Old 3rd December 2023, 11:50   #61

re: Maruti Jimny Thunder Edition launched at Rs 10.74 lakh | Jimny is 2-lakh rupees cheaper now

Originally Posted by Mystic View Post
Why we don’t discuss on these discounts which all normal car companies give. Why so much noise on Jimny year end sale.
2 Lac on itself is not a large amount of money, but a car that originally costs only 14 Lac - it is more like 15%. This is more like Audi kind.

Why they had another edition/ variant instead of a discount is that customers don't have to pay RTO, etc, on higher amounts. Most people had a feeling that this car is overpriced so I won't be surprised if this stays on unless Maruti has enough export volumes and is not concerned with local sales.
Turbanator is online now   (10) Thanks
Old 3rd December 2023, 14:07   #62

re: Maruti Jimny Thunder Edition launched at Rs 10.74 lakh | Jimny is 2-lakh rupees cheaper now

Originally Posted by Stribog View Post
As I posited sir, many car companies raise their prices after a successful launch. Will the early buyers in that case voluntarily pay the differential? Or be very happy that they saved (opportunity costs, not real cash) money?.....
A product is offered at a price point at a fixed point in time. There's no reason whatsoever that they stick to it for any period in time. Sure the early buyers might feel "cheated" but the choice to be first is entirely on them.....

To give an example from a different industry, pre-ordering games during the DVD / CD ROM days was a big thing because supply was limited.......
It's all a coin toss but to cry foul play just because a company reacted to the free market is IMHO not fair.
Just look at the year end discounts for Skoda as per today’s news paper. Why we don’t discuss on these discounts which all normal car companies give. Why so much noise on Jimny year end sale.This is marketing gimmick and we petrol heads are also falling for them.
Originally Posted by ChauhanSaurabh View Post

Point is if one was happy spending the launch price with some reasoning then, stick to that nothing else matters.
Ok. This is more of a rant combined with rage and (il)logic as I'm still oscillating between denial and anger in equal measure. People like me would have bought the Jimny anyway. Cheaper would have been better. But, the problem here is the false narrative aka lies which the top honchos of Maruti have been spewing through their various orifices that bookings were going through the roof and post price announcement the bookings were going up even more. They created a false demand scenario where more than a price appreciation, the delay in delivery will take months if not years and early pre booking people will suffer if they cancel their bookings.

Maruti Jimny Thunder Edition launched at Rs 10.74 lakh | Jimny is 2-lakh rupees cheaper now-srivatsava.jpg

The only issue was that the demand was not there in the first place. It was all a lie. And for people who are saying that nobody is putting a gun to the head of the people who booked, It's like saying that a buyer should not believe the official statement given by the senior head of marketting and quite frankly that's pathetic. To quote "pre-ordering games during the DVD / CD ROM days was a big thing because supply was limited." The demand was not there at all. It was all a big fat lie. Maruti knew from day one of the price announcement that the Jimny had tanked but still had the audacity to milk the pre booking folks dry. ANd to compare the offers with Skoda, Skoda didn't go painting the town red with false volumes of booking and demand. The saddest part is that the Jimny had a target buyer segment and this target segment is the product loyalist. These loyalists are the people who still believe in the brand when no one else does. Maruti has taken these loyalists for a royal ride, not once but twice.
First in creating a false demand scenario when it was not there and then "launching" the thunder edition officially and telling us in our face " Take that, suckers". It is one thing for the dealers to give discounts to clear stocks, but quite another for the manufacturer to "launch editions" within 6 months with no change and give lesser rates. Maruti should compensate the current Jimny owners as that is the right thing to do. But in India, will that happen?
OT, Supreme court rapped Baba Ramdev for false claims of Patanjali.So, you never know.
"Stop Misleading Advertisements, Will Impose Rs 1 Crore Cost On Every Product Claiming False Cure: Supreme Court To Patanjali Ayurved"
Neil Roy is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 3rd December 2023, 17:59   #63

Got SMS stating offer expires on 31st December.
Maruti Jimny Thunder Edition launched at Rs 10.74 lakh | Jimny is 2-lakh rupees cheaper now-img_6671.jpeg  

Rahul Lal is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd December 2023, 21:08   #64

Just look at the year end discounts for Skoda as per today’s news paper. Why we don’t discuss on these discounts which all normal car companies give. Why so much noise on Jimny year end sale.This is marketing gimmick and we petrol heads are also falling for them.
Typically discounts don't come this early for cars that are <6months old in the market. For example, can anyone get even a small discount for Honda Elevate? Similarly, cars that have waiting periods do not have any discounts (irrespective of how old they are in the market)

Company themselves have accepted it, and instead of offering big discounts from their part, they put out a new variant with lower ex-showroom. This is so that the discount is spread across all components of the car price - this way, it is not just Maruti which is eating all of the money discounted - instead is taken away from road tax, insurance and so on. Customer benefit is the same.
pmbabu is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 3rd December 2023, 21:24   #65

I don't see why this price cut/special edition is a shocker in any way. Those who bought it new, wanted the attention and thought it was worth more than the price they paid, the vast majority didn't think so, and Maruti has done what any sane business would. The whole talk about a big order book and introductory prices is the template for every product launch, if you fell for it even when you didn't see the cars on the road, that tells more about you than the company.

I hope Maruti didn't cut a cheque for the early buyers, that's going to be bad for the stock price.
avira_tk is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 4th December 2023, 11:14   #66

Originally Posted by Rahul Lal View Post
Got SMS stating offer expires on 31st December.
This is all a 'marketing play', yet again! These reduced prices are here to stay and more so with the 5-door THAR coming with all guns blazing; there'll be practically no room left for the Jimny !

For sure these reduced prices have even triggered the buyers to give a 2nd thought, who weren't even looking at the Jimny sometime back. And I know folks who actually went ahead and booked one, where there have absolutely no use case for it.

Aside, forget the 2 Lakh price drop; currently they are even throwing in the accessories pack FOR FREE which the people had bought a few months ago. So net-net the savings are more than the basic price cut of 2 Lakhs.

The reduced ex-showroom of 2 Lakhs will drop the road tax + insurance by a good deal & coupled with the accessories, I feel the savings could go upto 2.30 - 2.40 L even. And I'm not even talking about bargaining with the dealer yet.
ashvek3141 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 4th December 2023, 13:51   #67

Re: Maruti Jimny Thunder Edition launched at Rs 10.74 lakh | Jimny is 2-lakh rupees cheaper now

In Bangalore, checked with the dealer.
They are calculating road tax etc on the older ex showroom price, then giving discount of 2 lakhs on the Zeta... Is this correct? He says the ex showroom price cannot be reduced in the system.... doesn't sound right to me... has anyone got a quote on the thunder edition?
Old 4th December 2023, 14:43   #68

Re: Maruti Jimny Thunder Edition launched at Rs 10.74 lakh | Jimny is 2-lakh rupees cheaper now

Originally Posted by ashvek3141 View Post
This is all a 'marketing play', yet again! These reduced prices are here to stay and more so with the 5-door THAR coming with all guns blazing; there'll be practically no room left for the Jimny !
The 5 door Thar will be priced quite high, I may be wrong but it may be in the highest GST+CESS bracket. For those people buying a 5 seater for carrying more people, at that price point a SUV, MUV, CUV is better.
Thar 5 door will also be worse in off road, it won't be any better then a Scorpio 4x4 and it will also be much worse on road then a SUV, CUV, MUV.

Last edited by DIY410 : 4th December 2023 at 14:44.
Old 4th December 2023, 15:01   #69

Originally Posted by DIY410 View Post
The 5 door Thar will be priced quite high, I may be wrong but it may be in the highest GST+CESS bracket. For those people buying a 5 seater for carrying more people, at that price point a SUV, MUV, CUV is better.
Thar 5 door will also be worse in off road, it won't be any better then a Scorpio 4x4 and it will also be much worse on road then a SUV, CUV, MUV.
Thar is a 'niche' product and AFAIK there are really very few who buy it for 'useability' part of it. It is more of an aspirational product than useability. For the current price of 3-door, one case easily pick a good SC-SUV, C-SUV; yet, we see so many of them & commanding a waiting period of 6 months, even after 3 years of launch.

Agreed, that the 5-door will be priced much higher, but surely, it'll will be more 'usable' for families who always wanted a Thar , but couldn't get one as they wanted the Thar as their primary car. Thar 5-door could actually cater to the adventure + useability front IMHO.
Old 4th December 2023, 15:32   #70

Hey, going off topic from the Jimny thread, but why would you say the 5 door Thar won't be better than the Scorpio off road ? The existing Thar already has higher ground clearance than the Scorpio, I'm sure the 5 door would atleast maintain the same ground clearance.

Also given the primary given the current Thar has great approach and departure angles as compared to the Scorpio, Mahindra should be able to maintain those too.

I only see the rampover angle and the additional weight making the 5 door worse than the 3 door. We could also argue that the Thar 5 door might be lighter than the Scorpio N since its not focused on being luxurious and as spacious.
Turbolove is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th December 2023, 16:35   #71

The 5 door Thar will be priced quite high, I may be wrong but it may be in the highest GST+CESS bracket.
Thar 4x4s are already in the highest GST + Cess bracket. The petrol is 2l (i.e. >1.2 l) and the Diesel is 2.2l (i.e. >1.5l) and the GC is 226mm (i.e.> 170mm)

It is only the 1.5l Diesel RWD that enjoys the GST benefits of being sub-4 meter.

The 5 door Thar need not be much more expensive than the 3-door due to the taxation. It is a different matter if Mahindra wants to milk the customers who might be believing the contrary. I really hope they don't and keep making life difficult for the Jimny.

Last edited by antz.bin : 4th December 2023 at 16:37.
antz.bin is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 4th December 2023, 17:18   #72

Originally Posted by Kln View Post
Change my mind : Jimny should've been a 3 door at launch. The current proportions and the puny tyres don't do any favours for this otherwise solid package. Imagine a 3 door Jimny selling for less than 10 lakhs on road. Thar would've had real competition then! One of the major reasons Jimny isn't selling that well is because of its weird, disproportionate looks imo.
I am so glad to read your post. Your thoughts mirror my thoughts. The side view of the 5 door Jimny is so weird. It looks forced. A 3 door Jimny looks so cute and perfect.
Gupts007 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th December 2023, 17:48   #73

2 Lac on itself is not a large amount of money, but a car that originally costs only 14 Lac - it is more like 15%. This is more like Audi kind.
Yeah.. I received this message on my Whatsapp. See the differential in discounts of various models.

Name:  jimny_wa_msg.png
Views: 1099
Size:  118.8 KB
nanoguy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th December 2023, 18:46   #74

Originally Posted by Turbolove View Post
Hey, going off topic from the Jimny thread, but why would you say the 5 door Thar won't be better than the Scorpio off road ? The existing Thar already has higher ground clearance than the Scorpio, I'm sure the 5 door would atleast maintain the same ground clearance.

Also given the primary given the current Thar has great approach and departure angles as compared to the Scorpio, Mahindra should be able to maintain those too.

I only see the rampover angle and the additional weight making the 5 door worse than the 3 door. We could also argue that the Thar 5 door might be lighter than the Scorpio N since its not focused on being luxurious and as spacious.
Wheelbase increase will directly effect off roading, that is why you see the 3 door Jimny beating the longer and heavier Jeep Rubicon.

Thar is slightly worse then the Jimny and a stretched Thar will be even worse due to added weight, decreased power to weight ratio and increased wheelbase size.
Old 4th December 2023, 18:50   #75

Originally Posted by Kln View Post
Change my mind : Jimny should've been a 3 door at launch. The current proportions and the puny tyres don't do any favours for this otherwise solid package. Imagine a 3 door Jimny selling for less than 10 lakhs on road. Thar would've had real competition then! One of the major reasons Jimny isn't selling that well is because of its weird, disproportionate looks imo.
Originally Posted by Gupts007 View Post
I am so glad to read your post. Your thoughts mirror my thoughts. The side view of the 5 door Jimny is so weird. It looks forced. A 3 door Jimny looks so cute and perfect.
A side by side comparison of both 3 door as well as the 5 door (5 door is mine):

Maruti Jimny Thunder Edition launched at Rs 10.74 lakh | Jimny is 2-lakh rupees cheaper now-untitled.jpg

I own the 5 door and would never have bought a 3 door purely on looks, functional aspects aside.

IMHO India was always primarily a 5 Door market. We should see this shift soon in South Africa as well as Australia as am part of some forms there and you would be amazed at the effort and money they spend to increase and customize for storage space in the rear, many of which can easily be done in the 5 door version.

I am 6 feet tall and rejected the Thar on first impressions on the struggle to get in. Those who ride bikes would relate to how much of importance manufacturers give to seat height for wider range of rider's heights. The Jimny in comparison is a breeze to hop in/off.

Have seen both the Jeep Rubicon 5 door and the Jeep 3 door and for me the 5 door wins hands down in looks.

Would be interesting to see how the 5 door Thar fares compared to the 3 door. The Thar 3 door looks like a incomplete vehicle in my opinion. The spy shoys of the 5 door look promising.

Just a thought for those who prefer the 3 door - would they ever buy a coupe?

MSIL got everything right in the launch of the Jimmy in India but for the price.

Photos : where not mine courtesy the internet.
ShivC is offline   (6) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com