View Poll Results: Would you buy a used Tata Harrier today?
Yes 61 16.40%
No 311 83.60%
Voters: 372. You may not vote on this poll

Old 16th November 2023, 19:36   #31

Re: Pre-worshipped car of the month : Buying a used Tata Harrier

Used Harrier? Seriously?

I will not buy even buy a new one, let alone a used one.

I will only go with Tata on these 2 conditions.
1. Consumer laws are amended extensively and reinstated appropriately to seal all the loopholes and respect the consumer.
2. Tata significantly revamps the QC, fit and finish and the service center experience including. The difference expected is day and night.

While there is still a possibility of condition 1 happening probably at the mercy of the government, I am pretty sure that the condition 2 will never happen. So no Tata forever.

Last edited by GTO : 17th November 2023 at 12:54. Reason: Let's not exaggerate ("even for free"). Thanks
Livnletcarsliv is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 16th November 2023, 19:48   #32

Tata's quality control is pathetic and Harrier/Safari's are full of troubles. Yes, there are several lucky owners but the crowd is much bigger on the other side. Tata's After-sales is non-existent to write about. It does give a big car feel and a lot of features. And yes, it looks and feels like a safe car. Those advantages are nothing much important - that's why we find a lot of Harriers available on the second-hand market. The big imposing look is the biggest reason why it sold as much and in my opinion, Harrier is a waste of space that it takes. If you love the Harrier for what it offers, buy a new one and be better off being on the safer side. Voted NO.
Old 16th November 2023, 20:00   #33

Voted NO
Reasons -
Earlier models I see, they did not aged well. They look 6-7 years old now only.
Ergonomic issues in manual
Low engine power
Very less features
Quality issues & breakdown stories
Not so good A.S.S
Old 16th November 2023, 20:42   #34

Voted No. Never owned a Tata vehicle so haven't experienced the good or bad. But I don't like the Harrier - it just is too bulky for my tastes.

I did take the plunge with Mahindra and after sales experience has been great. But the number of bad experiences shared by owners on Mahindra vehicles are also comparatively less. So I will stick to Mahindra and may not get a Tata car any time soon.
Old 16th November 2023, 22:59   #35

Big NO!
New Harrier comes with a lot better steering, better interiors, and a better infotainment system. Even if you decide to live with the other shortcomings of the last gen Harrier, badly calibrated steering is a big pain to live with!

I personally don't like the Harrier (old or new). Its MT is simply bad, AT is not the best, and Tata's quality control and service have been subpar. IMO, the XUV 700 is a much better option, be it old or new.
Old 16th November 2023, 23:02   #36

Voted no - because I prefer maintaining my sanity.

Go for it if you hate yourself and want to do penance for some misdeeds.

Owning this car is a hellhole. A cousin has it on emi and probably has learnt a life lesson to not touch ambitious products from Tata. It is not for the faint hearted to spend upwards of 25 lacs and face so many mind numbing issues. STAY AWAY!
SN88 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th November 2023, 23:18   #37

Voted Yes!!

Provided-
1- I know the selling person / direct seller.
2 - all service records.
3 - good long test drive/s for confirmation of known niggles are taken care off.
4 - extended warranty is must.
5 - taking advantage of comparatively lesser resale cost.

Old 17th November 2023, 02:29   #38

Voted no.

Why buy a car thats famous for its issues? Leave alone buying a used one with potentially compounded problems.

A used XUV500 or Innova would be my go to.
Arjun Bharadwaj is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th November 2023, 10:29   #39

Yes!

With so many 'no' votes these have to be going real cheap. Everything, even mud, becomes a worthwhile purchase at the right price point.
Old 17th November 2023, 12:53   #40

Harrier was my dream car since its launch. Still, I skipped with a heavy heart it when I had to buy a new car (went for Alcazar).
Reason? I simply don't have the time for frequent workshop visits. I have only one car and I use it as my daily drive to office. Don't want any reliability issues with it.

This car was launched in 2019 and it is still not niggle free even after 4 years. Looks like TATA is focused on dishing out facelifts/ new products, but not focused on making their products perfect.

Having a 5-star car is great, but not at the cost of getting stranded at an unknown place during midnight.

Sorry if I am going too harsh on Harrier, but that's my feelings about this car. Really wanted to buy one but stayed away due to the above-mentioned reasons. I am not a TATA hater either. Had bought Altroz for my father in 2021. It is running fine with some small issues cropping up here and there. Most of them self heal.

Last edited by pradeep_mvpa : 17th November 2023 at 12:56.
pradeep_mvpa is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th November 2023, 18:24   #41

This seems to be one of the rare polls for 'Pre worshipped car of the week', where result is so much against the product (15% Yes vs 85% No).

Hope someone from Tata is reading watching this space.
Asish_VK is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th November 2023, 21:11   #42

To people who are looking forward to buying a used Harrier:
Buy a used one, only if you get a sweet deal on any BS6 phase 2 vehicles. Anything before the red dark update, don't even think of going near one of those with the poor rear drum brakes unless you have friends or relatives in TATA service centres.

And be mentally prepared to deal with the complacent TASS guys in case of niggles that will surely arise at some point!
Old 18th November 2023, 16:10   #43
RRM

NO - even if it is free!
Rest the forum poll results and the comments says so!
RRM is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd November 2023, 12:31   #44

Voted no.

The car is a headturner no doubt but why TATA is not able to sell more? Starting from quality control, dealership experience till the service centers, are the major issues. They still don't get the fact that this car is a 20L + luxury vehicle. The second fact is the perception in the minds of the people who still think TATA cars are bad. I can confidently say, that a car of half the pedigree of the TATA Harrier, under a Hyundai or Suzuki badge would have set the sales charts on fire.

Let's hope TATA has resolved these issues with the launch of new Harrier.
Old 22nd November 2023, 15:12   #45

Vote Yes.

Only for post 2022 models (with extended warranty).
Strict NO to 2019- 2020 models considering niggles they had earlier.

If one can spend a few more lakhs, get the new one. I checked old harriers on cars24 / Spinny and did not find a huge difference as compared to the new model.
satish.gawai is offline   (1) Thanks