatic variant-20240212065331_mahindra_xuv700_mx.jpg

The Mahindra XUV700 petrol will get an automatic gearbox-equipped version of its entry-level MX variant, according to a Type Approval Certificate issued by ARAI.

• XUV700 MX AT expected to cost about Rs 15.80 lakh
  • Gets 8-inch touchscreen, Android Auto and power windows
  • To rival entry-level petrol-automatic versions of midsize SUVs

This base-spec XUV700 gets features such as an 8.0-inch touchscreen infotainment system with Android Auto, four speakers, a 7.0-inch instrument cluster, tilt adjustable steering, a front centre armrest, power windows, follow me home headlights, powered wing mirrors and ISOFIX anchors. The most definitive way to tell the MX variants from the higher spec models are the 235/65 R17 tyres on the 17-inch steel rims.

However, it misses out on kit available with the AX3 trim such as the 8.0-inch digital driver display, wireless Android Auto and Apple CarPlay, two additional speakers, LED DRLs, a rear seat armrest and 60:40 split-folding rear seats.

Source - Autocar India

Last edited by uditanshh : 12th February 2024 at 23:20.
uditanshh is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 13th February 2024, 10:27   #2

Mahindra XUV700 to get affordable MX Petrol Automatic variant

Mahindra is likely to introduce a new entry-level petrol automatic variant of the XUV700. According to a Type Approval Certificate issued by ARAI, the XUV700 will get a new 'MX' Petrol AT trim, making it the most affordable petrol automatic variant of the SUV.

Mahindra XUV700 to get affordable MX Petrol Automatic variant-w2.jpeg

Currently, Mahindra offers the automatic gearbox in the AX3, AX5 and AX7 trims only, with prices starting at Rs 18.19 lakh (ex-showroom). The new MX AT variant will help bring down the base price of the XUV700 automatic considerably.

That being said, the MX range misses out on several advanced features that are available in the AX trims. These include an 8-inch digital instrument cluster, wireless Android Auto and Apple CarPlay, two additional speakers, a rear seat armrest and a 60:40 split folding rear seat.

The XUV700 MX AT is likely to get an 8-inch touchscreen infotainment system with wired Android Auto and 4 speakers, a 7-inch instrument cluster, follow-me-home headlights and powered ORVMs; among others.

Prices for the XUV700 MX Petrol AT variant could be announced in the coming weeks.

Source: Autocar India

Link to Team-BHP News

Last edited by TusharK : 13th February 2024 at 10:28.
TusharK is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 13th February 2024, 12:19   #3

Re: Mahindra XUV700 to get affordable MX Petrol Automatic variant

Originally Posted by TusharK View Post
Mahindra is likely to introduce a new entry-level petrol automatic variant of the XUV700. According to a Type Approval Certificate issued by ARAI, the XUV700 will get a new 'MX' Petrol AT trim, making it the most affordable petrol automatic variant of the SUV.

The XUV700 MX AT is likely to get an 8-inch touchscreen infotainment system with wired Android Auto and 4 speakers, a 7-inch instrument cluster, follow-me-home headlights and powered ORVMs; among others.
Hope this not just a on paper base variant to entice buyers into the showrooms and then nudging them towards AX3 / AX5. Some points -
  • Fairly decent feature set for a base variant. Some aesthetic updates like wheel covers / alloys should suffice needs of many.
  • Will give an option to folks who prefer - more powerful engines, sorted ride quality, upper segment car.
  • For those who prefer a petrol drivetrain, it's kind of in a unique place where no competition is there - slightly above Creta/Seltos/GV/Hyryder, but below Harrier/Safari. Only competitor being Hector but thats half a size smaller and drive dynamics are way better in XUV700.
Also, this could mean the demand for XUV700 is normalizing.
sapien is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 14th February 2024, 20:48   #4

Wow. This is something that I have always wished for. A no-frills, solid automatic option. As it stands, if you want the automatic variant of the XUV700, you have to opt for the AX3 variant, which has the full digital cluster and Adrenox (as I recall, may have got deleted now during one of the umpteen feature-cuts), while the MX comes with the same instrument cluster as the Scorpio top variants with the color MID, and the same Android Auto enabled infotainment as the Z4/ new Z6.

If so, then I think it would be a great option. You get a much bigger vehicle with loads of space and presence, and the solid build of the XUV, without the niggles from the Adrenox, plus easily upgradable lighting, accessories and audio options.

I have spent a year with the Scorpio-N Z4 and my experience with the ICE has been trouble-free. I did upgrade the speakers, but the system itself has minimal to NIL lag, reads all my high-res audio files, and most of my pen drives. The Android auto connection is trouble free and stable, unless you use a cheap cable. Haven't used Carplay that much, but it was stable for the time I used it.

I really wish that more manufacturers would offer an automatic option from the base variant onwards, as it would make new cars accesible for a much wider range of drivers who would rather pay that extra money for an auto box instead of features they don't want.

For example take the case of Suzuki's best seller, the Fronx. One of my close relatives bought a Fronx Sigma. Initially, I thought that it was a bad decision to take the base variant, as generally they are stripped bare. But then I looked at the specs and saw that the Sigma was actually not bad, feature-wise. It has the essentials in place, and what's missing can be added without breaking the bank. He would have liked to take an automatic, but here's what the pricing is like, rounded up.
  • Fronx Sigma 1.2 : 9 lacs
  • Fronx Delta 1.2 : 10 lacs
  • Fronx Delta 1.2 AGS (the cheapest automatic variant): 10.6 lacs.

To upgrade to automatic, he would have to spend 1.6 lacs, i.e almost 3K extra in EMI. Not a small amount for a middle class family that's looking at a sub ten lakh car. However, if there had been a Sigma AGS variant, it would have cost about 9.6 lacs, which would have been an affordable stretch. I'm sure that many would be willing to spend that extra 60K for the automatic, as sales show. As things stand, buyers are likely to go with the automatic variant from another brand or model which is in their budget and has comparable features, rather than spend so much extra.
vivekgk is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th February 2024, 19:45   #5

An interesting move given the impending XUV300 facelift with TC AT launch. Expecting some overlap in the pricing between the two.

Personally find the MX variant a little too sparse. Time shall surely tell.
Old 9th April 2024, 21:31   #6

Any news yet on the launch of this variant? The scoop came out in feb this year and no chatter about it anywhere else.
quadra is offline   (1) Thanks