Old 4th December 2020, 10:35   #301

Re: Which are the most comfortable cars to drive long distances in?

I regularly do 700 km same day trips, starting around 0600 reaching by noon finishing my meetings by evening and returning by midnight.
Of car's that I've my self owned the Innova was the best followed by the Terrano and Ecosport, but the last two have the annoying compact car feel.
Now coming to Car's belonging to other co-contractors I travel with and sometimes drive.
Nothing beats the BMW X5 and Audi Q7, but these are very few, and I don't move around in the circle that uses these often.
So coming to more common vehicles, the best is a tie between Endeavour and Hexa closely followed by Innova Crysta and Storm way behind this comes Fortuner with it's too hard suspension.
On single roads the Fortuner and Endeavour have one advantage, you can just drop the LHS wheels off the roads at moderate speeds without loosing momentum when you come across a stopped bus being passed by an biker least bothered about oncoming traffic, and believe me you come one or two of those in every trip that you take.
Rahul Rao is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 4th December 2020, 12:05   #302

Infractions: 0/1 (99)

Our 2014 Honda City's leatherette seats are way too soft to endure long rides in comfort. Back aches are guaranteed.

Our 2019 E350 has the best ride - its air body control giving S-Class level of flat and cushioning ride - the only cars which I feel can top that are the S and GLS.

Our 2016 Corolla with Michelin Primacy tires is actually very, very comfortable - excellent seat ergonomics too!

Of course, our go to car is still the 2015 Innova - for the simple reasons of comfort, more passengers and high ground clearance!
reppy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th December 2020, 16:22   #303

Luxury cars north of 50 lacs definitely have an edge when it comes to comfort and it'd always be a plush & comfy ride when compared to cars costing <50 lacs (except few rare cases).

However, of the more common vehicles, Innova is, in my opinion, still the king of Indian highways given its comfortable ride and higher ground clearance.

If its just two folks travelling then nothing beats the first two seats of Endeavour, the absolutely best car for our highways. But if you move to the middle seat that it gets bumpier than Fortuner's middle seat, have never understood how this significant difference crops up by moving just one seat back.

I've kept sedans out of picture because even when our highway conditions have improved one may hit a rough patch and that's where sedans start struggling or bottoming out.
fine69 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 4th December 2020, 16:29   #304

We’ve done some serious road trips with the Innova, and as fine69 has said, under the 5 Million Rupee price tag, it’s the Innova which is the king of the highways. But at the same time our 2010 MT is really tiring to drive in stop go traffic for my dad. Also, the requirement is a comfortable to drive car. So the middle seat does not really matter.
EightSix is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th December 2020, 19:08   #305

I am using my Ertiga Vdi for last 4 years now. Done 50K kms with it with plenty of highway drives. I never feel tired with it and I have done 500 Kms in one go in 8 hours flat. Drive is pretty comfortable due to it's car like nature and upright driving position. I can cruise at 100 KMPH for 10-12 hours easily with absolutely no tiredness. Happy with the car.
aniketi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th December 2020, 21:01   #306

I have a doubt since the thread pertains to "Comfortable to drive", I have to ask how good is the Crysta automatic over long distance? I have driven only on short trips less than a 100kms.

By now I am convinced it is the best car south of 30 lakhs to be ferried in. But the real question is how good is it when I have to get behind the wheel ?
TrackDay is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th December 2020, 21:53   #307

Originally Posted by TrackDay View Post
I have a doubt since the thread pertains to "Comfortable to drive", I have to ask how good is the Crysta automatic over long distance? I have driven only on short trips less than a 100kms.

By now I am convinced it is the best car south of 30 lakhs to be ferried in. But the real question is how good is it when I have to get behind the wheel ?

The Innova Crysta 2.8 auto is very comfortable for long drives. I have 2.8zx and have driven it from Mumbai- Goa -Mumbai, the ride was very comfortable for all ( driver and passengers). No tiredness after driving for 12 hours. It was fun.
speed-demon is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th December 2020, 22:49   #308

Honda City CVT have done Chennai-Salem-Chennai same day total of 640 kms have found it comfy.
Old 5th December 2020, 02:07   #309

While I have nothing against the Innova and it is a practical people mover across long distances. It still gives that van like feeling and is nowhere close in comfort to a low slung sedan with relaxed seating.

Since this thread is about comfort, I strongly believe that no MPV or SUV can match the comfort levels of a sedan (with max 4 occupants) on a long distance highway drive.

For me, the honda City Diesel has been extremely comfortable over thousands of KMs of cross country trips lasting around 12 to 14 days and covering upto 750KM in a single day. In general, the comfort levels offered by sedans are unmatched.

Last edited by for_cars1 : 5th December 2020 at 02:10.
for_cars1 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th December 2020, 02:50   #310

I have very little experience of driving long distances a day. For the records, I have driven over 700KM a day probably less than 10 times, all of them were in the USA where distractions on the road were much less. And most of the time, I have used a Honda Civic.

So, I would say a low slung sedan offers the best comfort for long-distance drives, IMHO. Also, I would prefer an automatic to reduce fatigue.
7000plusrpm is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th December 2020, 07:28   #311

Just the post of interest to me and particularly at this hour. I'm planning a BLR-MUM-BlR trip starting next Saturday morning. The options I have at this time at home is my 2017 Creta petrol MT vs the 2019 City MT. My observation of the regular Saturday 600km day trip has been that the Creta is more comfortable considering the seat ergo. Compare this with the City with the low slung design and tight leatherette seats. The City is way too fun to drive on the highway and added to that the cruise control which I use very regularly on the amazing highways we have inIndia currently. Sadly, the Creta doesn't have the cruise control. I felt more fresh in the Creta after non stop 12hrs as against the City. Now, while I would say this also depends on the fitness levels,will be great to hear your choice - should I take the City or the Creta. Bear in mind that this will be solo single driving and there will be no rest over stops midway at night.
Old 6th December 2020, 08:55   #312

I usually do highway drives regularly.

Bangalore - Honavar - Bangalore - once every month. (1000 km roundtrip)
Bangalore - Hyderabad - Bangalore Once every 3-4 months (1500 km roundtrip).

when we drive from Bangalore to Honavar and back, both me and my wife share the drive and Bangalore to Hyderabad is usually me alone in the car.

we drive Innova Crysta 2.4ZX. It is very comfortable for the whole family (kids aged 13 and 6). They get their space in the rear captain seats and we don't hear them fighting for space.

Even for the driver, Crysta is very comfortable once you get your driving position and you just cruise.

It is my personal opinion, but I feel crysta encourages the owner to to drive "nicely" as it is very comfortable and you don't want to take stress in that car. you can be cruising at 90-100kmph and you will never feel the stress of the road in an Innova crysta.
raghukodali is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th December 2020, 09:52   #313

The Innova is the King when it comes to Highways. The AT guise has further enhanced it's comfort. I just wish it had a larger fuel tank 65-70l and the 2.8l engine was retained.

I think any SUV from the Germans is great for 4 people traveling together and their sedans are best suited for 2-3 people, not more. These cars have ample (sometimes more than ample) power for our highways and deliver great FE and range.
Sreesh1009 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th December 2020, 12:07   #314

Originally Posted by akshays View Post
I'm planning a BLR-MUM-BlR trip starting next Saturday morning. The options I have at this time at home is my 2017 Creta petrol MT vs the 2019 City MT.

Bear in mind that this will be solo single driving and there will be no rest over stops midway at night.
Recently did a 500 km single drive road trip on relatively good highways (the BLR-MUM highways are as good or even better I’d say) in a 2019 MT City. Given the above, cruise control is a great great feature to have - constantly having to press the A pedal can be a pain on highways, that too when you have amazing 6-lane roads. Find a comfortable seating position, and put that cruise control in HC to full use.

Cheers, and have a great one. Sedans can be super comfortable IMO as compared to SUVs if the roads are stellar.
Old 6th December 2020, 14:44   #315

Originally Posted by akshays View Post
Just the post of interest to me and particularly at this hour. I'm planning a BLR-MUM-BlR trip starting next Saturday morning. . Bear in mind that this will be solo single driving and there will be no rest over stops midway at night.
Check the road conditions and decide. While the city maybe more engaging on good roads, it could be equally frustrating on bad roads; compared to the Creta which would be decent on both conditions.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com