Old 18th August 2023, 22:49   #1

Mahindra to inspect 1.08 lakh units of XUV700, 3,560 units of XUV400; rectify if needed

The XUV700 units will be inspected for a "potential risk of abrasion cut of wiring loom", whereas, XUV400 units will be under the scanner to check for "ineffective spring return action of the brake potentiometer", M&M said.

The XUV700 units that are to be examined were manufactured in the two-year period preceding June 2023, whereas, the XUV400 vehicles that will be inspected were manufactured between February and June this year. "Mahindra will inspect wiring loom routing in the engine bay of 1,08,306 units of XUV700 manufactured between 8th June 2021 to 28th June 2023 for a potential risk of abrasion cut of wiring loom," M&M said in a release. "Also, 3,560 units of XUV400 vehicle manufactured between 16th February 2023 to 5th June 2023, will be inspected for ineffective spring return action of the brake potentiometer," it added, further noting that the move is in in compliance with voluntary code on vehicle recall.

The inspection and subsequent rectification will be carried out free of cost for all customers, who will be individually contacted, the company said.

M&M had, in December last year, recalled a total of 6,618 Scorpio-N units and 12,566 XUV700 units, that were assembled between July 1 and November 11, 2022.
Source: https://www.moneycontrol.com/news/au...-11220011.html

Last edited by aseem23 : 18th August 2023 at 22:51.
aseem23 is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 19th August 2023, 08:52   #2

Mahindra recalls over 1 lakh XUVs for wiring concerns | XUV700 & XUV400 affected

Mahindra Recalls Over 1 Lakh XUV Models for Wiring Concerns | XUV700 and XUV400 Affected

Mahindra & Mahindra (M&M) has issued a recall for two of its XUV models due to potential wiring concerns, impacting over 1 lakh units. The affected models include the XUV700 and XUV400.

Mahindra recalls over 1 lakh XUVs for wiring concerns | XUV700 & XUV400 affected-screenshot-20230807-231953.png

Mahindra recalls over 1 lakh XUVs for wiring concerns | XUV700 & XUV400 affected-screenshot-20230819-085745.png

The purpose of this recall is to address possible issues related to abrasion cuts in the wiring loom. Specifically, M&M plans to conduct inspections on 108,306 units of the XUV700 produced between June 8, 2021, and June 28, 2023, focusing on identifying and rectifying this wiring problem. Additionally, they will examine 3,560 units of the XUV400 manufactured between February 16, 2023, and June 5, 2023, in order to address a potential problem involving the brake potentiometer's spring return action.

This recall applies to XUV700 units manufactured within the two years leading up to June 2023 and XUV400 vehicles produced between February and June of the same year.

Customers who own these models will receive personalized communications from the company, initiating the necessary inspections and subsequent rectifications.

Moreover, the noteworthy aspect is that these inspections and necessary fixes will be carried out for customers at no charge.

Source: https://economictimes.indiatimes.com...7.cms?from=mdr

Last edited by MotorDev : 19th August 2023 at 09:00.
MotorDev is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 19th August 2023, 14:34   #3

Re: Mahindra recalls over 1 lakh XUVs for wiring concerns | XUV700 & XUV400 affected

While recalls are annoying, my trust in Mahindra has increased as they are owing up to the issue unlike some other manufacturers who are known for "silent" recalls
buzzy_boy is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 19th August 2023, 17:18   #4

Re: Mahindra recalls over 1 lakh XUVs for wiring concerns | XUV700 & XUV400 affected

Got the email regarding the same. Took appointment for Monday and taking the car for it's 10K service + Recall. I was informed that i may not get the car the same day. Attaching screenshot of the email. Mine is the XUV 700 AX5 P AT variant, bought in September 2022. Even though it's an inconvenience to the owners, i feel it is good that Mahindra is doing the public recall, rather than silently doing it when the car comes for service.
Mahindra recalls over 1 lakh XUVs for wiring concerns | XUV700 & XUV400 affected-screenshot-20230819-5.13.43-pm.png  

Rohit_Quad is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 19th August 2023, 19:11   #5

Got the service recall done.

Was at the service centre for sequential indicator fitment and the SA suggested to get the service action completed. The activity is done to ensure that there is no damage for a cable passing below the air filter and to avoid any future damages also.

They will remove the air filter and will add an extra sleeve on top of existing wiring and will do a cable tie to ensure that the cable is not dangling around (marked 1 in the pic). A rubber part is also added to the body to ensure that there is no cable damage due to rubbing against the metal (marked 2 in the pic). It’s a fairly simple process and can be done in 30 mins time. The only time taking activity here is to get the air filter removed.

Mahindra recalls over 1 lakh XUVs for wiring concerns | XUV700 & XUV400 affected-whatsapp-image-20230819-5.19.17-pm.jpeg

My SA has confirmed that he has never heard of an abrasion issue of this part and is a preventive maintenance only. So no need of getting paid or rushing for the same. But the news in papers and online media have created a huge panic among the owners and they were receiving lot of calls and msgs due to this.

@MODS - Cross posting my post from the XUV 700 review thread for better visibility. Kindly delete if inappropriate.
northstar* is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 19th August 2023, 19:26   #6

I hope this isn't seen in a negative way by news outlets or prospective owners. Cars having issues are unfortunate but the norm usually has been to ignore the fault exists and to blame the owner for improper use when the problems eventually reveal themselves.

There are no threats of massive lawsuits like in the US and customer protection rights are almost non-existent in India so this is probably being done out of Mahindra's own good-will rather than the threat of legal consequences. Happy to see someone own up to and fix their mistakes rather than just bury their head in the sand.
Cresterk is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th August 2023, 20:02   #7

I thought there are more issues to be addressed by Mahindra than just this in XUV7OO. Compared to Thar and Scorpio N, I am hearing lots of niggles in 7OO. To me this recall is just looking at potential life threatening ones, rather than fixing other problems which plagues the otherwise a great riding SUV.
Old 20th August 2023, 00:28   #8

Originally Posted by sgmuser View Post
I thought there are more issues to be addressed by Mahindra than just this in XUV7OO. Compared to Thar and Scorpio N, I am hearing lots of niggles in 7OO. To me this recall is just looking at potential life threatening ones, rather than fixing other problems which plagues the otherwise a great riding SUV.
Do you think this trend might be due to extra features in XUV 700 vs Scorpio/Thar?
Old 20th August 2023, 15:47   #9

Originally Posted by dsr001 View Post
Do you think this trend might be due to extra features in XUV 700 vs Scorpio/Thar?
Partly/majorly yes. Mahindra's Achilles' heel is electronics/electrical. From Scorpio CRDE onwards, they are infamous for those issues once in a while. I personally had issues.

In Thar/Scorpio N I hear less issues and I could only naturally forced to believe due to the electrical/electronic complexity where M has very less experience in the integration. Even in the QC side, M has a long way to go. But they make big strides for sure for ex. 2020 vs 2023 Thar, they are far better. Still I had an issue within 400 kms of usage of Thar where sleeve in the exhaust line was loose as per ASC which was resolved in a day but I was stranded on road two times due to this. I will never touch Mahindra vehicles at least for full 3 years.
Old 20th August 2023, 19:45   #10

Requesting all fellow XUV700 owners not panic or respond to any rumors.
There is a voluntary recall for vehicle inspection from Mahindra.
The dealer will call for an inspection.
It's a minor check-up, as per a few members who visited the service center post-call, posted in our group, they are only adding additional insulation over the wire loom below the air filter to avoid abrasion in the long run.
Please hide your vehicle VIN number or vehicle registration details in the public forum.
Ensure not to respond to any fraud caller claiming to call from Mahindra or make any kind of payment using this information.
This is a voluntary recall and no payment is required from the customer for this check-up.
Mahindra recalls over 1 lakh XUVs for wiring concerns | XUV700 & XUV400 affected-368665704_10223410761765855_1122002155911164502_n.jpg  

ANIKETMH007 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th August 2023, 22:34   #11

Originally Posted by Cresterk View Post
I hope this isn't seen in a negative way by news outlets or prospective owners. Cars having issues are unfortunate but the norm usually has been to ignore the fault exists and to blame the owner for improper use when the problems eventually reveal themselves.

There are no threats of massive lawsuits like in the US and customer protection rights are almost non-existent in India so this is probably being done out of Mahindra's own good-will rather than the threat of legal consequences. Happy to see someone own up to and fix their mistakes rather than just bury their head in the sand.
Exactly my thought. It shows Mahindra's intent to not let any minor niggles affect their customers. A lot of car companies conveniently blame their customers for their shortcomings and quietly introduce the change in subsequent production. Leaving the older customers feel like Guinea Pigs.
3WiseMen is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st August 2023, 16:46   #12

My XUV700 AS5 Diesel Auto is June 2022 manufactured.
I haven't received any email from Mahindra yet - I guess they must be sending emails in batches and I might receive it soon for this prevantive wiring repair.

Also, separate to this - It's been 1 year 2 months and I haven't received any communication about sequential Indicators for back lights.
Old 27th August 2023, 17:20   #13

Originally Posted by northstar* View Post
Got the service recall done.

Was at the service centre for sequential indicator fitment and the SA suggested to get the service action completed. The activity is done to ensure that there is no damage for a cable passing below the air filter and to avoid any future damages also.

They will remove the air filter and will add an extra sleeve on top of existing wiring and will do a cable tie to ensure that the cable is not dangling around (marked 1 in the pic). A rubber part is also added to the body to ensure that there is no cable damage due to rubbing against the metal (marked 2 in the pic). It’s a fairly simple process and can be done in 30 mins time. The only time taking activity here is to get the air filter
Then why are dealers taking only 3 cars per day????
I had called up our service center for the recall issue. They said they're taking only 3 cars per day and can only give an appointment after October 16th.
I was kind of perplexed by this. Immediately told my father about this (as I'm away and my father is the primary user).
Is it OK to get both the 20k service, the recall issue and the remaining software updates done together?
We're planning to shift to another service center after this one, so we're planning to get everything done.
SID7115 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th August 2023, 23:22   #14

Originally Posted by SID7115 View Post
Then why are dealers taking only 3 cars per day????
As per my SA, this news has kicked up panic among the owners and they are getting lot of calls everyday. Maybe they are trying to control the rush by limiting daily numbers.

I think it is completely OK to get this done along with the 20k service, you can even get the same done from another service center also. I went to the service center for sequential indicator fitment and the SA informed me that they are ready to do this which in turn made my car the first one to get the service recall done from that service center.
Old 29th August 2023, 10:24   #15

Originally Posted by northstar* View Post
As per my SA, this news has kicked up panic among the owners and they are getting lot of calls everyday. Maybe they are trying to control the rush by limiting daily numbers.

I think it is completely OK to get this done along with the 20k service, you can even get the same done from another service center also. I went to the service center for sequential indicator fitment and the SA informed me that they are ready to do this which in turn made my car the first one to get the service recall done from that service center.
My father spoke to another service centre. He said they'll do it, so mostly he'll get it done in the next week along with 20k service.
Thanks for the info.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com